Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Generic name

Erlotinib: adverse event reports filed with FDA

13,630 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor. Also reported as Erlotinib Tablet 150mg, Erlotinib Tablet, Erlotinib Tablet 100mg.

13,630
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 615 a year
99
reports, 12 months to June 2026
254 in the 12 months before
97.9%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
49.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
6,759 reports · not verified by FDA

Between May 2004 and June 2026, 13,630 adverse event reports received by FDA list erlotinib, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (463) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 99 reports listed it, down 61% from 254 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 615 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1.6% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (31.4%), rash (10.7%) and diarrhoea (10.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,290 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 31.4% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

97.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 49.6% record death among the outcomes and 31% record hospitalisation, as reported. 50.9% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (22.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02856Jul 2021: 20Aug 2021: 21Sep 2021: 35Oct 2021: 37Nov 2021: 37Dec 2021: 272022Jan 2022: 32Feb 2022: 20Mar 2022: 21Apr 2022: 21May 2022: 26Jun 2022: 28Jul 2022: 26Aug 2022: 56Sep 2022: 28Oct 2022: 34Nov 2022: 41Dec 2022: 352023Jan 2023: 25Feb 2023: 32Mar 2023: 15Apr 2023: 23May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 25Jul 2023: 14Aug 2023: 28Sep 2023: 19Oct 2023: 12Nov 2023: 17Dec 2023: 102024Jan 2024: 15Feb 2024: 10Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 21May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 23Jul 2024: 55Aug 2024: 31Sep 2024: 34Oct 2024: 27Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 92025Jan 2025: 10Feb 2025: 26Mar 2025: 11Apr 2025: 17May 2025: 19Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 11Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 9Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 19Apr 2026: 14May 2026: 10Jun 2026: 8

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,1092,2172004: 820042005: 622006: 1492007: 30620072008: 4642009: 4992010: 30720102011: 1822012: 1,1622013: 2,21720132014: 1,7132015: 2,1122016: 79120162017: 7022018: 6762019: 44920192020: 3822021: 4182022: 36820222023: 2302024: 2452025: 12620252026: 62

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Erlotinib reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term31.4%4,286
  2. Rashskin rash10.7%1,465
  3. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools10.2%1,396
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6.8%928
  5. Fatiguetiredness5.4%736
  6. Nauseafeeling sick5.3%724
  7. Vomitingbeing sick4.3%586
  8. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.1%562
  9. Disease progressionthe disease advanced4%542
  10. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.8%515
  11. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3.8%513
  12. Anaemialow red blood cells3.6%487
  13. Pneumonialung infection3.3%453
  14. Dehydrationdehydration3%404
  15. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.8%387
  16. Pyrexiafever2.6%361
  17. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.6%349
  18. Painpain, site not specified2.5%346
  19. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung2.3%317
  20. Weight decreasedweight loss2.2%298
  21. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.1%291
  22. Incorrect dose administeredthe wrong dose was given2.1%287
  23. Coughcough2.1%281
  24. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell2%266
  25. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung2%266
  26. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.9%261
  27. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen1.9%257

Top 30 of 1,290 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death49.6%6,759
Life-threatening2.4%329
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31%4,227
Disability0.8%106
Congenital anomaly0%2
Other serious44.3%6,037
Not serious2.1%293

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%3
2 to 110.2%25
12 to 170.1%16
18 to 443%405
45 to 6422.5%3,073
65 to 7418.9%2,575
75 and over14.5%1,979
Age not given40.7%5,554

Patient sex

Female42.3%5,767
Male44.2%6,026
Not given13.5%1,837

Who reported

Physician22.2%3,027
Pharmacist2.7%365
Other health professional21.6%2,938
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional50.9%6,941
Not given2.6%359

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 53.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Non-small cell lung cancer3,77127.7%
Lung neoplasm malignant1,80113.2%
Pancreatic carcinoma8816.5%
Lung adenocarcinoma6654.9%
Malignant respiratory tract neoplasm5444%
Lung carcinoma cell type unspecified stage 02872.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 13,630 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Erlotinib reports
Bevacizumab1,3309.8%
Carboplatin8416.2%
Gemcitabine7305.4%
Avastin6464.7%
Pemetrexed4493.3%
Paclitaxel4473.3%
Cisplatin4103%
Osimertinib2481.8%
Aspirin2421.8%
Docetaxel2291.7%

Other products listed in reports where Erlotinib is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureErlotinibKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product13,630849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—1.6%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months99—1,332,454
Marked serious97.9%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports49619091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports310264213
Consumer-filed share50.9%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 31.4%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Erlotinib reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Erlotinib?

13,630 reports list Erlotinib as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 99 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 463 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Erlotinib reports?

death (31.4%), rash (10.7%), diarrhoea (10.2%), malignant neoplasm progression (9.4%) and off label use (6.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Erlotinib was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 49.6% of reports include death and 31% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (50.9%), physician (22.2%) and other health professional (21.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Erlotinib rising?

99 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 61% from 254 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Erlotinib was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Erlotinib?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Erlotinib as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (463) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.