Reported Reactions

Reactions

MedDRA preferred term · the patient died; cause not stated by this term

Death: adverse event reports recording this term

847,572 reports to FDA record it, 2004–2026; 4.1% of the database.

847,572
reports recording the term
4.1% of all reports
48,702
reports, 12 months to June 2026
51,622 in the 12 months before
99.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
99.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
9.1% across all reports

847,572 reports in FDA's adverse event database record the MedDRA term "Death" (in plain words, the patient died; cause not stated by this term): 4.1% of all reports received between January 2004 and June 2026. Coders pick the term that best matches the reporter's description.

48,702 reports recorded it in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 51,622 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Of reports recording this term, 99.6% are marked serious, 99.5% include death among the outcomes and 9.5% include hospitalisation, as reported.

The drugs listed most often as suspect products in those reports are Revlimid, OxyContin and Eliquis. That order mostly follows how many reports each drug has overall; the table also gives the term's share within each drug's own reports. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03,0306,060Jul 2021: 4,856Aug 2021: 4,823Sep 2021: 5,070Oct 2021: 4,844Nov 2021: 5,144Dec 2021: 6,0562022Jan 2022: 6,060Feb 2022: 5,840Mar 2022: 6,025Apr 2022: 4,830May 2022: 5,034Jun 2022: 4,955Jul 2022: 4,683Aug 2022: 5,105Sep 2022: 4,738Oct 2022: 4,642Nov 2022: 5,338Dec 2022: 5,8002023Jan 2023: 5,418Feb 2023: 5,101Mar 2023: 5,426Apr 2023: 4,620May 2023: 5,120Jun 2023: 5,121Jul 2023: 4,317Aug 2023: 5,767Sep 2023: 5,378Oct 2023: 5,828Nov 2023: 6,008Dec 2023: 5,2962024Jan 2024: 5,395Feb 2024: 4,853Mar 2024: 4,289Apr 2024: 4,299May 2024: 4,191Jun 2024: 3,758Jul 2024: 4,243Aug 2024: 4,254Sep 2024: 3,640Oct 2024: 4,571Nov 2024: 4,440Dec 2024: 4,7952025Jan 2025: 4,968Feb 2025: 4,065Mar 2025: 4,159Apr 2025: 4,420May 2025: 4,085Jun 2025: 3,982Jul 2025: 4,076Aug 2025: 3,768Sep 2025: 3,863Oct 2025: 4,067Nov 2025: 3,889Dec 2025: 4,2402026Jan 2026: 4,531Feb 2026: 3,777Mar 2026: 4,522Apr 2026: 4,084May 2026: 3,874Jun 2026: 4,011

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Drugs listed as suspect products in these reports

DrugClassReports with this termShare of the drug's own reports
RevlimidThalidomide analog23,2046.5%
OxyContinOpioid agonist20,72114.2%
EliquisFactor Xa inhibitor17,20713.8%
Oxycodone hydrochlorideOpioid agonist16,70214.8%
ProliaRANK ligand inhibitor15,17511%
PercocetOpioid agonist15,16226.2%
AranespErythropoiesis-stimulating agent14,87639.9%
DilaudidOpioid agonist13,45421%
MS ContinOpioid agonist13,01925%
Opana—12,90941.2%
Opana Er—12,56341%
Percodan—12,07149.6%
Hydromorphone—11,95032.9%
Duragesic—11,77638.1%
ButransPartial opioid agonist11,66819.4%
Hysingla EROpioid agonist11,66338%
Fentora—11,48747.2%
NucyntaOpioid agonist11,46141.6%
Actiq—11,42346.2%
Glivec—11,36853.8%
Humira—11,1611.7%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophenOpioid agonist10,91218.5%
NuplazidAtypical antipsychotic10,62419.8%
Tarceva—10,37337.9%
AvastinVascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor9,54015.8%

Drugs with a page on this site, ordered by the number of their reports recording this term. The last column is the term's share within that drug's own reports, against 4.1% across the whole database. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

By pharmacologic class

ClassReports with this termShare of class reportsMedian drug in class
Opioid agonist155,89016.2%6.5%
Kinase inhibitor97,71911.5%7.6%
Thalidomide analog33,2696.4%6.4%
Atypical antipsychotic31,4804.6%1.3%
Vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor24,88114.1%6.8%
Endothelin receptor antagonist24,55612.7%12.5%
Factor Xa inhibitor22,5836.9%2.3%
Programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody20,9939.3%6.1%
RANK ligand inhibitor18,85911.2%11%
Erythropoiesis-stimulating agent18,85328.4%8.5%

Classes ordered by count. Class shares follow the class's overall report volume as much as anything else.

Patients in these reports

Patient age

Under 20.3%2,347
2 to 110.4%2,988
12 to 170.3%2,438
18 to 444.7%39,414
45 to 6414.2%120,397
65 to 7413%109,810
75 and over19.5%165,532
Age not given47.7%404,646

Patient sex

Female39.3%333,474
Male45.1%382,675
Not given15.5%131,423

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. 61.4% of these reports give the United States as the country.

Questions about "Death"

What does "Death" mean in an adverse event report?

In plain language: the patient died; cause not stated by this term. It is a MedDRA preferred term, the dictionary FDA uses to code what a reporter described. The report's own description is not published by openFDA and is not shown here.

How many reports record death?

847,572 reports through June 2026 (4.1% of all reports), 48,702 of them in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs appear most often in these reports?

Revlimid (23,204), OxyContin (20,721), Eliquis (17,207), Oxycodone hydrochloride (16,702) and Prolia (15,175). Drugs with many reports overall lead almost every term's list. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Does a drug appearing here mean it was responsible for this reaction?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

I have this symptom. What should I do?

This site cannot assess anyone. A pharmacist or clinician can; for an emergency, call the local emergency number. Nothing on this page is medical advice.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. Terms are pooled across spelling and capitalisation variants of one MedDRA preferred term. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.