Reported Reactions

Drugs › Programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody

Brand name · Pembrolizumab

Keytruda: adverse event reports filed with FDA

63,638 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2014–2026. Class: Programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody.

63,638
reports as suspect product
0.3% of all reports · about 5,381 a year
8,465
reports, 12 months to June 2026
9,873 in the 12 months before
84%
marked serious by the reporter
89.9% across the class
19.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
12,126 reports · not verified by FDA

63,638 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Keytruda (pembrolizumab) as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2014 to June 2026. A further 5,754 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 8,465 reports listed it, down 14% from 9,873 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 5,381 reports a year and 0.3% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 28.2% of the reports for the programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded malignant neoplasm progression (13.8%), death (6.4%) and diarrhoea (4.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,992 different terms appear across these reports. Malignant neoplasm progression is recorded in 13.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody drug (9.1%).

84% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (89.9% across the class); 19.1% record death among the outcomes and 38.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 47.3% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (24.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0499998Jul 2021: 406Aug 2021: 410Sep 2021: 357Oct 2021: 393Nov 2021: 486Dec 2021: 5302022Jan 2022: 316Feb 2022: 482Mar 2022: 785Apr 2022: 621May 2022: 552Jun 2022: 664Jul 2022: 634Aug 2022: 658Sep 2022: 700Oct 2022: 657Nov 2022: 690Dec 2022: 9742023Jan 2023: 661Feb 2023: 709Mar 2023: 987Apr 2023: 783May 2023: 681Jun 2023: 827Jul 2023: 798Aug 2023: 773Sep 2023: 812Oct 2023: 953Nov 2023: 998Dec 2023: 8852024Jan 2024: 840Feb 2024: 815Mar 2024: 790Apr 2024: 813May 2024: 783Jun 2024: 726Jul 2024: 843Aug 2024: 728Sep 2024: 770Oct 2024: 837Nov 2024: 908Dec 2024: 8612025Jan 2025: 772Feb 2025: 738Mar 2025: 960Apr 2025: 942May 2025: 726Jun 2025: 788Jul 2025: 926Aug 2025: 674Sep 2025: 887Oct 2025: 671Nov 2025: 686Dec 2025: 7492026Jan 2026: 539Feb 2026: 661Mar 2026: 704Apr 2026: 726May 2026: 571Jun 2026: 671

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04,9349,8672014: 9920142015: 7212016: 1,80120162017: 3,3742018: 3,70020182019: 4,2892020: 4,11220202021: 4,8372022: 7,73320222023: 9,8672024: 9,71420242025: 9,5192026: 3,8722026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Keytruda reports recording the termmedian drug in programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.4%4,076
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.8%3,062
  3. Fatiguetiredness4.5%2,842
  4. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label3.9%2,465
  5. Rashskin rash3.7%2,378
  6. Pyrexiafever3.7%2,364
  7. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure3.2%2,010
  8. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3.1%2,003
  9. Interstitial lung diseasescarring or inflammation of lung tissue3.1%1,960
  10. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.1%1,959
  11. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used3.1%1,954
  12. Hypothyroidismunderactive thyroid2.9%1,823
  13. Nauseafeeling sick2.7%1,731
  14. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.7%1,719
  15. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.4%1,519
  16. Renal impairmentreduced kidney function2.2%1,392
  17. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2%1,294
  18. Arthralgiajoint pain2%1,243
  19. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet2%1,242
  20. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count1.9%1,224
  21. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell1.9%1,212
  22. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.9%1,191
  23. Pneumonialung infection1.8%1,157
  24. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified1.8%1,131
  25. Pneumonitis1.8%1,129
  26. Anaemialow red blood cells1.7%1,079
  27. Weight decreasedweight loss1.7%1,066
  28. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times1.6%1,040

Top 30 of 2,992 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death19.1%12,126
Life-threatening5.9%3,767
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)38.8%24,723
Disability2.7%1,700
Congenital anomaly0%18
Other serious62.9%40,042
Not serious16%10,193

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 225,959 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%16
2 to 110%23
12 to 170.1%44
18 to 444.6%2,945
45 to 6424.3%15,441
65 to 7424.3%15,469
75 and over18.1%11,531
Age not given28.6%18,169

Patient sex

Female48.2%30,702
Male46.3%29,442
Not given5.5%3,494

Who reported

Physician47.3%30,083
Pharmacist7.9%5,020
Other health professional15.3%9,730
Lawyer0%23
Consumer or non-health professional29.2%18,613
Not given0.3%169

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 33.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Triple negative breast cancer4,0686.4%
Non-small cell lung cancer4,0576.4%
Endometrial cancer3,5825.6%
Lung neoplasm malignant2,7234.3%
Lung adenocarcinoma2,7214.3%
Renal cell carcinoma2,4343.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 63,638 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Keytruda reports
Carboplatin10,38016.3%
Lenvima5,4118.5%
Lenvatinib mesylate5,2648.3%
Paclitaxel5,2368.2%
Cisplatin2,6674.2%
Pemetrexed2,4493.8%
Alimta1,7732.8%
Enfortumab vedotin1,4012.2%
Fluorouracil1,3532.1%
Cyclophosphamide1,3152.1%

Other products listed in reports where Keytruda is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureKeytrudaProgrammed death Receptor-1 blocking antibodyAll reports
Reports as suspect product63,638225,95920,646,523
Share of that pool—28.2%0.3%
Reports, latest 12 months8,465—1,332,454
Marked serious84%89.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports19122591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports388418213
Consumer-filed share29.2%19.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsMalignant neoplasm progression 13.8%median 9.1%0.5%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Opdivobrand46,6103,75383.6%
Nivolumabgeneric45,8232,58196%
Pembrolizumabgeneric30,9906,21295.7%
Atezolizumabgeneric19,7681,88797.7%
Tecentriqbrand16,9572,34993.5%
Dostarlimabgeneric1,28047597.5%
Jemperlibrand89342270.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Keytruda reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Keytruda?

63,638 reports list Keytruda as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 8,465 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 5,754 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Keytruda reports?

malignant neoplasm progression (13.8%), death (6.4%), diarrhoea (4.8%), fatigue (4.5%) and product use in unapproved indication (3.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Keytruda was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

84% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 19.1% of reports include death and 38.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (47.3%), consumer or non-health professional (29.2%) and other health professional (15.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Keytruda rising?

8,465 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 14% from 9,873 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Keytruda was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Keytruda?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Keytruda as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (5,754) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.