Reported Reactions

Months

Reports received by FDA, by month

January 2024: adverse event reports received by FDA

106,399 drug reports (FAERS) and 197,186 device reports (MAUDE).

106,399
drug reports received
129,228 a year earlier
114,048
monthly average, preceding 12 months
-6.7% against the average
197,186
device reports received
194,267 a year earlier

FDA received 106,399 drug adverse event reports in January 2024, against 129,228 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 114,048 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 197,186 reports that month (194,267 a year earlier).

The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Dupixent (6,233), Repatha (2,796) and Paxlovid (2,494), and the reactions recorded most often were off label use (6,841), drug ineffective (6,077) and death (5,395).

Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Xcopri (25.1× its average), Levulan Kerastick (15× its average) and Leqembi (9.5× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.

Drug reports by month, three years to January 2024

081,581163,162Feb 2021: 137,132Mar 2021: 128,559Apr 2021: 121,578May 2021: 150,094Jun 2021: 125,114Jul 2021: 163,162Aug 2021: 126,960Sep 2021: 131,873Oct 2021: 109,560Nov 2021: 115,526Dec 2021: 134,4462022Jan 2022: 138,347Feb 2022: 120,669Mar 2022: 130,729Apr 2022: 109,709May 2022: 125,594Jun 2022: 130,676Jul 2022: 122,996Aug 2022: 123,821Sep 2022: 119,502Oct 2022: 131,961Nov 2022: 132,348Dec 2022: 137,3122023Jan 2023: 129,228Feb 2023: 112,516Mar 2023: 114,921Apr 2023: 104,713May 2023: 120,862Jun 2023: 110,059Jul 2023: 105,024Aug 2023: 118,671Sep 2023: 120,407Oct 2023: 115,632Nov 2023: 113,885Dec 2023: 102,6542024Jan 2024: 106,399

Drugs listed most often as suspect products

DrugReportsShare of the month
Dupixent6,2335.9%
Repatha2,7962.6%
Paxlovid2,4942.3%
ParaGard T 380A2,2412.1%
Ozempic2,2352.1%
Humira1,8041.7%
Mounjaro1,7411.6%
Revlimid1,4951.4%
Acetaminophen1,4671.4%
Methotrexate1,2921.2%
Clozapine1,1681.1%
Prednisone1,1361.1%
Rituximab1,1221.1%
Skyrizi1,0491%
Cyclophosphamide1,0391%

FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Largest rises against their own average

DrugReports this monthTimes its 12-month average
Xcopri78525.1×
Levulan Kerastick18215×
Leqembi1639.5×
Briumvi1477.7×
Wegovy8457.7×
Tyrvaya3737.6×
ParaGard T 380A2,2416.4×
Beyfortus656.1×

Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.

Reactions recorded most often

MedDRA termReportsShare of the month
Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6,8416.4%
Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6,0775.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5,3955.1%
Fatiguetiredness3,7773.5%
Product dose omission issuea dose was missed3,6543.4%
Covid-19COVID-19 infection3,5363.3%
Nauseafeeling sick3,4173.2%
Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3,2803.1%
Headachehead pain2,6082.5%
Dyspnoeashortness of breath2,5922.4%
Drug dose omission by device2,4632.3%
Painpain, site not specified2,4442.3%
Pruritusitching2,4262.3%
Rashskin rash2,2252.1%
Vomitingbeing sick2,1952.1%

Devices named most often

BrandReportsShare of device reports
Dexcom G6 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System18,5939.4%
t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Control-IQ Technology10,3965.3%
Dexcom G7 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System9,1104.6%
t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Interoperable Technology (with t:connect mobile app)4,7832.4%
Alaris System3,2091.6%
Omnipod 5 Pod2,1991.1%
DreamStation Auto CPAP2,1071.1%
CapSureFix Novus Lead MRI SureScan1,5410.8%
Libre 2 Sensor FreeStyle1,5270.8%
Pump 1886 780G OUS BLE Pump mg/dL1,4880.8%

Questions about January 2024

How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in January 2024?

106,399 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 197,186 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 129,228 drug reports.

Which drugs were listed most often?

Dupixent (6,233), Repatha (2,796), Paxlovid (2,494), ParaGard T 380A (2,241) and Ozempic (2,235).

Which reactions were recorded most often?

off label use (6,841), drug ineffective (6,077), death (5,395), fatigue (3,777) and product dose omission issue (3,654).

Can the count for a month still change?

Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.

Does a busy month mean something happened that month?

Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.