Reported Reactions

Devices › Pump, infusion, insulin, to be used with invasive glucose sensor

Device brand name · Insulin infusion pump / sensor augmented

Insulin Infusion Pump: medical device reports filed with FDA

5,096 reports name it, 1994–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Minimed. Product code OYC.

5,096
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 157 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
43.9%
classified as malfunction
85.5% across the product code
2.6%
classified as death, as reported
130 reports · not verified by FDA

5,096 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Insulin Infusion Pump" (insulin infusion pump / sensor augmented); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Minimed; received from January 1994 to December 2022. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (53.3%), malfunction (43.9%) and death (2.6%); across all pump, infusion, insulin, to be used with invasive glucose sensor reports (product code OYC) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 85.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device displays incorrect message (30.3%), insufficient device problem information (15%) and device operates differently than expected (9.6%). The patient problems coded most often are hyperglycemia, hypoglycemia and elevated ketones/ diabetic ketoacidosis. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

035Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 52023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01,0422,0841994: 319941995: 319952011: 3020112012: 1320122013: 20120132014: 1,06420142015: 2,08420152016: 1,53420162017: 15720172022: 72022

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2.6%130
Injury53.3%2,718
Malfunction43.9%2,239
Other0%0
Not given0.2%9

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.9%5,089
Voluntary report0.1%4
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0.1%3
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 891,173 reports carrying product code OYC. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device displays incorrect message1,54630.3%24%
Insufficient device problem information76615%2.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly4879.6%4.5%
Failure to deliverthe device did not deliver the dose or item2975.8%1.4%
Bent2935.7%0.8%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used2094.1%2.7%
No display/image1553%5%
Air leak1523%0.3%
Breakthe device broke1162.3%10.1%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method1102.2%0.7%
Device alarm system881.7%2.4%
Leak/splashthe device leaked581.1%0.3%
Crackthe device cracked551.1%2.2%
High test results541.1%0.3%
Incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings511%0.1%
Battery problema problem with the battery501%3.1%
Inaccurate delivery460.9%0.3%
Incorrect or inadequate test results440.9%0.1%
Loss of powerthe device lost power440.9%0.4%
Sticking440.9%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hyperglycemiahigh blood sugar2,38046.7%
Hypoglycemialow blood sugar75114.7%
Elevated ketones/ diabetic ketoacidosis3817.5%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1432.8%
Vomitingbeing sick1222.4%
Loss of consciousnesspassing out911.8%
Nauseafeeling sick521%
Underdoseless than the intended dose501%
Complaint, ill-defined460.9%
Overdosea dose above the recommended amount420.8%
Coma310.6%
Dehydrationdehydration290.6%
Seizures270.5%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding240.5%
Painpain, site not specified200.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureInsulin Infusion PumpProduct code OYCAll MAUDE reports
Reports5,096891,17326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports2639
Classified as injury53.3%14.2%36.2%
Classified as malfunction43.9%85.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.9%100%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code OYC

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Paradigm Real-Time Revel Insulin Infusion Pump178,69100.6%
Paradigm Real-Time Insulin Infusion Pump126,28200.3%
640G Insulin Pump MMT-1712K119,5471,5980.1%
640G Insulin Pump MMT-1711K76,6091510.1%
Animas Vibe88,70300%
T Slim G5 System49,78300%
t:slim G4 system39,215200%
Pump Mmt-1712kl 640g V4 10 Bk Sf Mg21,5319520%
640g Insulin Pump16,91100%
Paradigm REAL-Time REVEL Insulin Infusion Pump MMT-723LNAS12,936410.8%
t:slim X2 Insulin Pump31,159860%
Pump Mmt-1711kl 640g V4 10 Bk Sf Mm11,1571680%
Paradigm REAL-Time Insulin Infusion Pump MMT-754WWS10,4656610%
Paradigm Real-Time Revel Insulin Infusion Pump Mmt-723nas8,540490.8%
640g Insulin Pump Mmt-1712b5,62910%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Insulin Infusion Pump reports

How many FDA reports name Insulin Infusion Pump?

5,096 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (53.3%), malfunction (43.9%) and death (2.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device displays incorrect message (30.3%), insufficient device problem information (15%), device operates differently than expected (9.6%), failure to deliver (5.8%) and bent (5.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.9%), voluntary reports (0.1%) and distributor reports (0.1%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Insulin Infusion Pump was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.