Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Generic name

Oxycodone hydrochloride: adverse event reports filed with FDA

113,220 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist. Also reported as Oxycodone Hcl Tablets, Oxycodone Hydrochloride Tablets Usp Tablet, Oxycodone Hcl Extended-Release.

113,220
reports as suspect product
0.6% of all reports · about 5,033 a year
2,598
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,370 in the 12 months before
94.7%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
33.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
37,477 reports · not verified by FDA

113,220 adverse event reports received by FDA list oxycodone hydrochloride, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 18,980 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 2,598 reports listed it, up 10% from 2,370 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 5,033 reports a year and 0.6% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 11.7% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug dependence (55.8%), overdose (29.5%) and pain (21.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,304 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 55.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (5.6%).

94.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 33.1% record death among the outcomes and 10.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 54.1% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (7.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03,8297,657Jul 2021: 220Aug 2021: 922Sep 2021: 481Oct 2021: 140Nov 2021: 713Dec 2021: 6,5112022Jan 2022: 7,657Feb 2022: 566Mar 2022: 1,130Apr 2022: 123May 2022: 601Jun 2022: 881Jul 2022: 149Aug 2022: 101Sep 2022: 122Oct 2022: 1,763Nov 2022: 127Dec 2022: 1372023Jan 2023: 78Feb 2023: 142Mar 2023: 129Apr 2023: 202May 2023: 282Jun 2023: 100Jul 2023: 92Aug 2023: 204Sep 2023: 163Oct 2023: 959Nov 2023: 286Dec 2023: 1442024Jan 2024: 229Feb 2024: 175Mar 2024: 183Apr 2024: 172May 2024: 166Jun 2024: 148Jul 2024: 145Aug 2024: 174Sep 2024: 245Oct 2024: 223Nov 2024: 173Dec 2024: 2082025Jan 2025: 194Feb 2025: 311Mar 2025: 214Apr 2025: 155May 2025: 120Jun 2025: 208Jul 2025: 281Aug 2025: 212Sep 2025: 295Oct 2025: 137Nov 2025: 173Dec 2025: 2042026Jan 2026: 238Feb 2026: 168Mar 2026: 226Apr 2026: 213May 2026: 193Jun 2026: 258

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

018,04736,0932004: 720042005: 62006: 342007: 4820072008: 732009: 862010: 6220102011: 1032012: 2962013: 1,27320132014: 8562015: 8512016: 1,22320162017: 3,3092018: 23,9612019: 2,50220192020: 20,2582021: 36,0932022: 13,35720222023: 2,7812024: 2,2412025: 2,50420252026: 1,296

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Oxycodone hydrochloride reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine55.8%63,208
  2. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount29.5%33,455
  3. Painpain, site not specified21.8%24,730
  4. Emotional distressemotional distress19.4%21,962
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term14.8%16,702
  6. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine13.3%15,071
  7. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances12.7%14,357
  8. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine6.3%7,173
  9. Anxietyanxiety4.8%5,416
  10. Depressionlow mood4.1%4,674
  11. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine3.4%3,887
  12. Disability3.4%3,813
  13. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.1%3,480
  14. Developmental delayslower development in a child2.9%3,339
  15. Injurya physical injury2.7%3,065
  16. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy2.2%2,510
  17. Fatiguetiredness2.1%2,418
  18. Nauseafeeling sick2.1%2,351
  19. Vomitingbeing sick2%2,252
  20. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.9%2,195
  21. Confusional stateconfusion1.9%2,194
  22. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed1.8%2,076
  23. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.8%2,074
  24. Road traffic accidenta road accident1.8%1,999
  25. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health1.8%1,991
  26. Arthralgiajoint pain1.7%1,932

Top 30 of 2,304 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death33.1%37,477
Life-threatening2.5%2,856
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)10.5%11,864
Disability13.5%15,243
Congenital anomaly2.1%2,419
Other serious71.1%80,524
Not serious5.3%6,050

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%231
2 to 110.1%152
12 to 170.4%453
18 to 447.3%8,217
45 to 645.7%6,411
65 to 741.7%1,929
75 and over1.3%1,517
Age not given83.3%94,310

Patient sex

Female32.6%36,930
Male42%47,504
Not given25.4%28,786

Who reported

Physician5.3%5,994
Pharmacist1.7%1,871
Other health professional5.6%6,335
Lawyer54.1%61,284
Consumer or non-health professional33.1%37,492
Not given0.2%244

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 91.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain31,32927.7%
Back pain1,3181.2%
Pain management5760.5%
Analgesic therapy3760.3%
Cancer pain3640.3%
Drug abuse3170.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 113,220 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Oxycodone hydrochloride reports
OxyContin74,42465.7%
Dilaudid43,51238.4%
MS Contin40,49635.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen31,88928.2%
Percocet28,06524.8%
Butrans26,75223.6%
Hydromorphone25,65622.7%
Hysingla ER24,66421.8%
Oxycodone and acetaminophen24,56421.7%

Other products listed in reports where Oxycodone hydrochloride is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOxycodone hydrochlorideOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product113,220965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—11.7%0.6%
Reports, latest 12 months2,598—1,332,454
Marked serious94.7%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports33135791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports105126213
Consumer-filed share33.1%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 55.8%median 5.6%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%
Methadonegeneric24,29390994.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Oxycodone hydrochloride reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Oxycodone hydrochloride?

113,220 reports list Oxycodone hydrochloride as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 2,598 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 18,980 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Oxycodone hydrochloride reports?

drug dependence (55.8%), overdose (29.5%), pain (21.8%), emotional distress (19.4%) and death (14.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Oxycodone hydrochloride was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 33.1% of reports include death and 10.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (54.1%), consumer or non-health professional (33.1%) and other health professional (5.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Oxycodone hydrochloride rising?

2,598 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 10% from 2,370 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Oxycodone hydrochloride was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Oxycodone hydrochloride?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Oxycodone hydrochloride as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (18,980) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.