Reported Reactions

Drugs › Corticosteroid

Generic name

Methylprednisolone: adverse event reports filed with FDA

49,537 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Corticosteroid. Also reported as Methylprednisolone 4mg Tab, Methylprednisolone 16mg Tab, Methylprednisolone Tablet 4mg.

49,537
reports as suspect product
0.2% of all reports · about 2,202 a year
4,430
reports, 12 months to June 2026
5,057 in the 12 months before
95.2%
marked serious by the reporter
77.7% across the class
21.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
10,604 reports · not verified by FDA

49,537 adverse event reports received by FDA list methylprednisolone, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 58,444 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 4,430 reports listed it, down 12% from 5,057 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 2,202 reports a year and 0.2% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 6.1% of the reports for the corticosteroid class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (16.1%), off label use (15.4%) and product use in unapproved indication (6.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 4,226 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 16.1% of these reports, about the same share as in the median corticosteroid drug (13.4%).

95.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (77.7% across the class); 21.4% record death among the outcomes and 43% record hospitalisation, as reported. 56.8% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (25.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0297593Jul 2021: 472Aug 2021: 512Sep 2021: 472Oct 2021: 452Nov 2021: 369Dec 2021: 5932022Jan 2022: 386Feb 2022: 360Mar 2022: 499Apr 2022: 424May 2022: 486Jun 2022: 431Jul 2022: 311Aug 2022: 342Sep 2022: 370Oct 2022: 353Nov 2022: 423Dec 2022: 3642023Jan 2023: 352Feb 2023: 377Mar 2023: 331Apr 2023: 336May 2023: 425Jun 2023: 353Jul 2023: 406Aug 2023: 383Sep 2023: 332Oct 2023: 300Nov 2023: 288Dec 2023: 4162024Jan 2024: 339Feb 2024: 347Mar 2024: 385Apr 2024: 452May 2024: 392Jun 2024: 353Jul 2024: 462Aug 2024: 471Sep 2024: 370Oct 2024: 551Nov 2024: 411Dec 2024: 5712025Jan 2025: 408Feb 2025: 385Mar 2025: 469Apr 2025: 281May 2025: 276Jun 2025: 402Jul 2025: 490Aug 2025: 407Sep 2025: 372Oct 2025: 318Nov 2025: 462Dec 2025: 3892026Jan 2026: 341Feb 2026: 347Mar 2026: 376Apr 2026: 330May 2026: 305Jun 2026: 293

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,6895,3772004: 13720042005: 1732006: 2372007: 34720072008: 3802009: 5142010: 51120102011: 5872012: 7492013: 75820132014: 1,1352015: 1,3032016: 1,40520162017: 2,1992018: 3,4512019: 4,19920192020: 5,2702021: 5,3772022: 4,74920222023: 4,2992024: 5,1042025: 4,65920252026: 1,992

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Methylprednisolone reports recording the termmedian drug in corticosteroid

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected16.1%8,000
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label15.4%7,640
  3. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label6.3%3,127
  4. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse5.3%2,621
  5. Pneumonialung infection4.2%2,059
  6. Pyrexiafever4%1,958
  7. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure3.3%1,631
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.1%1,545
  9. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen3.1%1,526
  10. Headachehead pain3.1%1,512
  11. Nauseafeeling sick2.9%1,448
  12. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.9%1,431
  13. Rashskin rash2.7%1,349
  14. Fatiguetiredness2.6%1,301
  15. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.6%1,273
  16. Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeseveral organs failing2.5%1,262
  17. Thrombocytopenialow platelets2.5%1,258
  18. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy2.4%1,210
  19. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.4%1,196
  20. Septic shockshock arising from infection2.4%1,171
  21. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.3%1,152
  22. Painpain, site not specified2.3%1,151
  23. Vomitingbeing sick2.3%1,128
  24. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work2.3%1,122
  25. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy2.1%1,040
  26. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell2.1%1,022
  27. Infectionan infection, type not specified2%988
  28. Anaemialow red blood cells1.9%945

Top 30 of 4,226 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 74 drugs in the corticosteroid class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.4%10,604
Life-threatening13.2%6,533
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)43%21,293
Disability2.9%1,452
Congenital anomaly2%983
Other serious69.8%34,572
Not serious4.8%2,357

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 808,789 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.9%919
2 to 116.3%3,102
12 to 174.8%2,362
18 to 4423.5%11,633
45 to 6425.7%12,750
65 to 7412.3%6,072
75 and over6.2%3,095
Age not given19.4%9,604

Patient sex

Female44.7%22,154
Male41.9%20,735
Not given13.4%6,648

Who reported

Physician32%15,865
Pharmacist2.4%1,190
Other health professional56.8%28,153
Lawyer0.1%40
Consumer or non-health professional6.3%3,122
Not given2.4%1,167

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 24% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Immunosuppressant drug therapy4,1228.3%
Immunosuppression1,7753.6%
Covid-191,2742.6%
Prophylaxis against transplant rejection1,0882.2%
Premedication8961.8%
Systemic lupus erythematosus6971.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 49,537 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Methylprednisolone reports
Prednisone10,85921.9%
Mycophenolate mofetil10,70621.6%
Tacrolimus10,51921.2%
Prednisolone8,05716.3%
Rituximab7,67915.5%
Cyclophosphamide6,34312.8%
Methotrexate5,94212%
Cyclosporine4,1588.4%
Azathioprine3,3646.8%
Dexamethasone3,2486.6%

Other products listed in reports where Methylprednisolone is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureMethylprednisoloneCorticosteroidAll reports
Reports as suspect product49,537808,78920,646,523
Share of that pool—6.1%0.2%
Reports, latest 12 months4,430—1,332,454
Marked serious95.2%77.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21414691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports430336213
Consumer-filed share6.3%29.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 16.1%median 13.4%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the corticosteroid class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Prednisonegeneric183,86715,61491.4%
Dexamethasonegeneric129,6779,21695.1%
Prednisolonegeneric87,8066,62497.6%
Symbicortbrand39,1191,17750.6%
Breo Elliptabrand22,22062831.7%
Hydrocortisonegeneric21,2632,38689.5%
Advair Diskusbrand20,51812029%
Advair Hfabrand19,62258954.9%
Budesonidegeneric14,7141,08382.2%
Desoximetasonegeneric12,2091,52599.2%
Floventbrand10,77217142.1%
Methylprednisolone sodium succinategeneric10,7721,63097.8%
Solu-medrolgeneric10,28843288.8%
Ciprobrand9,79110857.3%
Triamcinolone acetonidegeneric9,6511,42473.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Methylprednisolone reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Methylprednisolone?

49,537 reports list Methylprednisolone as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 4,430 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 58,444 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Methylprednisolone reports?

drug ineffective (16.1%), off label use (15.4%), product use in unapproved indication (6.3%), condition aggravated (5.3%) and pneumonia (4.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Methylprednisolone was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

95.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.4% of reports include death and 43% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (56.8%), physician (32%) and consumer or non-health professional (6.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Methylprednisolone rising?

4,430 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 12% from 5,057 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Methylprednisolone was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Methylprednisolone?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Methylprednisolone as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (58,444) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.