Reported Reactions

Drugs › Thalidomide analog

Brand name · Lenalidomide

Revlimid: adverse event reports filed with FDA

354,649 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2005–2026. Class: Thalidomide analog. Also reported as Revlimid Capsules, Revlimid Cap.

354,649
reports as suspect product
1.7% of all reports · about 16,959 a year
8,112
reports, 12 months to June 2026
14,445 in the 12 months before
62.3%
marked serious by the reporter
63.4% across the class
12.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
44,741 reports · not verified by FDA

Between August 2005 and June 2026, 354,649 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Revlimid (lenalidomide) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (6,087) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 8,112 reports listed it, down 44% from 14,445 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 16,959 reports a year and 1.7% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 68.7% of the reports for the thalidomide analog class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded diarrhoea (7.7%), fatigue (6.6%) and death (6.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 3,699 different terms appear across these reports. Diarrhoea is recorded in 7.7% of these reports, a larger share than in the median thalidomide analog drug (5.1%).

62.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (63.4% across the class); 12.6% record death among the outcomes and 24.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 31.9% of the reports came from pharmacists, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (22.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02,5245,048Jul 2021: 3,764Aug 2021: 4,066Sep 2021: 4,377Oct 2021: 4,057Nov 2021: 4,146Dec 2021: 5,0482022Jan 2022: 3,968Feb 2022: 3,619Mar 2022: 2,626Apr 2022: 2,372May 2022: 4,982Jun 2022: 3,551Jul 2022: 2,931Aug 2022: 2,753Sep 2022: 2,695Oct 2022: 2,058Nov 2022: 2,250Dec 2022: 1,9822023Jan 2023: 1,663Feb 2023: 1,490Mar 2023: 1,707Apr 2023: 1,385May 2023: 1,485Jun 2023: 1,431Jul 2023: 1,332Aug 2023: 1,473Sep 2023: 1,310Oct 2023: 1,387Nov 2023: 1,337Dec 2023: 1,3222024Jan 2024: 1,495Feb 2024: 1,851Mar 2024: 1,874Apr 2024: 1,604May 2024: 1,423Jun 2024: 1,365Jul 2024: 1,388Aug 2024: 1,374Sep 2024: 1,342Oct 2024: 1,330Nov 2024: 1,071Dec 2024: 1,1452025Jan 2025: 1,305Feb 2025: 1,131Mar 2025: 1,159Apr 2025: 1,180May 2025: 1,027Jun 2025: 993Jul 2025: 938Aug 2025: 817Sep 2025: 839Oct 2025: 761Nov 2025: 716Dec 2025: 7712026Jan 2026: 728Feb 2026: 599Mar 2026: 553Apr 2026: 485May 2026: 477Jun 2026: 428

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

024,33848,6752005: 1220052006: 7842007: 1,4502008: 3,52120082009: 2,7512010: 3,6492011: 5,77320112012: 11,0102013: 13,0332014: 11,98620142015: 33,6062016: 24,4052017: 27,02420172018: 24,0842019: 26,9522020: 30,65620202021: 48,6752022: 35,7872023: 17,32220232024: 17,2622025: 11,6372026: 3,2702026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Revlimid reports recording the termmedian drug in thalidomide analog

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools7.7%27,210
  2. Fatiguetiredness6.6%23,404
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.5%23,204
  4. Rashskin rash4.5%15,874
  5. Pneumonialung infection4.4%15,682
  6. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.4%12,167
  7. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count3%10,653
  8. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet2.9%10,145
  9. Constipationconstipation2.7%9,597
  10. Nauseafeeling sick2.6%9,048
  11. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.4%8,647
  12. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.4%8,419
  13. Thrombosis2.1%7,386
  14. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed2%7,145
  15. Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps2%7,069
  16. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell1.9%6,670
  17. Pruritusitching1.9%6,571
  18. Falla fall1.8%6,396
  19. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.8%6,362
  20. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.8%6,277
  21. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs1.7%5,869
  22. Anaemialow red blood cells1.6%5,790
  23. Pyrexiafever1.5%5,492
  24. Decreased appetitereduced appetite1.4%4,993
  25. Painpain, site not specified1.4%4,951
  26. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.3%4,725
  27. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin1.3%4,694
  28. Thrombocytopenialow platelets1.3%4,533

Top 30 of 3,699 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 4 drugs in the thalidomide analog class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death12.6%44,741
Life-threatening1.6%5,631
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)24.9%88,176
Disability1.1%3,871
Congenital anomaly0%52
Other serious33.8%120,019
Not serious37.7%133,867

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 516,063 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%36
2 to 110%44
12 to 170%52
18 to 441%3,657
45 to 6416.2%57,515
65 to 7421.4%75,742
75 and over22.1%78,440
Age not given39.2%139,163

Patient sex

Female48%170,103
Male49.8%176,774
Not given2.2%7,772

Who reported

Physician19.4%68,766
Pharmacist31.9%113,200
Other health professional31.9%113,038
Lawyer0%13
Consumer or non-health professional16.2%57,616
Not given0.6%2,016

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 89.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Plasma cell myeloma200,99856.7%
Multiple myeloma17,0774.8%
Myelodysplastic syndrome15,0004.2%
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma3,9881.1%
Plasma cell myeloma in remission2,3650.7%
Follicular lymphoma2,2330.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 354,649 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Revlimid reports
Dexamethasone70,04819.8%
Aspirin42,12411.9%
Acyclovir33,9419.6%
Velcade21,2376%
Gabapentin15,7664.4%
Omeprazole14,3114%
Ergocalciferol12,4553.5%
Lisinopril12,0923.4%
Zometa9,9762.8%
Furosemide9,3632.6%

Other products listed in reports where Revlimid is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureRevlimidThalidomide analogAll reports
Reports as suspect product354,649516,06320,646,523
Share of that pool—68.7%1.7%
Reports, latest 12 months8,112—1,332,454
Marked serious62.3%63.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports12612791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports249261213
Consumer-filed share16.2%18.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDiarrhoea 7.7%median 5.1%3.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the thalidomide analog class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Pomalystbrand87,4565,83856.5%
Lenalidomidegeneric61,77313,05274.2%
Pomalidomidegeneric12,1851,67893.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Revlimid reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Revlimid?

354,649 reports list Revlimid as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 8,112 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 6,087 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Revlimid reports?

diarrhoea (7.7%), fatigue (6.6%), death (6.5%), rash (4.5%) and pneumonia (4.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Revlimid was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

62.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 12.6% of reports include death and 24.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

pharmacist (31.9%), other health professional (31.9%) and physician (19.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Revlimid rising?

8,112 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 44% from 14,445 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Revlimid was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Revlimid?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Revlimid as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (6,087) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.