Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Generic name

Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen: adverse event reports filed with FDA

59,052 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist. Also reported as Hydrocodone Bitartrate/Acetaminophen, Hydrocodone Bitartrate / Acetaminophen, Hydrocodone Bitartrate And Acetaminophen Oral Solution.

59,052
reports as suspect product
0.3% of all reports · about 2,655 a year
170
reports, 12 months to June 2026
204 in the 12 months before
96.2%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
38%
record death among outcomes, as reported
22,414 reports · not verified by FDA

Between April 2004 and June 2026, 59,052 adverse event reports received by FDA list hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (14,713) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 170 reports listed it, down 17% from 204 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 2,655 reports a year and 0.3% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 6.1% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug dependence (59.2%), overdose (30.6%) and pain (18.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,469 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 59.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (5.6%).

96.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 38% record death among the outcomes and 6.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 66.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (3.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01,8843,767Jul 2021: 102Aug 2021: 743Sep 2021: 499Oct 2021: 34Nov 2021: 627Dec 2021: 3,7672022Jan 2022: 2,955Feb 2022: 144Mar 2022: 712Apr 2022: 32May 2022: 24Jun 2022: 1,240Jul 2022: 14Aug 2022: 23Sep 2022: 68Oct 2022: 2,437Nov 2022: 56Dec 2022: 662023Jan 2023: 30Feb 2023: 43Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 29May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 47Jul 2023: 26Aug 2023: 319Sep 2023: 17Oct 2023: 412Nov 2023: 69Dec 2023: 192024Jan 2024: 122Feb 2024: 13Mar 2024: 124Apr 2024: 42May 2024: 32Jun 2024: 39Jul 2024: 27Aug 2024: 29Sep 2024: 25Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 52025Jan 2025: 23Feb 2025: 46Mar 2025: 13Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 8Jun 2025: 13Jul 2025: 21Aug 2025: 11Sep 2025: 32Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 92026Jan 2026: 8Feb 2026: 35Mar 2026: 8Apr 2026: 10May 2026: 8Jun 2026: 15

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09,92519,8492004: 720042005: 262006: 82007: 2720072008: 442009: 2292010: 22820102011: 3492012: 5692013: 3220132014: 362015: 3422016: 50420162017: 2362018: 16,4262019: 56120192020: 10,0312021: 19,8492022: 7,77120222023: 1,0312024: 4682025: 19420252026: 84

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine59.2%34,961
  2. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount30.6%18,068
  3. Painpain, site not specified18.5%10,948
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term18.5%10,912
  5. Emotional distressemotional distress18%10,645
  6. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances13.6%8,016
  7. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine9.3%5,521
  8. Anxietyanxiety6.2%3,643
  9. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine5.8%3,443
  10. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine4.1%2,427
  11. Depressionlow mood4%2,366
  12. Developmental delayslower development in a child4%2,354
  13. Completed suicidedeath by suicide3.3%1,937
  14. Disability3%1,796
  15. Dependence2.2%1,302
  16. Injurya physical injury2.1%1,216
  17. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy1.9%1,114
  18. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed1.6%923
  19. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.2%717
  20. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.1%653
  21. Road traffic accidenta road accident1%607
  22. Constipationconstipation1%593
  23. Amnesiamemory loss1%568
  24. Suicidal ideationthoughts of suicide1%564
  25. Nauseafeeling sick0.9%548

Top 30 of 1,469 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death38%22,414
Life-threatening0.3%191
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)6.4%3,775
Disability10.4%6,113
Congenital anomaly1.1%668
Other serious69.3%40,941
Not serious3.8%2,263

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%29
2 to 110.1%31
12 to 170.2%116
18 to 443.6%2,146
45 to 643.9%2,323
65 to 741.2%700
75 and over0.7%407
Age not given90.3%53,300

Patient sex

Female31.4%18,559
Male39.3%23,187
Not given29.3%17,306

Who reported

Physician3.5%2,072
Pharmacist0.8%443
Other health professional2.2%1,285
Lawyer66.3%39,135
Consumer or non-health professional27%15,972
Not given0.2%145

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 99.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain19,44232.9%
Back pain5470.9%
Pain management2300.4%
Injury1640.3%
Back injury1410.2%
Suicide attempt1100.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 59,052 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen reports
Oxycodone hydrochloride32,57055.2%
OxyContin24,75141.9%
Oxycodone and acetaminophen13,97723.7%
Dilaudid11,62819.7%
Morphine sulfate10,76118.2%
Tramadol10,66218.1%
Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride8,38214.2%
MS Contin8,33414.1%
Hydrocodone bitartrate4,5557.7%
Buprenorphine Transdermal Patch3,4155.8%

Other products listed in reports where Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureHydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophenOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product59,052965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—6.1%0.3%
Reports, latest 12 months170—1,332,454
Marked serious96.2%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports38035791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports64126213
Consumer-filed share27%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 59.2%median 5.6%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%
Methadonegeneric24,29390994.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen?

59,052 reports list Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 170 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 14,713 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen reports?

drug dependence (59.2%), overdose (30.6%), pain (18.5%), death (18.5%) and emotional distress (18%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

96.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 38% of reports include death and 6.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (66.3%), consumer or non-health professional (27%) and physician (3.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen rising?

170 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 17% from 204 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (14,713) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.