Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Brand name · Oxycodone hydrochloride

OxyContin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

146,263 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist. Also reported as Oxycontin Tablets Cr Tablet, Oxycontin Tablets.

146,263
reports as suspect product
0.7% of all reports · about 6,502 a year
584
reports, 12 months to June 2026
636 in the 12 months before
94.6%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
25.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
37,398 reports · not verified by FDA

146,263 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name OxyContin (oxycodone hydrochloride) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 28,876 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 584 reports listed it, close to the 636 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 6,502 reports a year and 0.7% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 15.2% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug dependence (63.9%), pain (32.7%) and overdose (31%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,533 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 63.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (5.6%).

94.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 25.6% record death among the outcomes and 7.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 57.5% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (4.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

010,87621,751Jul 2021: 244Aug 2021: 713Sep 2021: 224Oct 2021: 103Nov 2021: 148Dec 2021: 12,6822022Jan 2022: 21,751Feb 2022: 1,931Mar 2022: 1,401Apr 2022: 94May 2022: 822Jun 2022: 853Jul 2022: 86Aug 2022: 68Sep 2022: 31Oct 2022: 348Nov 2022: 29Dec 2022: 1212023Jan 2023: 21Feb 2023: 22Mar 2023: 18Apr 2023: 76May 2023: 12Jun 2023: 40Jul 2023: 31Aug 2023: 186Sep 2023: 19Oct 2023: 227Nov 2023: 356Dec 2023: 2132024Jan 2024: 86Feb 2024: 31Mar 2024: 52Apr 2024: 94May 2024: 34Jun 2024: 32Jul 2024: 45Aug 2024: 55Sep 2024: 53Oct 2024: 41Nov 2024: 25Dec 2024: 382025Jan 2025: 66Feb 2025: 55Mar 2025: 52Apr 2025: 59May 2025: 58Jun 2025: 89Jul 2025: 77Aug 2025: 58Sep 2025: 70Oct 2025: 49Nov 2025: 46Dec 2025: 512026Jan 2026: 33Feb 2026: 29Mar 2026: 34Apr 2026: 40May 2026: 57Jun 2026: 40

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

023,98847,9752004: 2,03720042005: 2,1722006: 6922007: 1,65320072008: 6422009: 5062010: 1,13520102011: 9362012: 8422013: 5,03020132014: 1,7932015: 1,4592016: 1,41720162017: 2,9732018: 22,7042019: 1,29320192020: 20,6992021: 47,9752022: 27,53520222023: 1,2212024: 5862025: 73020252026: 233

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of OxyContin reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine63.9%93,483
  2. Painpain, site not specified32.7%47,762
  3. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount31%45,368
  4. Emotional distressemotional distress30.7%44,930
  5. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine24%35,134
  6. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term14.2%20,721
  7. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances7.4%10,823
  8. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine4.8%7,012
  9. Depressionlow mood3.9%5,724
  10. Anxietyanxiety3.8%5,553
  11. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.4%3,453
  12. Disability2%2,860
  13. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed1.9%2,806
  14. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.8%2,626
  15. Nauseafeeling sick1.8%2,568
  16. Developmental delayslower development in a child1.7%2,513
  17. Vomitingbeing sick1.4%2,086
  18. Dependence1.4%2,060
  19. Constipationconstipation1.4%1,993
  20. Injurya physical injury1.3%1,895
  21. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.2%1,804
  22. Suicidal ideationthoughts of suicide1.2%1,799
  23. Drug abuser1.2%1,715
  24. Somnolencedrowsiness1.1%1,675
  25. Road traffic accidenta road accident1.1%1,627

Top 30 of 2,533 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death25.6%37,398
Life-threatening0.6%936
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)7.6%11,180
Disability14.7%21,494
Congenital anomaly1%1,507
Other serious76.8%112,390
Not serious5.4%7,862

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%200
2 to 110.1%119
12 to 170.4%636
18 to 444.2%6,212
45 to 643.9%5,662
65 to 741%1,508
75 and over1%1,448
Age not given89.2%130,478

Patient sex

Female32.3%47,282
Male48.9%71,462
Not given18.8%27,519

Who reported

Physician4.1%6,009
Pharmacist0.6%929
Other health professional2.3%3,349
Lawyer57.5%84,153
Consumer or non-health professional34.2%50,039
Not given1.2%1,784

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 94% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain34,37823.5%
Back pain2,3681.6%
Drug abuse9360.6%
Cancer pain7560.5%
Pain management5690.4%
Back injury4470.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 146,263 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of OxyContin reports
Oxycodone hydrochloride74,76751.1%
Dilaudid50,39434.5%
MS Contin46,65331.9%
Percocet30,56820.9%
Butrans29,59120.2%
Hysingla ER26,97518.4%
Hydromorphone25,73617.6%
Opana24,91417%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen24,25416.6%
Opana Er23,31315.9%

Other products listed in reports where OxyContin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOxyContinOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product146,263965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—15.2%0.7%
Reports, latest 12 months584—1,332,454
Marked serious94.6%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports25635791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports76126213
Consumer-filed share34.2%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 63.9%median 5.6%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%
Methadonegeneric24,29390994.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about OxyContin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for OxyContin?

146,263 reports list OxyContin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 584 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 28,876 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in OxyContin reports?

drug dependence (63.9%), pain (32.7%), overdose (31%), emotional distress (30.7%) and drug withdrawal syndrome (24%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that OxyContin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 25.6% of reports include death and 7.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (57.5%), consumer or non-health professional (34.2%) and physician (4.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for OxyContin rising?

584 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 636 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that OxyContin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of OxyContin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists OxyContin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (28,876) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.