Reported Reactions

Drugs › Tumor necrosis factor blocker

Brand name · Golimumab

Simponi: adverse event reports filed with FDA

70,407 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2009–2026. Class: Tumor necrosis factor blocker. Also reported as Simponi 50mg.

70,407
reports as suspect product
0.3% of all reports · about 4,142 a year
4,803
reports, 12 months to June 2026
6,130 in the 12 months before
75%
marked serious by the reporter
56.2% across the class
7.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
5,150 reports · not verified by FDA

70,407 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Simponi (golimumab) as a suspect or interacting product, from July 2009 to June 2026. A further 6,357 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 4,803 reports listed it, down 22% from 6,130 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 4,142 reports a year and 0.3% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 6.6% of the reports for the tumor necrosis factor blocker class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (24.5%), rheumatoid arthritis (17.3%) and pain (16.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,491 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 24.5% of these reports, a larger share than in the median tumor necrosis factor blocker drug (15.4%).

75% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (56.2% across the class); 7.3% record death among the outcomes and 23.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 38.8% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (26.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0359717Jul 2021: 494Aug 2021: 472Sep 2021: 532Oct 2021: 532Nov 2021: 542Dec 2021: 7172022Jan 2022: 492Feb 2022: 423Mar 2022: 642Apr 2022: 479May 2022: 622Jun 2022: 559Jul 2022: 421Aug 2022: 492Sep 2022: 413Oct 2022: 414Nov 2022: 387Dec 2022: 5232023Jan 2023: 365Feb 2023: 403Mar 2023: 383Apr 2023: 435May 2023: 525Jun 2023: 485Jul 2023: 496Aug 2023: 491Sep 2023: 507Oct 2023: 477Nov 2023: 422Dec 2023: 4962024Jan 2024: 513Feb 2024: 628Mar 2024: 493Apr 2024: 529May 2024: 662Jun 2024: 633Jul 2024: 601Aug 2024: 476Sep 2024: 520Oct 2024: 574Nov 2024: 493Dec 2024: 5732025Jan 2025: 488Feb 2025: 520Mar 2025: 540Apr 2025: 378May 2025: 399Jun 2025: 568Jul 2025: 527Aug 2025: 433Sep 2025: 416Oct 2025: 375Nov 2025: 463Dec 2025: 5062026Jan 2026: 304Feb 2026: 332Mar 2026: 371Apr 2026: 311May 2026: 314Jun 2026: 451

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03,9557,9092009: 3720092010: 2872011: 58420112012: 1,0632013: 1,45320132014: 1,3242015: 5,23420152016: 4,7742017: 4,61720172018: 5,3232019: 5,68520192020: 7,9092021: 6,37420212022: 5,8672023: 5,48520232024: 6,6952025: 5,61320252026: 2,083

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Simponi reports recording the termmedian drug in tumor necrosis factor blocker

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected24.5%17,266
  2. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease17.3%12,196
  3. Painpain, site not specified16.1%11,316
  4. Fatiguetiredness13.4%9,438
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label12.4%8,753
  6. Rashskin rash11.8%8,318
  7. Alopeciahair loss11.7%8,237
  8. Joint swellinga swollen joint11.7%8,226
  9. Arthralgiajoint pain11.3%7,942
  10. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated11%7,762
  11. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort11%7,760
  12. Swellingswelling11%7,716
  13. Systemic lupus erythematosuslupus, an autoimmune disease10.8%7,601
  14. Pemphigus10.5%7,401
  15. Glossodynia10.2%7,193
  16. Arthropathy9.5%6,657
  17. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction9.1%6,392
  18. Synovitis8.9%6,281
  19. Wound8.6%6,020
  20. Lower respiratory tract infectiona chest infection8.4%5,934
  21. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used8%5,598
  22. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work7.9%5,582
  23. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion7.8%5,484
  24. Infectionan infection, type not specified7.5%5,308
  25. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes7.3%5,119
  26. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse7.3%5,109
  27. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs7.2%5,100

Top 30 of 2,491 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 17 drugs in the tumor necrosis factor blocker class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.3%5,150
Life-threatening6.9%4,885
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)23.8%16,741
Disability9.5%6,693
Congenital anomaly3.1%2,189
Other serious60.1%42,332
Not serious25%17,588

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 1,064,042 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%48
2 to 110.1%55
12 to 170.3%189
18 to 4418%12,650
45 to 6426.5%18,630
65 to 7410.2%7,164
75 and over5.7%3,979
Age not given39.3%27,692

Patient sex

Female67.5%47,542
Male20.5%14,441
Not given12%8,424

Who reported

Physician16.2%11,427
Pharmacist8.4%5,906
Other health professional38.8%27,319
Lawyer0%11
Consumer or non-health professional35.9%25,285
Not given0.7%459

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 22.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis31,74845.1%
Ankylosing spondylitis5,7348.1%
Psoriatic arthropathy5,0367.2%
Colitis ulcerative3,2524.6%
Crohn's disease5530.8%
Psoriasis2500.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 70,407 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Simponi reports
Methotrexate22,86332.5%
Enbrel17,66125.1%
Orencia16,64423.6%
Humira16,27723.1%
Prednisone15,48522%
Actemra15,11721.5%
Cimzia14,94221.2%
Sulfasalazine14,44620.5%
Arava14,09320%
Remicade13,95419.8%

Other products listed in reports where Simponi is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureSimponiTumor necrosis factor blockerAll reports
Reports as suspect product70,4071,064,04220,646,523
Share of that pool—6.6%0.3%
Reports, latest 12 months4,803—1,332,454
Marked serious75%56.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports735291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports238182213
Consumer-filed share35.9%32.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 24.5%median 15.4%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the tumor necrosis factor blocker class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Enbrelbrand561,3394,67433.3%
Remicadebrand155,2273,30487.4%
Cimziabrand87,2214,93254.9%
Infliximabgeneric52,5827,09297.3%
Adalimumabgeneric39,3387,36295.7%
Certolizumab pegolgeneric27,3952,23297.2%
Inflectrabrand25,30086383.4%
Etanerceptgeneric18,3971,38196.3%
Hyrimozbrand8,4821,97083.9%
Golimumabgeneric7,16392996.8%
Simponi Ariabrand3,63317031.4%
Renflexisbrand2,06741986.6%
Infliximab-dyybgeneric2,0271,39486.3%
Amjevitabrand1,41633422.5%
Hadlimabrand1,08742861.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Simponi reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Simponi?

70,407 reports list Simponi as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 4,803 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 6,357 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Simponi reports?

drug ineffective (24.5%), rheumatoid arthritis (17.3%), pain (16.1%), fatigue (13.4%) and off label use (12.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Simponi was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

75% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.3% of reports include death and 23.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (38.8%), consumer or non-health professional (35.9%) and physician (16.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Simponi rising?

4,803 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 22% from 6,130 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Simponi was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Simponi?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Simponi as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (6,357) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.