Reports received by FDA, by month
May 2021: adverse event reports received by FDA
150,094 drug reports (FAERS) and 152,598 device reports (MAUDE).
- 150,094
- drug reports received
- 111,653 a year earlier
- 121,811
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- 23.2% against the average
- 152,598
- device reports received
- 87,448 a year earlier
FDA received 150,094 drug adverse event reports in May 2021, against 111,653 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 121,811 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 152,598 reports that month (87,448 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were OxyContin (26,351), Oxycodone hydrochloride (20,494) and Zantac (12,045), and the reactions recorded most often were drug dependence (27,468), overdose (11,936) and pain (11,575).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Xyzal Allergy 24HR (32.9× its average), Tymlos (24.7× its average) and Oxy Ir (23.6× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to May 2021
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| OxyContin | 26,351 | 17.6% |
| Oxycodone hydrochloride | 20,494 | 13.7% |
| Zantac | 12,045 | 8% |
| Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen | 9,565 | 6.4% |
| Oxycodone and acetaminophen | 7,991 | 5.3% |
| Ranitidine | 7,769 | 5.2% |
| Dilaudid | 7,751 | 5.2% |
| MS Contin | 6,929 | 4.6% |
| Morphine sulfate | 5,551 | 3.7% |
| Revlimid | 4,131 | 2.8% |
| Cimzia | 3,177 | 2.1% |
| Dupixent | 3,055 | 2% |
| Tramadol | 2,980 | 2% |
| Humira | 2,478 | 1.7% |
| Esbriet | 2,297 | 1.5% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Xyzal Allergy 24HR | 857 | 32.9× |
| Tymlos | 1,820 | 24.7× |
| Oxy Ir | 1,412 | 23.6× |
| Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride | 1,289 | 17.2× |
| Hysingla ER | 1,774 | 16.8× |
| Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride Oxycodone Terephthalate | 337 | 15.6× |
| MS Contin | 6,929 | 13.5× |
| Tramadol Cr Tablets | 1,404 | 12.8× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Drug dependencedependence on a medicine | 27,468 | 18.3% |
| Overdosea dose above the recommended amount | 11,936 | 8% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 11,575 | 7.7% |
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 9,073 | 6% |
| Emotional distressemotional distress | 8,469 | 5.6% |
| Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine | 7,428 | 4.9% |
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 6,007 | 4% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 4,880 | 3.3% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 4,250 | 2.8% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 4,126 | 2.7% |
| Product dose omission issuea dose was missed | 3,595 | 2.4% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 3,572 | 2.4% |
| Headachehead pain | 3,411 | 2.3% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 3,112 | 2.1% |
| Arthralgiajoint pain | 3,081 | 2.1% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Dexcom G6 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 20,018 | 13.1% |
| t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Control-IQ Technology | 5,353 | 3.5% |
| Pump MMT-1780KPK 670G Pathway Black MG | 2,386 | 1.6% |
| Alaris System | 2,111 | 1.4% |
| t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Basal-IQ Technology | 1,538 | 1% |
| Alaris Pump Module | 1,446 | 0.9% |
| 640G Insulin Pump MMT-1712K | 1,227 | 0.8% |
| Biohorizons Dental Implant | 1,088 | 0.7% |
| LifeVest WCD 4000 System | 1,043 | 0.7% |
| Essure | 1,039 | 0.7% |
Questions about May 2021
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in May 2021?
150,094 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 152,598 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 111,653 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
OxyContin (26,351), Oxycodone hydrochloride (20,494), Zantac (12,045), Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen (9,565) and Oxycodone and acetaminophen (7,991).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
drug dependence (27,468), overdose (11,936), pain (11,575), drug ineffective (9,073) and emotional distress (8,469).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.