Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Osimertinib

Tagrisso: adverse event reports filed with FDA

23,085 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

23,085
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,680 a year
1,410
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,601 in the 12 months before
92.3%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
48.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
11,181 reports · not verified by FDA

Between October 2012 and June 2026, 23,085 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Tagrisso (osimertinib) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (469) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,410 reports listed it, down 46% from 2,601 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,680 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.7% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (41.3%), malignant neoplasm progression (8.3%) and diarrhoea (5.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,160 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 41.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

92.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 48.4% record death among the outcomes and 18.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 44.9% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (18%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0322644Jul 2021: 277Aug 2021: 255Sep 2021: 241Oct 2021: 221Nov 2021: 288Dec 2021: 2302022Jan 2022: 223Feb 2022: 178Mar 2022: 254Apr 2022: 222May 2022: 215Jun 2022: 256Jul 2022: 247Aug 2022: 253Sep 2022: 250Oct 2022: 233Nov 2022: 296Dec 2022: 3082023Jan 2023: 275Feb 2023: 285Mar 2023: 298Apr 2023: 333May 2023: 307Jun 2023: 298Jul 2023: 278Aug 2023: 342Sep 2023: 342Oct 2023: 383Nov 2023: 349Dec 2023: 3192024Jan 2024: 386Feb 2024: 290Mar 2024: 210Apr 2024: 352May 2024: 233Jun 2024: 201Jul 2024: 644Aug 2024: 557Sep 2024: 235Oct 2024: 256Nov 2024: 180Dec 2024: 1332025Jan 2025: 88Feb 2025: 83Mar 2025: 106Apr 2025: 127May 2025: 108Jun 2025: 84Jul 2025: 124Aug 2025: 131Sep 2025: 126Oct 2025: 125Nov 2025: 119Dec 2025: 1082026Jan 2026: 70Feb 2026: 96Mar 2026: 137Apr 2026: 153May 2026: 98Jun 2026: 123

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,9053,8092012: 120122014: 12015: 3120152016: 6602017: 96520172018: 1,2122019: 1,85820192020: 2,9692021: 2,96120212022: 2,9352023: 3,80920232024: 3,6772025: 1,32920252026: 677

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Tagrisso reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term41.3%9,525
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools5.1%1,184
  3. Fatiguetiredness2.9%671
  4. Rashskin rash2.8%640
  5. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.6%595
  6. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.3%522
  7. Interstitial lung diseasescarring or inflammation of lung tissue2.1%495
  8. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.1%482
  9. Nauseafeeling sick2.1%476
  10. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.8%422
  11. Disease progressionthe disease advanced1.8%417
  12. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.7%383
  13. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung1.6%369
  14. Weight decreasedweight loss1.5%351
  15. Pneumonialung infection1.5%342
  16. Vomitingbeing sick1.3%298
  17. Coughcough1.2%285
  18. Dry skindry skin1.2%281
  19. Painpain, site not specified1.2%273
  20. Pyrexiafever1.1%250
  21. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count1.1%245
  22. Falla fall1.1%243
  23. Pruritusitching1%235
  24. Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps1%230

Top 30 of 1,160 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death48.4%11,181
Life-threatening2.6%611
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)18.7%4,314
Disability1.1%254
Congenital anomaly0%5
Other serious38.9%8,990
Not serious7.7%1,788

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%2
2 to 110%4
12 to 170%2
18 to 441.6%361
45 to 6415.5%3,582
65 to 7416.5%3,820
75 and over18%4,161
Age not given48.3%11,153

Patient sex

Female56.2%12,965
Male29.4%6,777
Not given14.5%3,343

Who reported

Physician25.3%5,839
Pharmacist4.5%1,030
Other health professional10.2%2,353
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional44.9%10,370
Not given15.1%3,493

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 50.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Non-small cell lung cancer5,30123%
Lung neoplasm malignant4,00417.3%
Lung carcinoma cell type unspecified stage 01,7257.5%
Non-small cell lung cancer metastatic7683.3%
Lung adenocarcinoma4832.1%
Lung carcinoma cell type unspecified stage iv2281%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 23,085 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Tagrisso reports
Iressa4361.9%
Amlodipine2481.1%
Eliquis2451.1%
Aspirin2291%
Dexamethasone2261%
Carboplatin2170.9%
Atorvastatin1920.8%
Pemetrexed1890.8%
Omeprazole1790.8%
Ergocalciferol1700.7%

Other products listed in reports where Tagrisso is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTagrissoKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product23,085849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—2.7%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,410—1,332,454
Marked serious92.3%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports48419091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports187264213
Consumer-filed share44.9%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 41.3%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%
Nexavarbrand15,4496787.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Tagrisso reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Tagrisso?

23,085 reports list Tagrisso as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,410 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 469 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Tagrisso reports?

death (41.3%), malignant neoplasm progression (8.3%), diarrhoea (5.1%), fatigue (2.9%) and rash (2.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Tagrisso was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

92.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 48.4% of reports include death and 18.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (44.9%), physician (25.3%) and not given (15.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Tagrisso rising?

1,410 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 46% from 2,601 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Tagrisso was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Tagrisso?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Tagrisso as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (469) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.