Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Generic name

Oxycodone and acetaminophen: adverse event reports filed with FDA

24,919 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist. Also reported as Oxycodone 5mg/Acetaminophen, Oxycodone/Acetaminophen, Oxycodone / Acetaminophen.

24,919
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,108 a year
112
reports, 12 months to June 2026
260 in the 12 months before
94%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
19.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,943 reports · not verified by FDA

24,919 adverse event reports received by FDA list oxycodone and acetaminophen, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 9,234 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 112 reports listed it, down 57% from 260 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,108 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.6% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug dependence (76.3%), overdose (35%) and pain (16.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,565 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 76.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (5.6%).

94% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 19.8% record death among the outcomes and 11.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 47% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0325650Jul 2021: 103Aug 2021: 650Sep 2021: 144Oct 2021: 26Nov 2021: 36Dec 2021: 1412022Jan 2022: 89Feb 2022: 21Mar 2022: 31Apr 2022: 20May 2022: 64Jun 2022: 22Jul 2022: 8Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 25Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 182023Jan 2023: 34Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 24Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 30Jun 2023: 21Jul 2023: 10Aug 2023: 149Sep 2023: 27Oct 2023: 21Nov 2023: 11Dec 2023: 212024Jan 2024: 32Feb 2024: 28Mar 2024: 21Apr 2024: 19May 2024: 50Jun 2024: 21Jul 2024: 26Aug 2024: 35Sep 2024: 31Oct 2024: 28Nov 2024: 26Dec 2024: 342025Jan 2025: 31Feb 2025: 16Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 15Jul 2025: 9Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 102026Jan 2026: 19Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 11Apr 2026: 15May 2026: 7Jun 2026: 10

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

06,29312,5852004: 5320042005: 402006: 282007: 3320072008: 702009: 582010: 6120102011: 892012: 1392013: 10720132014: 752015: 1822016: 24720162017: 2892018: 4132019: 43220192020: 8,7822021: 12,5852022: 32720222023: 3662024: 3512025: 12420252026: 68

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Oxycodone and acetaminophen reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine76.3%19,010
  2. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount35%8,721
  3. Painpain, site not specified16.4%4,082
  4. Emotional distressemotional distress12.2%3,042
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.5%2,360
  6. Anxietyanxiety8.9%2,227
  7. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine8.8%2,182
  8. Developmental delayslower development in a child8.3%2,077
  9. Depressionlow mood7.6%1,891
  10. Disability7.4%1,842
  11. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine6.5%1,619
  12. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine6%1,488
  13. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.6%1,407
  14. Injurya physical injury4.7%1,166
  15. Fatiguetiredness3.6%896
  16. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.3%826
  17. Confusional stateconfusion3.2%789
  18. Insomniadifficulty sleeping3.1%765
  19. Pruritusitching3%747
  20. Nauseafeeling sick3%744
  21. Dependence2.9%732
  22. Arthralgiajoint pain2.8%704
  23. Headachehead pain2.8%701
  24. Infectionan infection, type not specified2.8%691
  25. Road traffic accidenta road accident2.8%689

Top 30 of 1,565 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death19.8%4,943
Life-threatening2%510
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)11.5%2,856
Disability16.1%4,024
Congenital anomaly2.1%517
Other serious89.5%22,306
Not serious6%1,500

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%11
2 to 110.1%28
12 to 170.3%87
18 to 447%1,747
45 to 646.4%1,604
65 to 741.5%375
75 and over0.8%201
Age not given83.7%20,866

Patient sex

Female42.6%10,626
Male53%13,219
Not given4.3%1,074

Who reported

Physician5.1%1,265
Pharmacist1.6%404
Other health professional4%987
Lawyer41.8%10,428
Consumer or non-health professional47%11,705
Not given0.5%130

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 94.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain2,58210.4%
Back pain3951.6%
Pain management1410.6%
Back injury860.3%
Injury860.3%
Foetal exposure during pregnancy780.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 24,919 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Oxycodone and acetaminophen reports
Oxycodone hydrochloride25,314101.6%
OxyContin16,04364.4%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen14,38857.7%
Dilaudid7,23329%
Morphine sulfate6,04724.3%
MS Contin5,49422%
Tramadol4,74519%
Buprenorphine Transdermal Patch3,72214.9%
Percocet3,11812.5%
Hydromorphone Tablets3,03512.2%

Other products listed in reports where Oxycodone and acetaminophen is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOxycodone and acetaminophenOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product24,919965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—2.6%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months112—1,332,454
Marked serious94%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports19835791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports115126213
Consumer-filed share47%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 76.3%median 5.6%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%
Methadonegeneric24,29390994.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Oxycodone and acetaminophen reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Oxycodone and acetaminophen?

24,919 reports list Oxycodone and acetaminophen as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 112 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 9,234 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Oxycodone and acetaminophen reports?

drug dependence (76.3%), overdose (35%), pain (16.4%), emotional distress (12.2%) and death (9.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Oxycodone and acetaminophen was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 19.8% of reports include death and 11.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (47%), lawyer (41.8%) and physician (5.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Oxycodone and acetaminophen rising?

112 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 57% from 260 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Oxycodone and acetaminophen was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Oxycodone and acetaminophen?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Oxycodone and acetaminophen as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (9,234) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.