Reported Reactions

Drugs › Complement inhibitor

Brand name · Ravulizumab

Ultomiris: adverse event reports filed with FDA

11,279 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Class: Complement inhibitor.

11,279
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 765 a year
1,816
reports, 12 months to June 2026
3,265 in the 12 months before
47.8%
marked serious by the reporter
58.7% across the class
6.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
732 reports · not verified by FDA

Between October 2011 and June 2026, 11,279 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Ultomiris (ravulizumab) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (142) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,816 reports listed it, down 44% from 3,265 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 765 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 16.2% of the reports for the complement inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are fatigue (13.6%), asthenia (6.7%) and headache (5.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,117 different terms appear across these reports. Fatigue is recorded in 13.6% of these reports, about the same share as in the median complement inhibitor drug (11.5%).

47.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (58.7% across the class); 6.5% record death among the outcomes and 16.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 63.7% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (7.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0361721Jul 2021: 29Aug 2021: 26Sep 2021: 33Oct 2021: 41Nov 2021: 41Dec 2021: 472022Jan 2022: 26Feb 2022: 43Mar 2022: 32Apr 2022: 26May 2022: 28Jun 2022: 38Jul 2022: 28Aug 2022: 36Sep 2022: 61Oct 2022: 42Nov 2022: 67Dec 2022: 642023Jan 2023: 42Feb 2023: 74Mar 2023: 60Apr 2023: 78May 2023: 78Jun 2023: 61Jul 2023: 86Aug 2023: 88Sep 2023: 106Oct 2023: 152Nov 2023: 721Dec 2023: 5032024Jan 2024: 349Feb 2024: 394Mar 2024: 324Apr 2024: 373May 2024: 428Jun 2024: 398Jul 2024: 447Aug 2024: 463Sep 2024: 373Oct 2024: 259Nov 2024: 183Dec 2024: 2112025Jan 2025: 204Feb 2025: 243Mar 2025: 231Apr 2025: 234May 2025: 197Jun 2025: 220Jul 2025: 233Aug 2025: 187Sep 2025: 222Oct 2025: 259Nov 2025: 193Dec 2025: 1152026Jan 2026: 101Feb 2026: 87Mar 2026: 131Apr 2026: 94May 2026: 84Jun 2026: 110

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,1014,2022011: 120112018: 120182019: 58020192020: 39220202021: 41820212022: 49120222023: 2,04920232024: 4,20220242025: 2,53820252026: 6072026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Ultomiris reports recording the termmedian drug in complement inhibitor

  1. Fatiguetiredness13.6%1,531
  2. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy6.7%757
  3. Headachehead pain5.9%669
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.4%612
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.2%471
  6. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.9%435
  7. Muscular weaknessmuscle weakness3.9%435
  8. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.8%431
  9. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.4%388
  10. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin3.2%359
  11. Painpain, site not specified3%333
  12. Back painback pain2.9%330
  13. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right2.8%315
  14. Diplopiadouble vision2.8%311
  15. Nauseafeeling sick2.6%292
  16. Haemolysis2.6%290
  17. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.6%288
  18. Arthralgiajoint pain2.4%270
  19. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing2.1%242
  20. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.1%237
  21. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking2.1%235
  22. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.1%234
  23. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg2%220
  24. Pyrexiafever1.9%213
  25. Nasopharyngitisa cold1.8%208
  26. Falla fall1.8%207

Top 30 of 1,117 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the complement inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death6.5%732
Life-threatening0.8%92
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)16.9%1,911
Disability0.3%29
Congenital anomaly0%2
Other serious39.2%4,416
Not serious52.2%5,889

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 69,459 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%25
2 to 110.8%92
12 to 170.6%67
18 to 445.8%653
45 to 647.1%804
65 to 745.2%586
75 and over5.9%668
Age not given74.3%8,384

Patient sex

Female45.9%5,178
Male39%4,399
Not given15.1%1,702

Who reported

Physician23.7%2,678
Pharmacist3.6%401
Other health professional9%1,011
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional63.7%7,180
Not given0.1%9

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 81.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Myasthenia gravis4,05435.9%
Paroxysmal nocturnal haemoglobinuria2,32320.6%
Atypical haemolytic uraemic syndrome1,25611.1%
Neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorder5104.5%
Haemolytic uraemic syndrome930.8%
Thrombotic microangiopathy610.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 11,279 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Ultomiris reports
Soliris1,17410.4%
Prednisone4614.1%
Human immunoglobulin g1591.4%
Sodium chloride1281.1%
Folic acid1181%
Prednisolone1111%
Acetaminophen1060.9%
Epinephrine1050.9%
Ergocalciferol1020.9%
Aspirin990.9%

Other products listed in reports where Ultomiris is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureUltomirisComplement inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product11,27969,45920,646,523
Share of that pool—16.2%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,816—1,332,454
Marked serious47.8%58.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports659791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports169262213
Consumer-filed share63.7%68.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFatigue 13.6%median 11.5%3.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the complement inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Solirisbrand52,7681,33057.8%
Eculizumabgeneric2,07281797.2%
Ravulizumabgeneric1,9191,71298.9%
Pegcetacoplangeneric76814671.4%
Syfovrebrand65316566.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Ultomiris reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Ultomiris?

11,279 reports list Ultomiris as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,816 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 142 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Ultomiris reports?

fatigue (13.6%), asthenia (6.7%), headache (5.9%), drug ineffective (5.4%) and off label use (4.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Ultomiris was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

47.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 6.5% of reports include death and 16.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (63.7%), physician (23.7%) and other health professional (9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Ultomiris rising?

1,816 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 44% from 3,265 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Ultomiris was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Ultomiris?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Ultomiris as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (142) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.