Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Darvocet: adverse event reports filed with FDA

4,473 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Darvocet /00220901/, Darvocet /00758701/.

4,473
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 200 a year
1
reports, 12 months to June 2026
3 in the 12 months before
89.7%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
8.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
380 reports · not verified by FDA

Between March 2004 and May 2026, 4,473 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Darvocet" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (4,571) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1 report listed it, down 67% from 3 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 200 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are cardiovascular disorder (45.7%), cardiac disorder (42.6%) and nervous system disorder (27.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 328 different terms appear across these reports. Cardiovascular disorder is recorded in 45.7% of these reports, against 0.1% of all reports in the database.

89.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 8.5% record death among the outcomes and 6.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 51.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (4.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01530Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 232022Jan 2022: 30Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 15Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 8Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 32024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

07891,5772004: 620042005: 272006: 242007: 2820072008: 92009: 152010: 7620102011: 5412012: 1,0912013: 1,57720132014: 692015: 4542016: 6920162017: 442018: 432019: 6720192020: 1112021: 1312022: 5620222023: 262024: 82026: 12026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Darvocet reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Myocardial infarctionheart attack10%446
  2. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine8.6%384
  3. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped8.2%368
  4. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine5.3%238
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.5%157
  6. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount3%134
  7. Painpain, site not specified2.7%123
  8. Emotional distressemotional distress2%89
  9. Injurya physical injury1.9%87
  10. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine1.6%73
  11. Depressionlow mood1.2%55
  12. Tachycardiafast heart rate1.1%51
  13. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.1%50
  14. Nauseafeeling sick1%43
  15. Bradycardiaslow heart rate0.9%39
  16. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness0.8%38
  17. Anxietyanxiety0.8%37
  18. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm0.6%28
  19. Headachehead pain0.6%28
  20. Insomniadifficulty sleeping0.6%25
  21. Fatiguetiredness0.5%24

Top 30 of 328 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death8.5%380
Life-threatening0.9%41
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)6.8%302
Disability37%1,657
Congenital anomaly0.1%4
Other serious71.8%3,212
Not serious10.3%460

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110%0
12 to 170.1%4
18 to 441.6%71
45 to 644.4%199
65 to 741.9%86
75 and over2%91
Age not given89.9%4,021

Patient sex

Female60.9%2,724
Male36.4%1,626
Not given2.7%123

Who reported

Physician6.6%296
Pharmacist0.2%10
Other health professional3%132
Lawyer37.4%1,675
Consumer or non-health professional51.3%2,295
Not given1.5%65

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 99.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain1,68537.7%
Pain management1,32529.6%
Back pain250.6%
Arthralgia90.2%
Ill-defined disorder90.2%
Arthritis60.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 4,473 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Darvocet reports
OxyContin2174.9%
Oxycodone hydrochloride1864.2%
Percocet1774%
Morphine sulfate1633.6%
Vicodin1473.3%
Codeine1393.1%
Dilaudid1393.1%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen1393.1%
Tramadol1102.5%
Oxycodone and acetaminophen861.9%

Other products listed in reports where Darvocet is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureDarvocetAll reports
Reports as suspect product4,47320,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months11,332,454
Marked serious89.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports8591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports68213
Consumer-filed share51.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCardiovascular disorder 45.7%0.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Darvocet reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Darvocet?

4,473 reports list Darvocet as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 4,571 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Darvocet reports?

cardiovascular disorder (45.7%), cardiac disorder (42.6%), nervous system disorder (27.8%), movement disorder (27.8%) and arrhythmia (11%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Darvocet was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

89.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 8.5% of reports include death and 6.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (51.3%), lawyer (37.4%) and physician (6.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Darvocet rising?

1 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 67% from 3 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Darvocet was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Darvocet?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Darvocet as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (4,571) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.