Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Brand name · Oxycodone hydrochloride and acetaminophen

Percocet: adverse event reports filed with FDA

57,793 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist. Also reported as Percocet Tablets, Percocet /00867901/, Percocet /00446701/.

57,793
reports as suspect product
0.3% of all reports · about 2,569 a year
198
reports, 12 months to June 2026
490 in the 12 months before
95.4%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
42.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
24,611 reports · not verified by FDA

57,793 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Percocet (oxycodone hydrochloride and acetaminophen) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 38,242 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 198 reports listed it, down 60% from 490 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 2,569 reports a year and 0.3% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 6% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are dependence (32.5%), overdose (26.9%) and death (26.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,403 different terms appear across these reports. Dependence is recorded in 32.5% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (0.9%).

95.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 42.6% record death among the outcomes and 7.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 53.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (2.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02,6415,282Jul 2021: 37Aug 2021: 166Sep 2021: 56Oct 2021: 9Nov 2021: 27Dec 2021: 812022Jan 2022: 138Feb 2022: 12Mar 2022: 28Apr 2022: 17May 2022: 21Jun 2022: 23Jul 2022: 16Aug 2022: 58Sep 2022: 15Oct 2022: 39Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 92023Jan 2023: 98Feb 2023: 31Mar 2023: 7Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 14Jun 2023: 83Jul 2023: 141Aug 2023: 5,282Sep 2023: 2,401Oct 2023: 5,010Nov 2023: 4,233Dec 2023: 1,6212024Jan 2024: 606Feb 2024: 28Mar 2024: 79Apr 2024: 394May 2024: 50Jun 2024: 64Jul 2024: 71Aug 2024: 52Sep 2024: 88Oct 2024: 20Nov 2024: 15Dec 2024: 212025Jan 2025: 109Feb 2025: 24Mar 2025: 42Apr 2025: 14May 2025: 5Jun 2025: 29Jul 2025: 33Aug 2025: 23Sep 2025: 30Oct 2025: 10Nov 2025: 8Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 8Feb 2026: 19Mar 2026: 14Apr 2026: 14May 2026: 15Jun 2026: 16

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

011,07022,1392004: 14320042005: 1612006: 952007: 12120072008: 1332009: 1162010: 16220102011: 1302012: 2882013: 51320132014: 4262015: 4312016: 62020162017: 2,1292018: 22,1392019: 58220192020: 3,9932021: 4,3852022: 38820222023: 18,9292024: 1,4882025: 33520252026: 86

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Percocet reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Dependence32.5%18,771
  2. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount26.9%15,551
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term26.2%15,162
  4. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances16.3%9,426
  5. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine14.8%8,557
  6. Ill-defined disordera condition that was not clearly described10.1%5,836
  7. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine5.1%2,949
  8. Painpain, site not specified4.5%2,607
  9. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine4.2%2,405
  10. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine3.9%2,255
  11. Depressionlow mood3%1,757
  12. Emotional distressemotional distress2.7%1,572
  13. Anxietyanxiety2.2%1,246
  14. Developmental delayslower development in a child1.9%1,072
  15. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine1.8%1,044
  16. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.5%853
  17. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy1.3%764
  18. Accidental overdosean accidental overdose1.3%759
  19. Vomitingbeing sick1.2%715
  20. Nauseafeeling sick1.2%692
  21. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.1%646
  22. Headachehead pain0.9%522
  23. Constipationconstipation0.9%501
  24. Asthmaasthma0.9%498

Top 30 of 1,403 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death42.6%24,611
Life-threatening0.8%450
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)7.7%4,461
Disability2.7%1,582
Congenital anomaly1.9%1,106
Other serious59.5%34,414
Not serious4.6%2,641

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%145
2 to 110%12
12 to 170.2%96
18 to 442.8%1,599
45 to 642.8%1,609
65 to 740.9%535
75 and over0.6%349
Age not given92.5%53,448

Patient sex

Female20.8%12,021
Male23%13,308
Not given56.2%32,464

Who reported

Physician2.7%1,575
Pharmacist0.4%251
Other health professional1.8%1,046
Lawyer41.2%23,831
Consumer or non-health professional53.1%30,694
Not given0.7%396

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 98.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain24,29042%
Back pain3750.6%
Rheumatoid arthritis1450.3%
Breakthrough pain1220.2%
Drug abuse1050.2%
Pain management860.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 57,793 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Percocet reports
OxyContin30,15152.2%
Oxycodone hydrochloride28,65449.6%
Opana27,37247.4%
Opana Er26,56546%
Dilaudid24,96443.2%
MS Contin24,42242.3%
Percodan23,79441.2%
Hydromorphone23,21640.2%
Duragesic23,13740%
Actiq22,83939.5%

Other products listed in reports where Percocet is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePercocetOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product57,793965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—6%0.3%
Reports, latest 12 months198—1,332,454
Marked serious95.4%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports42635791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports77126213
Consumer-filed share53.1%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDependence 32.5%median 0.9%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%
Methadonegeneric24,29390994.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Percocet reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Percocet?

57,793 reports list Percocet as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 198 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 38,242 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Percocet reports?

dependence (32.5%), overdose (26.9%), death (26.2%), toxicity to various agents (16.3%) and drug dependence (14.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Percocet was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

95.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 42.6% of reports include death and 7.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (53.1%), lawyer (41.2%) and physician (2.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Percocet rising?

198 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 60% from 490 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Percocet was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Percocet?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Percocet as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (38,242) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.