Reported Reactions

Drugs › Janus kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Ruxolitinib

Jakafi: adverse event reports filed with FDA

55,391 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026. Class: Janus kinase inhibitor.

55,391
reports as suspect product
0.3% of all reports · about 3,822 a year
4,584
reports, 12 months to June 2026
4,326 in the 12 months before
42.3%
marked serious by the reporter
53.1% across the class
12.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
6,973 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2012 and June 2026, 55,391 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Jakafi (ruxolitinib) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,385) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 4,584 reports listed it, close to the 4,326 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 3,822 reports a year and 0.3% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 17.1% of the reports for the janus kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are off label use (22.2%), fatigue (10%) and death (9.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,252 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 22.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median janus kinase inhibitor drug (11.5%).

42.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (53.1% across the class); 12.6% record death among the outcomes and 16.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 69.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (8.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0261522Jul 2021: 522Aug 2021: 369Sep 2021: 465Oct 2021: 447Nov 2021: 489Dec 2021: 4082022Jan 2022: 384Feb 2022: 332Mar 2022: 408Apr 2022: 442May 2022: 373Jun 2022: 452Jul 2022: 321Aug 2022: 364Sep 2022: 326Oct 2022: 378Nov 2022: 391Dec 2022: 3832023Jan 2023: 348Feb 2023: 368Mar 2023: 500Apr 2023: 367May 2023: 438Jun 2023: 416Jul 2023: 295Aug 2023: 400Sep 2023: 303Oct 2023: 367Nov 2023: 371Dec 2023: 3462024Jan 2024: 427Feb 2024: 345Mar 2024: 401Apr 2024: 420May 2024: 396Jun 2024: 303Jul 2024: 365Aug 2024: 372Sep 2024: 363Oct 2024: 357Nov 2024: 345Dec 2024: 3552025Jan 2025: 408Feb 2025: 372Mar 2025: 331Apr 2025: 350May 2025: 392Jun 2025: 316Jul 2025: 460Aug 2025: 389Sep 2025: 332Oct 2025: 350Nov 2025: 302Dec 2025: 3322026Jan 2026: 357Feb 2026: 414Mar 2026: 480Apr 2026: 464May 2026: 350Jun 2026: 354

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,7285,4552012: 46720122013: 8212014: 2,74320142015: 2,4112016: 4,43820162017: 4,0802018: 4,64220182019: 4,7982020: 5,45520202021: 5,2612022: 4,55420222023: 4,5192024: 4,44920242025: 4,3342026: 2,4192026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Jakafi reports recording the termmedian drug in janus kinase inhibitor

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label22.2%12,310
  2. Fatiguetiredness10%5,527
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.8%5,447
  4. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin4.4%2,412
  5. Anaemialow red blood cells4.2%2,350
  6. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.1%2,256
  7. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed4%2,234
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.9%2,156
  9. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count3.8%2,129
  10. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.8%2,102
  11. Headachehead pain3.8%2,088
  12. Product availability issuethe product was not available3.5%1,911
  13. Weight increasedweight gain3.3%1,813
  14. Nauseafeeling sick3.2%1,752
  15. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3%1,673
  16. Painpain, site not specified2.8%1,558
  17. Pneumonialung infection2.8%1,538
  18. Contusiona bruise2.5%1,406
  19. Product dose omissiona dose was missed2.5%1,368
  20. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.5%1,361
  21. Falla fall2.4%1,347
  22. Splenomegaly2.4%1,324
  23. Pruritusitching2.4%1,306
  24. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed2.2%1,242
  25. Arthralgiajoint pain2.1%1,149
  26. Constipationconstipation1.9%1,057
  27. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg1.8%1,021

Top 30 of 2,252 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 11 drugs in the janus kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death12.6%6,973
Life-threatening0.4%203
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)16.5%9,146
Disability0.2%117
Congenital anomaly0%2
Other serious30.9%17,121
Not serious57.7%31,973

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 323,323 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%38
2 to 110.4%221
12 to 170.2%106
18 to 441.2%650
45 to 645.9%3,277
65 to 747.6%4,187
75 and over8.9%4,922
Age not given75.8%41,990

Patient sex

Female12.8%7,067
Male12.6%6,957
Not given74.7%41,367

Who reported

Physician15.2%8,418
Pharmacist2.9%1,581
Other health professional9.6%5,301
Lawyer0%15
Consumer or non-health professional69.6%38,536
Not given2.8%1,540

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 97.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Myelofibrosis16,20929.3%
Polycythaemia vera9,78217.7%
Myeloproliferative neoplasm2,6824.8%
Essential thrombocythaemia1,7063.1%
Graft versus host disease1,5192.7%
Chronic graft versus host disease1,2042.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 55,391 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Jakafi reports
Aspirin6,77812.2%
Allopurinol3,4826.3%
Omeprazole2,7224.9%
Ergocalciferol2,6744.8%
Hydroxyurea2,6394.8%
Prednisone2,5574.6%
Lisinopril2,5544.6%
Levothyroxine2,4274.4%
Gabapentin2,3574.3%
Amlodipine2,1123.8%

Other products listed in reports where Jakafi is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureJakafiJanus kinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product55,391323,32320,646,523
Share of that pool—17.1%0.3%
Reports, latest 12 months4,584—1,332,454
Marked serious42.3%53.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1267591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports165190213
Consumer-filed share69.6%52.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 22.2%median 11.5%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the janus kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Xeljanzbrand156,0823,57144.2%
Rinvoqbrand73,18714,08569%
Ruxolitinibgeneric8,8151,36198%
Olumiantbrand6,20539657.9%
Tofacitinib citrategeneric5,77562896.6%
Tofacitinibgeneric4,87486094.6%
Upadacitinibgeneric4,1951,27668.9%
Opzelurabrand3,2856608%
Cibinqobrand3,14950331.5%
Baricitinibgeneric2,36521892.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Jakafi reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Jakafi?

55,391 reports list Jakafi as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 4,584 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,385 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Jakafi reports?

off label use (22.2%), fatigue (10%), death (9.8%), haemoglobin decreased (4.4%) and anaemia (4.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Jakafi was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

42.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 12.6% of reports include death and 16.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (69.6%), physician (15.2%) and other health professional (9.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Jakafi rising?

4,584 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 4,326 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Jakafi was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Jakafi?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Jakafi as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,385) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.