Reported Reactions

Devices › Pump, infusion

Device brand name · Reservoir

Reservoir 3ml: medical device reports filed with FDA

16,407 reports name it, 2011–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations. Product code FRN.

16,407
device reports naming the brand
0.1% of all MAUDE reports · about 1,088 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
71.8%
classified as malfunction
98.5% across the product code
0.8%
classified as death, as reported
126 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 16,407 reports that name the brand "Reservoir 3ml" (reservoir), received between June 2011 and December 2022; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (71.8%), injury (27.4%) and death (0.8%); across all pump, infusion reports (product code FRN) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 98.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device displays incorrect message (31.2%), air leak (15.9%) and leak/splash (13.3%). The patient problems coded most often are hyperglycemia, hypoglycemia and elevated ketones/ diabetic ketoacidosis. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

059Sep 2021: 4Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 9Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

02,0254,0502011: 20420112012: 6682013: 1,64020132014: 2,1432015: 3,81120152016: 4,0502017: 1,37220172018: 1,4432019: 55520192020: 3102021: 17820212022: 33

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.8%126
Injury27.4%4,497
Malfunction71.8%11,777
Other0%1
Not given0%6

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%16,407
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 1,831,109 reports carrying product code FRN. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device displays incorrect message5,12331.2%9.3%
Air leak2,60915.9%0.6%
Leak/splashthe device leaked2,17413.3%0.3%
Failure to deliverthe device did not deliver the dose or item1,94211.8%0.8%
Fluid/blood leak1,93511.8%0.6%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked9185.6%0.6%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly5603.4%0.9%
Insufficient flow or under infusion5103.1%0.8%
Insufficient device problem information4572.8%0.8%
Bent3302%0.1%
Excess flow or over-infusion3101.9%1.2%
Failure to prime2531.5%0%
No flow2251.4%0.1%
High test results2141.3%0%
Device alarm system1931.2%2.8%
Improper flow or infusion1771.1%0.5%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used1671%0.3%
Device emits odor1300.8%0%
Physical resistance1290.8%0%
Breakthe device broke1260.8%8.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hyperglycemiahigh blood sugar9,31656.8%
Hypoglycemialow blood sugar1,0976.7%
Elevated ketones/ diabetic ketoacidosis4052.5%
Underdoseless than the intended dose1751.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1420.9%
Vomitingbeing sick1310.8%
Nauseafeeling sick1020.6%
Loss of consciousnesspassing out450.3%
Blood loss440.3%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain390.2%
Painpain, site not specified320.2%
Polydipsia310.2%
Dyspneashortness of breath280.2%
Headachehead pain210.1%
Coma200.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureReservoir 3mlProduct code FRNAll MAUDE reports
Reports16,4071,831,10926,136,888
Share of that pool—0.9%0.1%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports819
Classified as injury27.4%1.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction71.8%98.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FRN

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Alaris Pump Module684,52200%
Alaris System422,50133,6920%
8100 Alaris Pump Module163,62000%
Spectrum Infusion Pump147,363150%
8015 Alaris System Pc Unit54,16200%
Alaris System Pc Unit24,06600%
8110 Alaris Syringe Pump22,43400%
Colleague21,76300%
Reservoir 3ML MMT-332A19,9142,0080.4%
Flogard15,66800%
Colleague Volumetric Infusion Pump13,67800.1%
Colleague Pre P1 713,10300%
CADD-Solis VIP Ambulatory Infusion Pump11,7213,4710.1%
Intermate8,261470%
Reservoir 1 8ml7,95200.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Reservoir 3ml reports

How many FDA reports name Reservoir 3ml?

16,407 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (71.8%), injury (27.4%) and death (0.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device displays incorrect message (31.2%), air leak (15.9%), leak/splash (13.3%), failure to deliver (11.8%) and fluid/blood leak (11.8%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Reservoir 3ml was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.