Reported Reactions

Drugs › Corticosteroid

Generic name

Prednisone: adverse event reports filed with FDA

183,867 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Corticosteroid. Also reported as Prednisone Tab, Prednisone Tablets Usp, Prednisone 50mg Tab.

183,867
reports as suspect product
0.9% of all reports · about 8,174 a year
15,614
reports, 12 months to June 2026
19,420 in the 12 months before
91.4%
marked serious by the reporter
77.7% across the class
15.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
28,314 reports · not verified by FDA

183,867 adverse event reports received by FDA list prednisone, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 340,568 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 15,614 reports listed it, down 20% from 19,420 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 8,174 reports a year and 0.9% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 22.7% of the reports for the corticosteroid class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug ineffective (16.5%), off label use (10.7%) and fatigue (8.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 6,997 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 16.5% of these reports, about the same share as in the median corticosteroid drug (13.4%).

91.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (77.7% across the class); 15.4% record death among the outcomes and 37.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 46% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01,2672,534Jul 2021: 1,437Aug 2021: 1,301Sep 2021: 1,743Oct 2021: 1,307Nov 2021: 1,229Dec 2021: 1,6502022Jan 2022: 1,255Feb 2022: 1,007Mar 2022: 1,347Apr 2022: 1,244May 2022: 1,305Jun 2022: 1,268Jul 2022: 1,054Aug 2022: 1,365Sep 2022: 1,264Oct 2022: 1,299Nov 2022: 1,367Dec 2022: 1,5502023Jan 2023: 1,285Feb 2023: 1,372Mar 2023: 1,390Apr 2023: 1,350May 2023: 1,744Jun 2023: 1,526Jul 2023: 1,563Aug 2023: 1,392Sep 2023: 1,252Oct 2023: 1,401Nov 2023: 1,080Dec 2023: 1,3862024Jan 2024: 1,136Feb 2024: 1,086Mar 2024: 1,322Apr 2024: 1,612May 2024: 1,557Jun 2024: 1,343Jul 2024: 1,855Aug 2024: 1,691Sep 2024: 1,388Oct 2024: 2,534Nov 2024: 1,598Dec 2024: 2,0952025Jan 2025: 1,504Feb 2025: 1,253Mar 2025: 1,452Apr 2025: 1,517May 2025: 1,077Jun 2025: 1,456Jul 2025: 1,908Aug 2025: 1,605Sep 2025: 1,483Oct 2025: 1,196Nov 2025: 1,216Dec 2025: 1,3992026Jan 2026: 1,144Feb 2026: 1,045Mar 2026: 1,147Apr 2026: 1,258May 2026: 997Jun 2026: 1,216

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09,60919,2172004: 72820042005: 1,0892006: 1,0162007: 1,22420072008: 1,7122009: 1,9272010: 2,19520102011: 3,0112012: 3,9432013: 3,96420132014: 4,2552015: 5,4502016: 6,42120162017: 8,2852018: 11,6222019: 15,18620192020: 18,3742021: 18,3072022: 15,32520222023: 16,7412024: 19,2172025: 17,06620252026: 6,807

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Prednisone reports recording the termmedian drug in corticosteroid

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected16.5%30,289
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label10.7%19,645
  3. Fatiguetiredness8.2%15,152
  4. Painpain, site not specified8.2%15,011
  5. Dyspnoeashortness of breath7.6%14,002
  6. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease6.5%11,925
  7. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse6.2%11,484
  8. Asthmaasthma5.7%10,518
  9. Pneumonialung infection5.4%9,928
  10. Rashskin rash5.3%9,835
  11. Arthralgiajoint pain5.3%9,707
  12. Pyrexiafever5.2%9,569
  13. Alopeciahair loss5.2%9,558
  14. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort5.2%9,474
  15. Systemic lupus erythematosuslupus, an autoimmune disease5%9,102
  16. Nauseafeeling sick4.9%8,951
  17. Wheezingwheezing4.7%8,707
  18. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated4.6%8,479
  19. Pemphigus4.6%8,477
  20. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.5%8,288
  21. Swellingswelling4.5%8,274
  22. Weight increasedweight gain4.5%8,241
  23. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label4.4%8,040
  24. Joint swellinga swollen joint4.4%8,002
  25. Vomitingbeing sick4.2%7,792
  26. Glossodynia4.2%7,734
  27. Headachehead pain4.2%7,717
  28. Arthropathy4.1%7,515
  29. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.9%7,204

Top 30 of 6,997 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 74 drugs in the corticosteroid class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death15.4%28,314
Life-threatening9.2%16,940
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)37.8%69,470
Disability5.3%9,667
Congenital anomaly1.8%3,292
Other serious68.8%126,475
Not serious8.6%15,790

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 808,789 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.5%942
2 to 112.4%4,383
12 to 172.4%4,321
18 to 4416.7%30,627
45 to 6424.2%44,420
65 to 7414.2%26,135
75 and over8.4%15,378
Age not given31.4%57,661

Patient sex

Female46.4%85,243
Male37.6%69,109
Not given16.1%29,515

Who reported

Physician32.3%59,332
Pharmacist1.9%3,526
Other health professional46%84,493
Lawyer0.1%168
Consumer or non-health professional17%31,191
Not given2.8%5,157

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 39.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis13,5537.4%
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma12,4806.8%
Immunosuppressant drug therapy11,6486.3%
Immunosuppression5,5883%
B-cell lymphoma2,0461.1%
Prophylaxis against transplant rejection1,9811.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 183,867 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Prednisone reports
Rituximab44,53824.2%
Cyclophosphamide35,62319.4%
Methotrexate34,99319%
Vincristine26,05314.2%
Mycophenolate mofetil23,18312.6%
Tacrolimus22,65912.3%
Doxorubicin20,69711.3%
Humira17,9479.8%
Folic acid16,8519.2%
Enbrel15,6698.5%

Other products listed in reports where Prednisone is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePrednisoneCorticosteroidAll reports
Reports as suspect product183,867808,78920,646,523
Share of that pool—22.7%0.9%
Reports, latest 12 months15,614—1,332,454
Marked serious91.4%77.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports15414691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports378336213
Consumer-filed share17%29.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 16.5%median 13.4%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the corticosteroid class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Dexamethasonegeneric129,6779,21695.1%
Prednisolonegeneric87,8066,62497.6%
Methylprednisolonegeneric49,5374,43095.2%
Symbicortbrand39,1191,17750.6%
Breo Elliptabrand22,22062831.7%
Hydrocortisonegeneric21,2632,38689.5%
Advair Diskusbrand20,51812029%
Advair Hfabrand19,62258954.9%
Budesonidegeneric14,7141,08382.2%
Desoximetasonegeneric12,2091,52599.2%
Floventbrand10,77217142.1%
Methylprednisolone sodium succinategeneric10,7721,63097.8%
Solu-medrolgeneric10,28843288.8%
Ciprobrand9,79110857.3%
Triamcinolone acetonidegeneric9,6511,42473.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Prednisone reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Prednisone?

183,867 reports list Prednisone as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 15,614 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 340,568 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Prednisone reports?

drug ineffective (16.5%), off label use (10.7%), fatigue (8.2%), pain (8.2%) and dyspnoea (7.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Prednisone was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

91.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 15.4% of reports include death and 37.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (46%), physician (32.3%) and consumer or non-health professional (17%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Prednisone rising?

15,614 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 20% from 19,420 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Prednisone was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Prednisone?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Prednisone as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (340,568) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.