Drugs › Parathyroid hormone analog
Brand name · Teriparatide
Forteo: adverse event reports filed with FDA
100,285 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Parathyroid hormone analog.
- 100,285
- reports as suspect product
- 0.5% of all reports · about 4,458 a year
- 479
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 654 in the 12 months before
- 34.6%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 36.5% across the class
- 4.7%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 4,672 reports · not verified by FDA
100,285 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Forteo (teriparatide) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 3,516 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 479 reports listed it, down 27% from 654 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 4,458 reports a year and 0.5% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 94.4% of the reports for the parathyroid hormone analog class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
The reactions recorded most often are nausea (8.1%), arthralgia (7.9%) and pain in extremity (7.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,917 different terms appear across these reports. Nausea is recorded in 8.1% of these reports, about the same share as in the median parathyroid hormone analog drug (7.9%).
34.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (36.5% across the class); 4.7% record death among the outcomes and 20.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 70.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (22.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Forteo reports recording the termmedian drug in parathyroid hormone analog
- Nauseafeeling sick8.1%8,110
- Arthralgiajoint pain7.9%7,968
- Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg7.6%7,649
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness7.4%7,456
- Falla fall7.1%7,141
- Painpain, site not specified6.8%6,862
- Fatiguetiredness6.4%6,389
- Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps5.4%5,448
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.2%5,238
- Back painback pain5.2%5,224
- Astheniaweakness or lack of energy4.9%4,926
- Headachehead pain4.8%4,844
- Injection site erythemaredness where the injection was given4.7%4,686
- Injection site bruisingbruising where the injection was given4.6%4,563
- Injection site painpain where the injection was given4.4%4,457
- Injection site haemorrhagebleeding where the injection was given4.1%4,077
- Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right4%3,976
- Bone painbone pain3.8%3,820
- Drug dose omissiona dose was missed3.1%3,114
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.7%2,681
- Gait disturbancedifficulty walking2.5%2,527
- Myalgiamuscle pain2.3%2,313
- Constipationconstipation2.3%2,309
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.3%2,275
- Contusiona bruise2.2%2,242
- Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.2%2,169
- Vomitingbeing sick2.1%2,085
- Muscular weaknessmuscle weakness2%1,971
- Weight decreasedweight loss1.9%1,952
- Blood calcium increased1.9%1,918
Top 30 of 2,917 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 2 drugs in the parathyroid hormone analog class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 106,260 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 75.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Osteoporosis | 56,044 | 55.9% |
| Senile osteoporosis | 1,466 | 1.5% |
| Bone disorder | 597 | 0.6% |
| Osteoporotic fracture | 527 | 0.5% |
| Osteopenia | 338 | 0.3% |
| Bone density decreased | 299 | 0.3% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 100,285 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Forteo reports |
|---|---|---|
| Calcium | 4,906 | 4.9% |
| Vitamin d | 4,385 | 4.4% |
| Aspirin | 2,563 | 2.6% |
| Synthroid | 1,902 | 1.9% |
| Prednisone | 1,779 | 1.8% |
| Lipitor | 1,169 | 1.2% |
| Nexium | 1,160 | 1.2% |
| Omeprazole | 1,084 | 1.1% |
| Coumadin | 1,020 | 1% |
| Plavix | 913 | 0.9% |
Other products listed in reports where Forteo is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Forteo | Parathyroid hormone analog | All reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 100,285 | 106,260 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 94.4% | 0.5% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 479 | — | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 34.6% | 36.5% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 47 | 47 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 205 | 213 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 70.3% | 70.5% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Nausea 8.1% | median 7.9% | 3.8% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Other drugs in the parathyroid hormone analog class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teriparatide | generic | 5,975 | 1,358 | 68.7% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.
Questions about Forteo reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Forteo?
100,285 reports list Forteo as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 479 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,516 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Forteo reports?
nausea (8.1%), arthralgia (7.9%), pain in extremity (7.6%), dizziness (7.4%) and fall (7.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Forteo was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
34.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 4.7% of reports include death and 20.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
consumer or non-health professional (70.3%), physician (10.2%) and not given (8.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Forteo rising?
479 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 27% from 654 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Forteo was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Forteo?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Forteo as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,516) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.