Reported Reactions

Drugs › Anti-epileptic agent

Generic name

Gabapentin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

74,316 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Anti-epileptic agent. Also reported as Gabapentin Capsule 100mg, Gabapentin Capsule, Gabapentin Capsules.

74,316
reports as suspect product
0.4% of all reports · about 3,304 a year
4,447
reports, 12 months to June 2026
4,940 in the 12 months before
68.7%
marked serious by the reporter
78.1% across the class
18.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
13,425 reports · not verified by FDA

74,316 adverse event reports received by FDA list gabapentin, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 220,989 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 4,447 reports listed it, down 10% from 4,940 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 3,304 reports a year and 0.4% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 27.5% of the reports for the anti-epileptic agent class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (14.9%), off label use (9.1%) and toxicity to various agents (7.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 3,434 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 14.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median anti-epileptic agent drug (11.3%).

68.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (78.1% across the class); 18.1% record death among the outcomes and 23.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 32.9% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (28.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0320640Jul 2021: 384Aug 2021: 435Sep 2021: 380Oct 2021: 409Nov 2021: 371Dec 2021: 3922022Jan 2022: 501Feb 2022: 602Mar 2022: 620Apr 2022: 457May 2022: 347Jun 2022: 325Jul 2022: 328Aug 2022: 279Sep 2022: 379Oct 2022: 376Nov 2022: 336Dec 2022: 3302023Jan 2023: 601Feb 2023: 589Mar 2023: 313Apr 2023: 481May 2023: 367Jun 2023: 380Jul 2023: 377Aug 2023: 379Sep 2023: 346Oct 2023: 449Nov 2023: 444Dec 2023: 5192024Jan 2024: 500Feb 2024: 552Mar 2024: 336Apr 2024: 407May 2024: 338Jun 2024: 303Jul 2024: 389Aug 2024: 336Sep 2024: 446Oct 2024: 363Nov 2024: 336Dec 2024: 5072025Jan 2025: 536Feb 2025: 640Mar 2025: 314Apr 2025: 414May 2025: 331Jun 2025: 328Jul 2025: 386Aug 2025: 303Sep 2025: 387Oct 2025: 321Nov 2025: 295Dec 2025: 3072026Jan 2026: 497Feb 2026: 535Mar 2026: 383Apr 2026: 426May 2026: 241Jun 2026: 366

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04,3978,7932004: 16520042005: 4832006: 3292007: 45220072008: 6422009: 6812010: 1,12220102011: 1,0942012: 1,7242013: 2,26820132014: 2,9362015: 4,0822016: 4,37120162017: 5,0322018: 7,0852019: 8,79320192020: 5,9462021: 5,1632022: 4,88020222023: 5,2452024: 4,8132025: 4,56220252026: 2,448

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Gabapentin reports recording the termmedian drug in anti-epileptic agent

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected14.9%11,051
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9.1%6,780
  3. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances7.4%5,463
  4. Completed suicidedeath by suicide7.2%5,321
  5. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine6.7%4,993
  6. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness5.3%3,938
  7. Somnolencedrowsiness5.2%3,838
  8. Painpain, site not specified5%3,731
  9. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label4.9%3,647
  10. Fatiguetiredness4.9%3,626
  11. Nauseafeeling sick4.8%3,573
  12. Headachehead pain3.6%2,710
  13. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine3.6%2,700
  14. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.1%2,332
  15. Confusional stateconfusion3.1%2,273
  16. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right3%2,242
  17. Falla fall2.9%2,163
  18. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines2.9%2,123
  19. Vomitingbeing sick2.6%1,969
  20. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg2.6%1,926
  21. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.6%1,915
  22. Anxietyanxiety2.6%1,912
  23. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount2.5%1,890
  24. Depressionlow mood2.5%1,884
  25. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.5%1,869
  26. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.5%1,847
  27. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.4%1,820
  28. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.4%1,778
  29. Rashskin rash2.4%1,773

Top 30 of 3,434 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 23 drugs in the anti-epileptic agent class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death18.1%13,425
Life-threatening4.2%3,144
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)23.9%17,769
Disability3.3%2,487
Congenital anomaly0.8%590
Other serious45.7%33,936
Not serious31.3%23,225

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 269,757 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.4%283
2 to 110.8%615
12 to 171%775
18 to 4416.7%12,405
45 to 6428.7%21,303
65 to 7411.9%8,825
75 and over10.2%7,561
Age not given30.3%22,549

Patient sex

Female52.8%39,226
Male33.1%24,566
Not given14.2%10,524

Who reported

Physician29%21,586
Pharmacist7.1%5,286
Other health professional28%20,814
Lawyer0.3%257
Consumer or non-health professional32.9%24,415
Not given2.6%1,958

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 62.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Neuralgia5,2457.1%
Pain3,6744.9%
Neuropathy peripheral2,9654%
Back pain1,1031.5%
Fibromyalgia1,0911.5%
Diabetic neuropathy9641.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 74,316 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Gabapentin reports
Acetaminophen4,8816.6%
Amitriptyline3,5584.8%
Clonazepam3,1354.2%
Oxycodone2,9774%
Furosemide2,8843.9%
Tramadol2,8683.9%
Quetiapine2,6343.5%
Duloxetine2,5883.5%
Ibuprofen2,5223.4%
Baclofen2,5073.4%

Other products listed in reports where Gabapentin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureGabapentinAnti-epileptic agentAll reports
Reports as suspect product74,316269,75720,646,523
Share of that pool—27.5%0.4%
Reports, latest 12 months4,447—1,332,454
Marked serious68.7%78.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports18112691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports239314213
Consumer-filed share32.9%30.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 14.9%median 11.3%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the anti-epileptic agent class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Lamotriginegeneric44,5202,80688%
Lamictalbrand32,36899665.4%
Valproic acidgeneric21,1771,03196.7%
Depakotebrand14,21929765.4%
Phenytoingeneric12,61846492.9%
Valproate sodiumgeneric11,58870897.5%
Sabrilbrand10,90913963.5%
Oxcarbazepinegeneric8,07871587.7%
Dilantinbrand8,0117871.7%
Trileptalbrand7,66415785.7%
Zonisamidegeneric4,88536387.3%
Divalproex sodiumgeneric4,07139982.4%
Vigabatringeneric3,66426380.6%
Phenytoin sodiumgeneric2,9746884.4%
Primidonegeneric1,76910477.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Gabapentin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Gabapentin?

74,316 reports list Gabapentin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 4,447 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 220,989 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Gabapentin reports?

drug ineffective (14.9%), off label use (9.1%), toxicity to various agents (7.4%), completed suicide (7.2%) and drug hypersensitivity (6.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Gabapentin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

68.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 18.1% of reports include death and 23.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (32.9%), physician (29%) and other health professional (28%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Gabapentin rising?

4,447 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 10% from 4,940 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Gabapentin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Gabapentin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Gabapentin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (220,989) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.