Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Pancrelipase

Creon: adverse event reports filed with FDA

18,749 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Creon 25000, Creon 24, Creon 24 000.

18,749
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 837 a year
4,397
reports, 12 months to June 2026
3,879 in the 12 months before
73.3%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
12.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,391 reports · not verified by FDA

18,749 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Creon (pancrelipase) as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2004 to June 2026. A further 16,812 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 4,397 reports listed it, up 13% from 3,879 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 837 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded diarrhoea (12.6%), death (7.9%) and weight decreased (5.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,542 different terms appear across these reports. Diarrhoea is recorded in 12.6% of these reports, against 3.1% of all reports in the database.

73.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 12.8% record death among the outcomes and 26.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 83.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (15.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0237474Jul 2021: 51Aug 2021: 58Sep 2021: 79Oct 2021: 73Nov 2021: 65Dec 2021: 582022Jan 2022: 48Feb 2022: 51Mar 2022: 73Apr 2022: 65May 2022: 256Jun 2022: 63Jul 2022: 79Aug 2022: 51Sep 2022: 161Oct 2022: 253Nov 2022: 219Dec 2022: 1932023Jan 2023: 162Feb 2023: 127Mar 2023: 109Apr 2023: 105May 2023: 127Jun 2023: 92Jul 2023: 85Aug 2023: 102Sep 2023: 131Oct 2023: 168Nov 2023: 98Dec 2023: 1602024Jan 2024: 151Feb 2024: 123Mar 2024: 103Apr 2024: 130May 2024: 148Jun 2024: 134Jul 2024: 279Aug 2024: 333Sep 2024: 257Oct 2024: 346Nov 2024: 288Dec 2024: 2982025Jan 2025: 321Feb 2025: 300Mar 2025: 391Apr 2025: 394May 2025: 354Jun 2025: 318Jul 2025: 372Aug 2025: 316Sep 2025: 271Oct 2025: 397Nov 2025: 420Dec 2025: 3162026Jan 2026: 377Feb 2026: 474Mar 2026: 433Apr 2026: 388May 2026: 325Jun 2026: 308

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,0854,1702004: 2920042005: 192006: 102007: 1420072008: 152009: 402010: 4620102011: 982012: 1432013: 28220132014: 4142015: 4262016: 54920162017: 5802018: 8082019: 1,05520192020: 1,0912021: 1,0872022: 1,51220222023: 1,4662024: 2,5902025: 4,17020252026: 2,305

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Creon reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools12.6%2,367
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.9%1,477
  3. Weight decreasedweight loss5.9%1,113
  4. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain4.5%852
  5. Nauseafeeling sick4.5%840
  6. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain4.3%808
  7. Painpain, site not specified4%750
  8. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.8%718
  9. Flatulencewind3.8%713
  10. Abdominal distensiona bloated abdomen3.7%688
  11. Vomitingbeing sick3.5%653
  12. Constipationconstipation3.3%626
  13. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3%564
  14. Pancreatic failure3%562
  15. Fatiguetiredness2.8%529
  16. Falla fall2.8%523
  17. Pancreatitisinflammation of the pancreas2.6%485
  18. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.6%483
  19. Dyspepsiaindigestion2.4%459
  20. Surgeryan operation2.4%452
  21. Chemotherapy2.3%430
  22. Neoplasm malignanta cancer, type not specified2.3%424
  23. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.1%387
  24. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2%371
  25. Pancreaticoduodenectomy1.9%347
  26. Illness1.7%321
  27. Diabetes mellitusdiabetes1.7%315
  28. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort1.7%314

Top 30 of 1,542 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death12.8%2,391
Life-threatening0.7%124
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)26.4%4,951
Disability0.6%112
Congenital anomaly0.3%59
Other serious46.5%8,721
Not serious26.7%4,997

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.4%78
2 to 110.8%156
12 to 170.5%92
18 to 444.2%790
45 to 6414%2,629
65 to 7415.4%2,893
75 and over13.3%2,489
Age not given51.3%9,622

Patient sex

Female55.3%10,360
Male38.3%7,187
Not given6.4%1,202

Who reported

Physician5.7%1,076
Pharmacist1.8%344
Other health professional8.3%1,551
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional83.6%15,671
Not given0.6%107

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 93.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pancreatic failure4,04721.6%
Pancreatic carcinoma7323.9%
Cystic fibrosis5302.8%
Pancreatitis chronic3982.1%
Pancreatic insufficiency3962.1%
Pancreatitis3872.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 18,749 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Creon reports
Omeprazole5212.8%
Aspirin4392.3%
Pantoprazole3722%
Levothyroxine3551.9%
Atorvastatin3511.9%
Lisinopril3251.7%
Metformin3191.7%
Gabapentin3131.7%
Metoprolol3091.6%
Ergocalciferol3041.6%

Other products listed in reports where Creon is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureCreonAll reports
Reports as suspect product18,74920,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months4,3971,332,454
Marked serious73.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports12891
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports264213
Consumer-filed share83.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDiarrhoea 12.6%3.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Creon reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Creon?

18,749 reports list Creon as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 4,397 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 16,812 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Creon reports?

diarrhoea (12.6%), death (7.9%), weight decreased (5.9%), pancreatic carcinoma (5.7%) and abdominal pain (4.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Creon was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

73.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 12.8% of reports include death and 26.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (83.6%), other health professional (8.3%) and physician (5.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Creon rising?

4,397 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 13% from 3,879 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Creon was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Creon?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Creon as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (16,812) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.