Reported Reactions

Drugs › Sodium-Glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor

Brand name · Dapagliflozin

Farxiga: adverse event reports filed with FDA

16,456 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2009–2026. Class: Sodium-Glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor.

16,456
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 978 a year
549
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,304 in the 12 months before
54%
marked serious by the reporter
68.2% across the class
21.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
3,558 reports · not verified by FDA

Between September 2009 and June 2026, 16,456 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Farxiga (dapagliflozin) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (9,219) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 549 reports listed it, down 76% from 2,304 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 978 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 15.7% of the reports for the sodium-Glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (20.5%), fungal infection (7.4%) and blood glucose increased (4.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,070 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 20.5% of these reports, a larger share than in the median sodium-Glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor drug (1.5%).

54% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (68.2% across the class); 21.6% record death among the outcomes and 12.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 61% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (13%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0289578Jul 2021: 91Aug 2021: 94Sep 2021: 78Oct 2021: 98Nov 2021: 117Dec 2021: 862022Jan 2022: 98Feb 2022: 86Mar 2022: 115Apr 2022: 107May 2022: 112Jun 2022: 92Jul 2022: 142Aug 2022: 133Sep 2022: 131Oct 2022: 142Nov 2022: 176Dec 2022: 1522023Jan 2023: 224Feb 2023: 192Mar 2023: 292Apr 2023: 229May 2023: 270Jun 2023: 247Jul 2023: 216Aug 2023: 290Sep 2023: 273Oct 2023: 335Nov 2023: 352Dec 2023: 2942024Jan 2024: 382Feb 2024: 342Mar 2024: 311Apr 2024: 355May 2024: 321Jun 2024: 324Jul 2024: 400Aug 2024: 578Sep 2024: 271Oct 2024: 338Nov 2024: 111Dec 2024: 952025Jan 2025: 98Feb 2025: 87Mar 2025: 83Apr 2025: 101May 2025: 90Jun 2025: 52Jul 2025: 92Aug 2025: 63Sep 2025: 58Oct 2025: 43Nov 2025: 43Dec 2025: 402026Jan 2026: 24Feb 2026: 38Mar 2026: 42Apr 2026: 47May 2026: 28Jun 2026: 31

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,9143,8282009: 220092010: 12011: 420112012: 62013: 120132014: 7612015: 1,07220152016: 7202017: 74820172018: 8202019: 75020192020: 8832021: 1,10020212022: 1,4862023: 3,21420232024: 3,8282025: 85020252026: 210

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Farxiga reports recording the termmedian drug in sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.5%3,368
  2. Fungal infectiona fungal infection7.4%1,223
  3. Blood glucose increasedraised blood sugar reading4.8%787
  4. Weight decreasedweight loss4.8%784
  5. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection3.6%598
  6. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.6%592
  7. Diabetic ketoacidosisa serious complication of diabetes with acid build-up3.3%536
  8. Nauseafeeling sick2.8%455
  9. Fatiguetiredness2.7%440
  10. Pollakiuriapassing urine more often2.4%397
  11. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.2%358
  12. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.2%356
  13. Dehydrationdehydration2.1%342
  14. Glycosylated haemoglobin increaseda raised HbA1c, the long-term sugar measure2%332
  15. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2%326
  16. Rashskin rash1.9%318
  17. Pruritusitching1.9%306
  18. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.8%303
  19. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1.8%295
  20. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right1.7%279
  21. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.7%278
  22. Headachehead pain1.6%266
  23. Painpain, site not specified1.6%257
  24. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used1.5%248
  25. Myocardial infarctionheart attack1.5%244
  26. Vomitingbeing sick1.5%243
  27. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.4%230
  28. Renal failurekidney failure1.3%216
  29. Blood glucose decreasedlow blood sugar reading1.3%215

Top 30 of 1,070 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.6%3,558
Life-threatening2.4%403
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)12.5%2,059
Disability1.3%218
Congenital anomaly0%6
Other serious25.8%4,245
Not serious46%7,566

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 104,698 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%8
2 to 110%4
12 to 170%1
18 to 442.8%466
45 to 6413%2,147
65 to 749.4%1,554
75 and over8.7%1,436
Age not given65.9%10,840

Patient sex

Female40.2%6,619
Male41.7%6,861
Not given18.1%2,976

Who reported

Physician20.8%3,419
Pharmacist1.3%222
Other health professional10.6%1,741
Lawyer0.4%68
Consumer or non-health professional61%10,036
Not given5.9%970

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 99.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Type 2 diabetes mellitus2,83117.2%
Diabetes mellitus1,1026.7%
Cardiac failure3702.2%
Chronic kidney disease3071.9%
Renal disorder840.5%
Cardiac disorder610.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 16,456 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Farxiga reports
Metformin1,5499.4%
Lisinopril5253.2%
Entresto3882.4%
Aspirin3692.2%
Bydureon2941.8%
Atorvastatin2781.7%
Glipizide2581.6%
Lantus2531.5%
Januvia2431.5%
Insulin2291.4%

Other products listed in reports where Farxiga is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureFarxigaSodium-Glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product16,456104,69820,646,523
Share of that pool—15.7%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months549—1,332,454
Marked serious54%68.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21610491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports125313213
Consumer-filed share61%45.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 20.5%median 1.5%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Jardiancegeneric34,5982,38855.5%
Invokanabrand22,3596564.1%
Dapagliflozingeneric21,8386,95098.9%
Empagliflozingeneric4,88774686.7%
Synjardygeneric2,07112955.4%
Canagliflozingeneric1,9758494.4%
Inpefabrand5148833.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Farxiga reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Farxiga?

16,456 reports list Farxiga as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 549 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 9,219 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Farxiga reports?

death (20.5%), fungal infection (7.4%), blood glucose increased (4.8%), weight decreased (4.8%) and urinary tract infection (3.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Farxiga was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

54% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.6% of reports include death and 12.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (61%), physician (20.8%) and other health professional (10.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Farxiga rising?

549 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 76% from 2,304 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Farxiga was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Farxiga?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Farxiga as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (9,219) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.