Reported Reactions

Drugs › Janus kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Tofacitinib

Xeljanz: adverse event reports filed with FDA

156,082 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Class: Janus kinase inhibitor. Also reported as Xeljanz Xr.

156,082
reports as suspect product
0.8% of all reports · about 10,180 a year
3,571
reports, 12 months to June 2026
8,461 in the 12 months before
44.2%
marked serious by the reporter
53.1% across the class
5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
7,820 reports · not verified by FDA

Between March 2011 and June 2026, 156,082 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Xeljanz (tofacitinib) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (24,528) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 3,571 reports listed it, down 58% from 8,461 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 10,180 reports a year and 0.8% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 48.3% of the reports for the janus kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (19%), pain (13.7%) and condition aggravated (10.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 3,062 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 19% of these reports, a larger share than in the median janus kinase inhibitor drug (9.3%).

44.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (53.1% across the class); 5% record death among the outcomes and 13.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 42% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (40.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02,1654,330Jul 2021: 1,093Aug 2021: 1,198Sep 2021: 1,245Oct 2021: 1,454Nov 2021: 1,374Dec 2021: 1,4962022Jan 2022: 1,876Feb 2022: 1,895Mar 2022: 2,721Apr 2022: 2,563May 2022: 4,330Jun 2022: 1,440Jul 2022: 1,247Aug 2022: 1,516Sep 2022: 1,322Oct 2022: 1,349Nov 2022: 1,293Dec 2022: 1,2592023Jan 2023: 1,314Feb 2023: 1,172Mar 2023: 1,340Apr 2023: 1,118May 2023: 1,261Jun 2023: 944Jul 2023: 1,063Aug 2023: 965Sep 2023: 849Oct 2023: 914Nov 2023: 846Dec 2023: 8482024Jan 2024: 1,016Feb 2024: 866Mar 2024: 780Apr 2024: 942May 2024: 916Jun 2024: 767Jul 2024: 780Aug 2024: 744Sep 2024: 772Oct 2024: 838Nov 2024: 683Dec 2024: 7922025Jan 2025: 753Feb 2025: 708Mar 2025: 739Apr 2025: 544May 2025: 449Jun 2025: 659Jul 2025: 542Aug 2025: 510Sep 2025: 466Oct 2025: 436Nov 2025: 418Dec 2025: 3512026Jan 2026: 138Feb 2026: 115Mar 2026: 143Apr 2026: 169May 2026: 130Jun 2026: 153

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

011,56523,1302011: 120112012: 152013: 1,70920132014: 2,6482015: 4,28620152016: 8,6792017: 12,21720172018: 15,1362019: 18,44520192020: 23,1302021: 17,05220212022: 22,8112023: 12,63420232024: 9,8962025: 6,57520252026: 848

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Xeljanz reports recording the termmedian drug in janus kinase inhibitor

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected19%29,597
  2. Painpain, site not specified13.7%21,387
  3. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse10.8%16,787
  4. Arthralgiajoint pain10%15,578
  5. Fatiguetiredness8.4%13,129
  6. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease7.5%11,645
  7. Headachehead pain7.2%11,284
  8. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.2%11,265
  9. Joint swellinga swollen joint6.7%10,435
  10. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.9%9,228
  11. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg5.5%8,660
  12. Rashskin rash5.4%8,464
  13. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools5.1%8,006
  14. Nauseafeeling sick5.1%7,934
  15. Nasopharyngitisa cold5.1%7,911
  16. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs5%7,807
  17. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort4.8%7,511
  18. Musculoskeletal stiffnessstiffness in muscles or joints4.7%7,301
  19. Swellingswelling4.5%7,084
  20. Synovitis4.4%6,932
  21. Alopeciahair loss4.4%6,897
  22. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated4.3%6,759
  23. Arthropathy4.2%6,629
  24. Infectionan infection, type not specified4%6,256
  25. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes3.8%5,977
  26. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction3.8%5,939
  27. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed3.7%5,718
  28. Sinusitissinus infection3.5%5,506
  29. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.4%5,347

Top 30 of 3,062 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 11 drugs in the janus kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death5%7,820
Life-threatening3.2%4,992
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)13.6%21,257
Disability4.2%6,573
Congenital anomaly1.2%1,935
Other serious36.8%57,395
Not serious55.8%87,058

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 323,323 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%37
2 to 110.2%277
12 to 170.4%563
18 to 4412.8%19,995
45 to 6440.6%63,367
65 to 7421.3%33,171
75 and over10.7%16,652
Age not given14.1%22,020

Patient sex

Female76.8%119,862
Male18.8%29,325
Not given4.4%6,895

Who reported

Physician14.5%22,592
Pharmacist2.9%4,558
Other health professional39.8%62,054
Lawyer0.1%217
Consumer or non-health professional42%65,611
Not given0.7%1,050

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 79.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis72,22446.3%
Colitis ulcerative5,3683.4%
Psoriatic arthropathy4,8933.1%
Arthritis1,3840.9%
Psoriasis4900.3%
Alopecia areata3450.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 156,082 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Xeljanz reports
Methotrexate23,51815.1%
Prednisone19,99312.8%
Enbrel15,3179.8%
Humira14,3759.2%
Folic acid14,0009%
Orencia12,4818%
Sulfasalazine12,4418%
Leflunomide11,3847.3%
Actemra11,0917.1%
Arava10,1946.5%

Other products listed in reports where Xeljanz is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureXeljanzJanus kinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product156,082323,32320,646,523
Share of that pool—48.3%0.8%
Reports, latest 12 months3,571—1,332,454
Marked serious44.2%53.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports507591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports136190213
Consumer-filed share42%52.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 19%median 9.3%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the janus kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Rinvoqbrand73,18714,08569%
Jakafibrand55,3914,58442.3%
Ruxolitinibgeneric8,8151,36198%
Olumiantbrand6,20539657.9%
Tofacitinib citrategeneric5,77562896.6%
Tofacitinibgeneric4,87486094.6%
Upadacitinibgeneric4,1951,27668.9%
Opzelurabrand3,2856608%
Cibinqobrand3,14950331.5%
Baricitinibgeneric2,36521892.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Xeljanz reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Xeljanz?

156,082 reports list Xeljanz as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 3,571 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 24,528 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Xeljanz reports?

drug ineffective (19%), pain (13.7%), condition aggravated (10.8%), arthralgia (10%) and fatigue (8.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Xeljanz was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

44.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 5% of reports include death and 13.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (42%), other health professional (39.8%) and physician (14.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Xeljanz rising?

3,571 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 58% from 8,461 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Xeljanz was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Xeljanz?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Xeljanz as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (24,528) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.