Reports received by FDA, by month
May 2015: adverse event reports received by FDA
69,680 drug reports (FAERS) and 64,961 device reports (MAUDE).
- 69,680
- drug reports received
- 63,916 a year earlier
- 76,562
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- -9% against the average
- 64,961
- device reports received
- 59,443 a year earlier
FDA received 69,680 drug adverse event reports in May 2015, against 63,916 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 76,562 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 64,961 reports that month (59,443 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Enbrel (3,923), Xarelto (2,241) and Revlimid (1,784), and the reactions recorded most often were drug ineffective (4,548), death (3,392) and nausea (2,642).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were H P Acthar (60.3× its average), Ibrance (13× its average) and Sumatriptan Injection Usp 6 Mg/0 5 Ml (10.6× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to May 2015
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Enbrel | 3,923 | 5.6% |
| Xarelto | 2,241 | 3.2% |
| Revlimid | 1,784 | 2.6% |
| Dianeal Low Calcium Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with Dextrose | 1,708 | 2.5% |
| Humira | 1,206 | 1.7% |
| Androgel | 981 | 1.4% |
| Tecfidera | 974 | 1.4% |
| Risperdal | 973 | 1.4% |
| Lyrica | 970 | 1.4% |
| Tiotropium bromide | 707 | 1% |
| H P Acthar | 683 | 1% |
| Invokana | 630 | 0.9% |
| Avonex | 627 | 0.9% |
| Otezla | 615 | 0.9% |
| Mirena | 598 | 0.9% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| H P Acthar | 683 | 60.3× |
| Ibrance | 202 | 13× |
| Sumatriptan Injection Usp 6 Mg/0 5 Ml | 158 | 10.6× |
| Apidra SoloStar | 151 | 8.8× |
| Creon | 285 | 8.2× |
| Ketamine | 70 | 6.3× |
| Apidra | 216 | 6.1× |
| Androgel | 981 | 5.8× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 4,548 | 6.5% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 3,392 | 4.9% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 2,642 | 3.8% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 2,525 | 3.6% |
| Headachehead pain | 2,171 | 3.1% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 2,086 | 3% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 2,020 | 2.9% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 2,003 | 2.9% |
| Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell | 1,879 | 2.7% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 1,711 | 2.5% |
| Vomitingbeing sick | 1,657 | 2.4% |
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 1,647 | 2.4% |
| Drug dose omissiona dose was missed | 1,468 | 2.1% |
| Astheniaweakness or lack of energy | 1,402 | 2% |
| Arthralgiajoint pain | 1,370 | 2% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Paradigm Real-Time Revel Insulin Infusion Pump | 5,094 | 7.8% |
| Paradigm Real-Time Insulin Infusion Pump | 3,197 | 4.9% |
| Ot Verio Iq Meter | 2,129 | 3.3% |
| Onetouchping Glucosemgmtsystem | 2,036 | 3.1% |
| 530g Insulin Pump | 1,756 | 2.7% |
| G4 Platinum Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 1,616 | 2.5% |
| Ot Verio2 Meter | 1,215 | 1.9% |
| Tandem T Slim Insulin Delivery System | 1,164 | 1.8% |
| Dexcom G4 Platinum Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 1,079 | 1.7% |
| Spectrum Infusion Pump | 834 | 1.3% |
Questions about May 2015
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in May 2015?
69,680 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 64,961 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 63,916 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Enbrel (3,923), Xarelto (2,241), Revlimid (1,784), Dianeal Low Calcium Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with Dextrose (1,708) and Humira (1,206).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
drug ineffective (4,548), death (3,392), nausea (2,642), fatigue (2,525) and headache (2,171).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.