Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Risperidone

Risperdal Consta: adverse event reports filed with FDA

13,593 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

13,593
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 604 a year
239
reports, 12 months to June 2026
286 in the 12 months before
50.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
6.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
866 reports · not verified by FDA

13,593 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Risperdal Consta (risperidone) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 421 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 239 reports listed it, down 16% from 286 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 604 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug dose omission (11.9%), gynaecomastia (10.4%) and device leakage (7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 929 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dose omission is recorded in 11.9% of these reports, against 0.8% of all reports in the database.

50.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 6.4% record death among the outcomes and 22% record hospitalisation, as reported. 34.6% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (24.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02754Jul 2021: 42Aug 2021: 26Sep 2021: 25Oct 2021: 32Nov 2021: 18Dec 2021: 322022Jan 2022: 20Feb 2022: 27Mar 2022: 52Apr 2022: 54May 2022: 35Jun 2022: 44Jul 2022: 37Aug 2022: 32Sep 2022: 48Oct 2022: 42Nov 2022: 47Dec 2022: 352023Jan 2023: 47Feb 2023: 24Mar 2023: 46Apr 2023: 40May 2023: 33Jun 2023: 30Jul 2023: 43Aug 2023: 36Sep 2023: 30Oct 2023: 41Nov 2023: 40Dec 2023: 382024Jan 2024: 46Feb 2024: 38Mar 2024: 37Apr 2024: 39May 2024: 27Jun 2024: 38Jul 2024: 34Aug 2024: 24Sep 2024: 23Oct 2024: 20Nov 2024: 14Dec 2024: 222025Jan 2025: 26Feb 2025: 30Mar 2025: 22Apr 2025: 36May 2025: 16Jun 2025: 19Jul 2025: 18Aug 2025: 20Sep 2025: 22Oct 2025: 26Nov 2025: 24Dec 2025: 232026Jan 2026: 24Feb 2026: 27Mar 2026: 23Apr 2026: 14May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 12

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,5483,0952004: 14120042005: 1762006: 3632007: 26820072008: 3092009: 4622010: 48920102011: 4732012: 4562013: 34920132014: 3552015: 3,0952016: 1,45820162017: 1,2552018: 6762019: 65120192020: 5142021: 4322022: 47320222023: 4482024: 3622025: 28220252026: 106

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Risperdal Consta reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed11.9%1,614
  2. Gynaecomastiabreast enlargement in men10.4%1,418
  3. Device leakagethe device leaked7%946
  4. Device malfunctionthe device did not work properly6.5%878
  5. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.8%656
  6. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.7%645
  7. Weight increasedweight gain4.7%638
  8. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed4.5%615
  9. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital4.5%606
  10. Treatment noncompliancethe treatment was not taken as directed3.6%491
  11. Aggressionaggressive behaviour3.4%465
  12. Inappropriate schedule of drug administrationthe medicine was taken at the wrong times3%410
  13. Underdoseless than the intended dose2.9%391
  14. Needle issuea problem with the needle2.8%374
  15. Product quality issuea problem with the product itself2.6%354
  16. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.6%352
  17. Psychotic disordera loss of contact with reality2.5%346
  18. Product dose omissiona dose was missed2.3%317
  19. Schizophreniaschizophrenia2.2%305
  20. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.1%291
  21. Anxietyanxiety2.1%283
  22. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.1%279
  23. Sedationdrowsiness from a medicine1.9%259
  24. Dyskinesiainvoluntary movements1.9%257
  25. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified1.9%255

Top 30 of 929 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death6.4%866
Life-threatening2.2%296
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)22%2,994
Disability1.6%220
Congenital anomaly0.2%27
Other serious28.3%3,848
Not serious49.4%6,709

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%16
2 to 110.2%32
12 to 171%131
18 to 4424.2%3,288
45 to 6415.8%2,148
65 to 743.3%444
75 and over1.5%202
Age not given53.9%7,332

Patient sex

Female30.4%4,132
Male51.6%7,014
Not given18%2,447

Who reported

Physician17.6%2,388
Pharmacist20.2%2,745
Other health professional34.6%4,697
Lawyer1.4%187
Consumer or non-health professional25.8%3,503
Not given0.5%73

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 60.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Schizophrenia3,16823.3%
Bipolar disorder6054.5%
Schizoaffective disorder4943.6%
Psychotic disorder4893.6%
Accidental exposure to product3522.6%
Schizophrenia, paranoid type2561.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 13,593 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Risperdal Consta reports
Risperdal2,68219.7%
Risperidone1,39910.3%
Invega7505.5%
Invega Sustenna6484.8%
Zyprexa4223.1%
Olanzapine3522.6%
Clozapine3332.4%
Abilify3162.3%
Depakote2882.1%
Seroquel2802.1%

Other products listed in reports where Risperdal Consta is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureRisperdal ConstaAll reports
Reports as suspect product13,59320,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months2391,332,454
Marked serious50.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports6491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports220213
Consumer-filed share25.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dose omission 11.9%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Risperdal Consta reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Risperdal Consta?

13,593 reports list Risperdal Consta as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 239 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 421 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Risperdal Consta reports?

drug dose omission (11.9%), gynaecomastia (10.4%), device leakage (7%), device malfunction (6.5%) and drug ineffective (4.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Risperdal Consta was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

50.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 6.4% of reports include death and 22% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (34.6%), consumer or non-health professional (25.8%) and pharmacist (20.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Risperdal Consta rising?

239 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 16% from 286 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Risperdal Consta was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Risperdal Consta?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Risperdal Consta as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (421) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.