Reported Reactions

Drugs › Integrin receptor antagonist

Generic name

Vedolizumab: adverse event reports filed with FDA

58,654 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2014–2026. Class: Integrin receptor antagonist. Also reported as Vedolizumab 300mg.

58,654
reports as suspect product
0.3% of all reports · about 4,822 a year
8,232
reports, 12 months to June 2026
8,461 in the 12 months before
98.6%
marked serious by the reporter
48.8% across the class
4.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,664 reports · not verified by FDA

Between May 2014 and June 2026, 58,654 adverse event reports received by FDA list vedolizumab, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,623) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 8,232 reports listed it, close to the 8,461 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 4,822 reports a year and 0.3% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 22.7% of the reports for the integrin receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are off label use (31.7%), colitis ulcerative (22.4%) and crohn's disease (16%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,813 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 31.7% of these reports, a larger share than in the median integrin receptor antagonist drug (7.9%).

98.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (48.8% across the class); 4.5% record death among the outcomes and 32% record hospitalisation, as reported. 60.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (25.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

05151,029Jul 2021: 739Aug 2021: 656Sep 2021: 615Oct 2021: 631Nov 2021: 686Dec 2021: 6372022Jan 2022: 508Feb 2022: 586Mar 2022: 603Apr 2022: 628May 2022: 610Jun 2022: 631Jul 2022: 612Aug 2022: 575Sep 2022: 593Oct 2022: 575Nov 2022: 654Dec 2022: 6752023Jan 2023: 624Feb 2023: 626Mar 2023: 787Apr 2023: 630May 2023: 819Jun 2023: 739Jul 2023: 723Aug 2023: 653Sep 2023: 666Oct 2023: 701Nov 2023: 764Dec 2023: 7812024Jan 2024: 832Feb 2024: 820Mar 2024: 749Apr 2024: 758May 2024: 839Jun 2024: 669Jul 2024: 712Aug 2024: 679Sep 2024: 669Oct 2024: 795Nov 2024: 659Dec 2024: 7512025Jan 2025: 664Feb 2025: 646Mar 2025: 666Apr 2025: 775May 2025: 731Jun 2025: 714Jul 2025: 739Aug 2025: 623Sep 2025: 686Oct 2025: 678Nov 2025: 731Dec 2025: 7782026Jan 2026: 806Feb 2026: 949Mar 2026: 1,029Apr 2026: 835May 2026: 197Jun 2026: 181

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04,4668,9322014: 2720142015: 2762016: 1,09420162017: 1,7392018: 2,41620182019: 2,7032020: 5,03120202021: 8,2452022: 7,25020222023: 8,5132024: 8,93220242025: 8,4312026: 3,9972026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Vedolizumab reports recording the termmedian drug in integrin receptor antagonist

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label31.7%18,579
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools11.7%6,853
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected11.4%6,712
  4. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain10.5%6,138
  5. Haematocheziablood in the stool8.9%5,247
  6. Fatiguetiredness7.4%4,320
  7. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times6%3,532
  8. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed5.7%3,370
  9. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.7%3,332
  10. Arthralgiajoint pain4.9%2,901
  11. Nauseafeeling sick4.6%2,684
  12. Headachehead pain4.2%2,465
  13. Therapeutic reaction time decreased3.7%2,182
  14. Pneumonialung infection3.6%2,127
  15. Weight decreasedweight loss3.5%2,066
  16. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.2%1,869
  17. Vomitingbeing sick3.1%1,829
  18. Constipationconstipation3%1,788
  19. Covid-19COVID-19 infection3%1,757
  20. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3%1,753
  21. Pyrexiafever3%1,736
  22. Nasopharyngitisa cold2.8%1,643
  23. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading2.7%1,608
  24. Painpain, site not specified2.7%1,589
  25. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain2.5%1,485
  26. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.4%1,405

Top 30 of 2,813 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 4 drugs in the integrin receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death4.5%2,664
Life-threatening0.7%403
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)32%18,751
Disability0.6%332
Congenital anomaly0.1%84
Other serious86.6%50,775
Not serious1.4%834

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 258,020 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%64
2 to 110.4%237
12 to 171.1%654
18 to 4425.8%15,117
45 to 6422.5%13,224
65 to 7411.2%6,559
75 and over7.1%4,174
Age not given31.8%18,625

Patient sex

Female53.5%31,371
Male43.7%25,610
Not given2.9%1,673

Who reported

Physician24.5%14,359
Pharmacist0.8%465
Other health professional14.6%8,543
Lawyer0%8
Consumer or non-health professional60.1%35,264
Not given0%15

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 17.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Colitis ulcerative28,40548.4%
Crohn's disease22,46238.3%
Inflammatory bowel disease1,0561.8%
Colitis3440.6%
Colitis microscopic2860.5%
Proctitis ulcerative1030.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 58,654 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Vedolizumab reports
Prednisone12,62921.5%
Mesalamine6,03510.3%
Vitamin d3,8336.5%
Pentasa2,7494.7%
Methotrexate2,4744.2%
Calcium2,3704%
Imuran2,1953.7%
Iron2,1733.7%
Pantoprazole2,0883.6%
Entocort2,0633.5%

Other products listed in reports where Vedolizumab is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureVedolizumabIntegrin receptor antagonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product58,654258,02020,646,523
Share of that pool—22.7%0.3%
Reports, latest 12 months8,232—1,332,454
Marked serious98.6%48.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports453591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports320222213
Consumer-filed share60.1%61.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 31.7%median 7.9%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the integrin receptor antagonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Tysabribrand173,3502,47130.8%
Entyviobrand23,5112,17157.5%
Natalizumabgeneric2,5056548.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Vedolizumab reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Vedolizumab?

58,654 reports list Vedolizumab as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 8,232 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,623 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Vedolizumab reports?

off label use (31.7%), colitis ulcerative (22.4%), crohn's disease (16%), diarrhoea (11.7%) and drug ineffective (11.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Vedolizumab was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 4.5% of reports include death and 32% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (60.1%), physician (24.5%) and other health professional (14.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Vedolizumab rising?

8,232 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 8,461 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Vedolizumab was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Vedolizumab?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Vedolizumab as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,623) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.