Reported Reactions

Drugs › beta3-Adrenergic agonist

Brand name · Vibegron

Gemtesa: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,804 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2020–2026. Class: beta3-Adrenergic agonist.

5,804
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 996 a year
1,854
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,801 in the 12 months before
19.1%
marked serious by the reporter
31.6% across the class
3.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
221 reports · not verified by FDA

Between September 2020 and June 2026, 5,804 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Gemtesa (vibegron) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,599) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,854 reports listed it, close to the 1,801 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 996 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 21.1% of the reports for the beta3-Adrenergic agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (16.6%), diarrhoea (4.8%) and urinary retention (4.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 518 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 16.6% of these reports, about the same share as in the median beta3-Adrenergic agonist drug (16.6%).

19.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (31.6% across the class); 3.8% record death among the outcomes and 4.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 89.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (20.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0381761Jul 2021: 41Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 123Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 7Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 72023Jan 2023: 22Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 355May 2023: 14Jun 2023: 15Jul 2023: 514Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 22Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 558Dec 2023: 102024Jan 2024: 327Feb 2024: 10Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 21May 2024: 11Jun 2024: 14Jul 2024: 17Aug 2024: 82Sep 2024: 112Oct 2024: 761Nov 2024: 81Dec 2024: 792025Jan 2025: 155Feb 2025: 86Mar 2025: 91Apr 2025: 120May 2025: 124Jun 2025: 93Jul 2025: 186Aug 2025: 143Sep 2025: 129Oct 2025: 94Nov 2025: 156Dec 2025: 1592026Jan 2026: 123Feb 2026: 139Mar 2026: 162Apr 2026: 165May 2026: 234Jun 2026: 164

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

07681,5362020: 120202021: 17820212022: 4520222023: 1,53420232024: 1,52320242025: 1,53620252026: 9872026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Gemtesa reports recording the termmedian drug in beta3-adrenergic agonist

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected16.6%965
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.8%279
  3. Urinary retentionbeing unable to empty the bladder4.6%267
  4. Headachehead pain4.6%266
  5. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection4.2%244
  6. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.5%201
  7. Urinary incontinenceleaking urine3.3%189
  8. Pollakiuriapassing urine more often3.2%186
  9. Constipationconstipation3%173
  10. Product availability issuethe product was not available2.8%163
  11. Nauseafeeling sick2.6%152
  12. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times2.5%145
  13. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.2%126
  14. Dry mouthdry mouth2.1%122
  15. Fatiguetiredness2.1%121
  16. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used2.1%120
  17. Dysuriapain on passing urine1.8%107
  18. Rhinorrhoeaa runny nose1.8%107
  19. Rashskin rash1.7%100
  20. Hot flusha hot flush1.7%98
  21. Painpain, site not specified1.5%85
  22. Falla fall1.4%84
  23. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.2%72

Top 30 of 518 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 3 drugs in the beta3-adrenergic agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death3.8%221
Life-threatening0.1%6
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)4.5%262
Disability0.2%10
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious15.5%901
Not serious80.9%4,696

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 27,466 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%2
12 to 170.1%3
18 to 440.7%40
45 to 643.5%205
65 to 748.5%496
75 and over20.8%1,208
Age not given66.3%3,850

Patient sex

Female52%3,018
Male21.9%1,270
Not given26.1%1,516

Who reported

Physician3.8%218
Pharmacist0.6%37
Other health professional6.3%365
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional89.1%5,170
Not given0.2%13

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 100% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hypertonic bladder1,75830.3%
Urinary incontinence2434.2%
Incontinence1372.4%
Pollakiuria1071.8%
Bladder disorder931.6%
Micturition urgency711.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,804 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Gemtesa reports
Aspirin1462.5%
Ergocalciferol1192.1%
Atorvastatin1142%
Lisinopril981.7%
Orgovyx961.7%
Metoprolol931.6%
Amlodipine911.6%
Gabapentin871.5%
Losartan861.5%
Levothyroxine841.4%

Other products listed in reports where Gemtesa is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureGemtesabeta3-Adrenergic agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,80427,46620,646,523
Share of that pool—21.1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months1,854—1,332,454
Marked serious19.1%31.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports386691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports4598213
Consumer-filed share89.1%79.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 16.6%median 16.6%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the beta3-adrenergic agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Myrbetriqbrand19,46076129%
Mirabegrongeneric2,20232787.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Gemtesa reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Gemtesa?

5,804 reports list Gemtesa as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,854 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,599 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Gemtesa reports?

drug ineffective (16.6%), diarrhoea (4.8%), urinary retention (4.6%), headache (4.6%) and inability to afford medication (4.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Gemtesa was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

19.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 3.8% of reports include death and 4.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (89.1%), other health professional (6.3%) and physician (3.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Gemtesa rising?

1,854 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 1,801 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Gemtesa was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Gemtesa?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Gemtesa as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,599) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.