Reported Reactions

Drugs › Programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody

Brand name · Nivolumab

Opdivo: adverse event reports filed with FDA

46,610 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2015–2026. Class: Programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody.

46,610
reports as suspect product
0.2% of all reports · about 4,055 a year
3,753
reports, 12 months to June 2026
3,967 in the 12 months before
83.6%
marked serious by the reporter
89.9% across the class
28.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
13,119 reports · not verified by FDA

46,610 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Opdivo (nivolumab) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2015 to June 2026. A further 1,091 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 3,753 reports listed it, close to the 3,967 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 4,055 reports a year and 0.2% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 20.6% of the reports for the programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (17.4%), malignant neoplasm progression (9.7%) and off label use (7.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,224 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 17.4% of these reports, a larger share than in the median programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody drug (6.1%).

83.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (89.9% across the class); 28.1% record death among the outcomes and 31.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 47.3% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (22.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0282563Jul 2021: 245Aug 2021: 251Sep 2021: 291Oct 2021: 321Nov 2021: 364Dec 2021: 4002022Jan 2022: 219Feb 2022: 368Mar 2022: 398Apr 2022: 439May 2022: 474Jun 2022: 563Jul 2022: 546Aug 2022: 539Sep 2022: 504Oct 2022: 483Nov 2022: 495Dec 2022: 4162023Jan 2023: 307Feb 2023: 501Mar 2023: 454Apr 2023: 374May 2023: 342Jun 2023: 391Jul 2023: 346Aug 2023: 312Sep 2023: 310Oct 2023: 337Nov 2023: 369Dec 2023: 3602024Jan 2024: 255Feb 2024: 436Mar 2024: 386Apr 2024: 386May 2024: 361Jun 2024: 361Jul 2024: 347Aug 2024: 328Sep 2024: 347Oct 2024: 367Nov 2024: 341Dec 2024: 3512025Jan 2025: 239Feb 2025: 513Mar 2025: 317Apr 2025: 297May 2025: 232Jun 2025: 288Jul 2025: 281Aug 2025: 248Sep 2025: 329Oct 2025: 368Nov 2025: 352Dec 2025: 2942026Jan 2026: 273Feb 2026: 427Mar 2026: 344Apr 2026: 240May 2026: 299Jun 2026: 298

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,7225,4442015: 98920152016: 3,5942017: 4,82920172018: 5,1452019: 5,19220192020: 3,5822021: 3,52720212022: 5,4442023: 4,40320232024: 4,2662025: 3,75820252026: 1,881

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Opdivo reports recording the termmedian drug in programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term17.4%8,093
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.1%3,332
  3. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended5%2,325
  4. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.8%2,224
  5. Fatiguetiredness3.9%1,834
  6. Rashskin rash3.6%1,656
  7. Pyrexiafever3.5%1,653
  8. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3%1,379
  9. Nauseafeeling sick2.7%1,271
  10. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified2.2%1,046
  11. Interstitial lung diseasescarring or inflammation of lung tissue2.2%1,028
  12. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2%955
  13. Colitisinflamed bowel2%932
  14. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2%924
  15. Pneumonialung infection1.9%906
  16. Pruritusitching1.9%901
  17. Hypothyroidismunderactive thyroid1.9%873
  18. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label1.9%865
  19. Weight decreasedweight loss1.8%849
  20. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.6%754
  21. Vomitingbeing sick1.6%738
  22. Arthralgiajoint pain1.5%708
  23. Adrenal insufficiencythe adrenal glands produce too little hormone1.5%700
  24. Immune-mediated enterocolitis1.5%695
  25. Constipationconstipation1.4%638
  26. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.2%550

Top 30 of 2,224 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death28.1%13,119
Life-threatening5.8%2,691
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.5%14,659
Disability1.7%815
Congenital anomaly0%17
Other serious75.6%35,255
Not serious16.4%7,625

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 225,959 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%17
2 to 110.1%29
12 to 170.1%59
18 to 443.8%1,754
45 to 6421.9%10,190
65 to 7422.8%10,626
75 and over16.2%7,561
Age not given35.1%16,374

Patient sex

Female28.1%13,081
Male54.1%25,223
Not given17.8%8,306

Who reported

Physician47.3%22,034
Pharmacist10%4,642
Other health professional17.5%8,161
Lawyer0.1%30
Consumer or non-health professional25%11,642
Not given0.2%101

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 43.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Malignant melanoma4,4429.5%
Non-small cell lung cancer4,0008.6%
Gastric cancer2,8526.1%
Renal cell carcinoma2,8066%
Metastatic renal cell carcinoma2,2054.7%
Lung neoplasm malignant1,9784.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 46,610 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Opdivo reports
Yervoy14,54431.2%
Cabometyx2,6285.6%
Carboplatin1,7583.8%
Oxaliplatin1,3312.9%
Amlodipine1,0752.3%
Paclitaxel9582.1%
Levothyroxine8231.8%
Atorvastatin8091.7%
Aspirin7961.7%
Ondansetron7661.6%

Other products listed in reports where Opdivo is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOpdivoProgrammed death Receptor-1 blocking antibodyAll reports
Reports as suspect product46,610225,95920,646,523
Share of that pool—20.6%0.2%
Reports, latest 12 months3,753—1,332,454
Marked serious83.6%89.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports28122591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports315418213
Consumer-filed share25%19.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 17.4%median 6.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Keytrudabrand63,6388,46584%
Nivolumabgeneric45,8232,58196%
Pembrolizumabgeneric30,9906,21295.7%
Atezolizumabgeneric19,7681,88797.7%
Tecentriqbrand16,9572,34993.5%
Dostarlimabgeneric1,28047597.5%
Jemperlibrand89342270.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Opdivo reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Opdivo?

46,610 reports list Opdivo as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 3,753 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,091 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Opdivo reports?

death (17.4%), malignant neoplasm progression (9.7%), off label use (7.1%), intentional product use issue (5%) and diarrhoea (4.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Opdivo was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

83.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 28.1% of reports include death and 31.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (47.3%), consumer or non-health professional (25%) and other health professional (17.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Opdivo rising?

3,753 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 3,967 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Opdivo was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Opdivo?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Opdivo as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,091) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.