Reports received by FDA, by month
July 2012: adverse event reports received by FDA
59,659 drug reports (FAERS) and 39,729 device reports (MAUDE).
- 59,659
- drug reports received
- 42,700 a year earlier
- 53,359
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- 11.8% against the average
- 39,729
- device reports received
- 39,088 a year earlier
FDA received 59,659 drug adverse event reports in July 2012, against 42,700 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 53,359 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 39,729 reports that month (39,088 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Seroquel (4,066), Enbrel (2,498) and Tysabri (1,465), and the reactions recorded most often were drug ineffective (2,926), death (2,824) and nausea (2,336).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Latisse (21.7× its average), Telavic (15.3× its average) and Lumigan (15× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to July 2012
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Seroquel | 4,066 | 6.8% |
| Enbrel | 2,498 | 4.2% |
| Tysabri | 1,465 | 2.5% |
| Remicade | 1,265 | 2.1% |
| Aleve | 1,207 | 2% |
| Avonex | 1,039 | 1.7% |
| Nexium | 1,032 | 1.7% |
| Lyrica | 928 | 1.6% |
| Gilenya | 875 | 1.5% |
| Mirena | 873 | 1.5% |
| Humira | 823 | 1.4% |
| Pradaxa | 755 | 1.3% |
| Lipitor | 725 | 1.2% |
| Coumadin | 682 | 1.1% |
| Avandia | 622 | 1% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Latisse | 473 | 21.7× |
| Telavic | 377 | 15.3× |
| Lumigan | 215 | 15× |
| Opcon-A | 124 | 10.3× |
| Mircera | 147 | 6.5× |
| Rebetol | 240 | 6.3× |
| Seroquel | 4,066 | 6.1× |
| CellCept | 151 | 5.5× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 2,926 | 4.9% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 2,824 | 4.7% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 2,336 | 3.9% |
| Drug dose omissiona dose was missed | 2,294 | 3.8% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 2,116 | 3.5% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 2,100 | 3.5% |
| Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell | 2,089 | 3.5% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 2,062 | 3.5% |
| Headachehead pain | 2,050 | 3.4% |
| Insomniadifficulty sleeping | 1,782 | 3% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 1,710 | 2.9% |
| Vomitingbeing sick | 1,682 | 2.8% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 1,585 | 2.7% |
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 1,571 | 2.6% |
| Falla fall | 1,557 | 2.6% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Onetouchping Glucosemgmtsystem | 1,051 | 2.6% |
| Homechoice | 706 | 1.8% |
| Endotak Reliance | 580 | 1.5% |
| Ot Ultralink Meter | 579 | 1.5% |
| Ot Ping Meter | 569 | 1.4% |
| Paradigm Real-Time Insulin Infusion Pump | 553 | 1.4% |
| Architect Ca 19-9xr | 523 | 1.3% |
| Riata Active Fixation | 491 | 1.2% |
| Homechoice Pro | 475 | 1.2% |
| Tension Free Vaginal Tape | 442 | 1.1% |
Questions about July 2012
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in July 2012?
59,659 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 39,729 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 42,700 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Seroquel (4,066), Enbrel (2,498), Tysabri (1,465), Remicade (1,265) and Aleve (1,207).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
drug ineffective (2,926), death (2,824), nausea (2,336), drug dose omission (2,294) and pain (2,116).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.