Reported Reactions

Drugs › Vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor

Brand name · Ranibizumab

Lucentis: adverse event reports filed with FDA

20,417 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2006–2026. Class: Vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor.

20,417
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,021 a year
203
reports, 12 months to June 2026
938 in the 12 months before
82.9%
marked serious by the reporter
87.6% across the class
21%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,286 reports · not verified by FDA

20,417 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Lucentis (ranibizumab) as a suspect or interacting product, from July 2006 to June 2026. A further 781 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 203 reports listed it, down 78% from 938 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,021 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 11.6% of the reports for the vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (16.6%), visual acuity reduced (11.4%) and visual impairment (7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,148 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 16.6% of these reports, a larger share than in the median vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor drug (6.8%).

82.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (87.6% across the class); 21% record death among the outcomes and 15.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 44.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (24.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0321641Jul 2021: 54Aug 2021: 51Sep 2021: 30Oct 2021: 51Nov 2021: 59Dec 2021: 2072022Jan 2022: 44Feb 2022: 63Mar 2022: 36Apr 2022: 41May 2022: 32Jun 2022: 47Jul 2022: 20Aug 2022: 39Sep 2022: 33Oct 2022: 33Nov 2022: 157Dec 2022: 182023Jan 2023: 26Feb 2023: 54Mar 2023: 38Apr 2023: 25May 2023: 24Jun 2023: 40Jul 2023: 32Aug 2023: 27Sep 2023: 17Oct 2023: 30Nov 2023: 113Dec 2023: 292024Jan 2024: 21Feb 2024: 28Mar 2024: 29Apr 2024: 48May 2024: 11Jun 2024: 49Jul 2024: 52Aug 2024: 18Sep 2024: 641Oct 2024: 20Nov 2024: 26Dec 2024: 232025Jan 2025: 30Feb 2025: 38Mar 2025: 37Apr 2025: 18May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 23Jul 2025: 20Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 17Oct 2025: 19Nov 2025: 11Dec 2025: 232026Jan 2026: 19Feb 2026: 13Mar 2026: 16Apr 2026: 15May 2026: 23Jun 2026: 20

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,1472,2932006: 4620062007: 5032008: 2792009: 54220092010: 8962011: 2,2002012: 1,79620122013: 1,6982014: 1,6922015: 88920152016: 9482017: 2,2932018: 1,32520182019: 1,0382020: 1,0882021: 83920212022: 5632023: 4552024: 96620242025: 2552026: 106

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Lucentis reports recording the termmedian drug in vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term16.6%3,385
  2. Visual acuity reducedreduced sharpness of vision11.4%2,334
  3. Visual impairmentreduced vision7%1,423
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6.8%1,380
  5. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.7%956
  6. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported4.5%926
  7. Vision blurredblurred vision4.4%902
  8. Blindnessloss of sight4.4%890
  9. Eye paineye pain4.1%835
  10. Vitreous floatersfloaters in vision2.7%555
  11. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.6%523
  12. Endophthalmitisinfection inside the eye2.5%519
  13. Cataractclouding of the eye lens2.5%504
  14. Myocardial infarctionheart attack2.5%502
  15. Falla fall2%418
  16. Headachehead pain2%416
  17. Ocular hyperaemiaa red eye1.9%391
  18. Age-related macular degeneration1.8%373
  19. Disease progressionthe disease advanced1.7%356
  20. Eye irritationeye irritation1.4%291
  21. Intraocular pressure increasedraised pressure in the eye1.4%281
  22. Painpain, site not specified1.3%274
  23. Macular degenerationa disease of the central retina1.3%266
  24. Choroidal neovascularisation1.3%265

Top 30 of 1,148 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 10 drugs in the vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21%4,286
Life-threatening1.5%303
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)15.5%3,159
Disability2.8%572
Congenital anomaly0%5
Other serious51.6%10,545
Not serious17.1%3,482

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 176,429 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%50
2 to 110%8
12 to 170%9
18 to 441.5%309
45 to 648.9%1,814
65 to 7410.6%2,161
75 and over24.8%5,072
Age not given53.8%10,994

Patient sex

Female49.9%10,192
Male37.1%7,582
Not given12.9%2,643

Who reported

Physician38.7%7,911
Pharmacist1.6%321
Other health professional14.8%3,030
Lawyer0%6
Consumer or non-health professional44.3%9,038
Not given0.5%111

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 44.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Age-related macular degeneration3,01714.8%
Neovascular age-related macular degeneration2,68013.1%
Macular degeneration2,54912.5%
Diabetic retinal oedema1,2846.3%
Retinal vein occlusion9084.4%
Choroidal neovascularisation6453.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 20,417 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Lucentis reports
Avastin1,4527.1%
Eylea8214%
Aspirin7103.5%
Bevacizumab4622.3%
Simvastatin3711.8%
Metformin3481.7%
Lisinopril3461.7%
Amlodipine3211.6%
Furosemide2951.4%
Omeprazole2711.3%

Other products listed in reports where Lucentis is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureLucentisVascular endothelial growth factor inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product20,417176,42920,646,523
Share of that pool—11.6%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months203—1,332,454
Marked serious82.9%87.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21023791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports155269213
Consumer-filed share44.3%24.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 16.6%median 6.8%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the vascular endothelial growth factor inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Avastinbrand60,5102,19887.3%
Bevacizumabgeneric54,6116,04996.4%
Eyleabrand25,82696881.5%
Ranibizumabgeneric4,86211997.4%
Mvasibrand4,50854227.9%
Afliberceptgeneric2,77222797.3%
Zaltrapbrand1,2272293.3%
Eylea Hdbrand1,09141166.8%
Zirabevbrand6055381%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Lucentis reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Lucentis?

20,417 reports list Lucentis as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 203 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 781 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Lucentis reports?

death (16.6%), visual acuity reduced (11.4%), visual impairment (7%), off label use (6.8%) and cerebrovascular accident (4.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Lucentis was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

82.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21% of reports include death and 15.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (44.3%), physician (38.7%) and other health professional (14.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Lucentis rising?

203 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 78% from 938 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Lucentis was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Lucentis?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Lucentis as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (781) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.