Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Actiq: adverse event reports filed with FDA

24,713 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

24,713
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,099 a year
12
reports, 12 months to June 2026
14 in the 12 months before
97.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
79.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
19,628 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and April 2026, 24,713 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Actiq" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (523) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 12 reports listed it, down 14% from 14 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,099 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (46.2%), toxicity to various agents (36.8%) and overdose (22.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 382 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 46.2% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

97.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 79.4% record death among the outcomes and 10.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 79.6% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (1.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

048Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 82022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

010,28620,5712004: 4720042005: 882006: 792007: 15120072008: 1322009: 1312010: 8420102011: 802012: 2162013: 20420132014: 1942015: 662016: 6420162017: 1,7212018: 20,5712019: 5420192020: 6842021: 882022: 1320222023: 112024: 122025: 2020252026: 3

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Actiq reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term46.2%11,423
  2. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances36.8%9,093
  3. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount22.3%5,513
  4. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine7%1,735
  5. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine6.1%1,500
  6. Accidental overdosean accidental overdose2.6%631
  7. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine1.5%370
  8. Painpain, site not specified1.4%352
  9. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy1.4%336
  10. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended1.3%321
  11. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label0.7%183
  12. Tremorshaking0.6%159
  13. Cryingcrying0.6%137
  14. Accidental drug intake by child0.5%131
  15. Poor feeding infant0.5%128
  16. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine0.5%127
  17. Opisthotonus0.5%127
  18. Hepatitis Chepatitis C infection0.5%126
  19. Live birth0.5%126
  20. Developmental delayslower development in a child0.5%123
  21. Drug prescribing errora prescribing mistake0.5%115
  22. Somnolencedrowsiness0.5%112
  23. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected0.4%104
  24. Vomitingbeing sick0.3%85
  25. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy0.3%80
  26. Nauseafeeling sick0.3%80

Top 30 of 382 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death79.4%19,628
Life-threatening0.2%43
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)10.6%2,615
Disability0.2%57
Congenital anomaly3.6%893
Other serious21%5,189
Not serious2.4%582

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.7%175
2 to 110.4%101
12 to 170%9
18 to 440.9%226
45 to 641.3%311
65 to 740.3%79
75 and over0.2%43
Age not given96.2%23,769

Patient sex

Female5.5%1,364
Male3.3%823
Not given91.2%22,526

Who reported

Physician1.7%415
Pharmacist0.6%154
Other health professional1.5%376
Lawyer79.6%19,670
Consumer or non-health professional16.4%4,046
Not given0.2%52

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 98.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain21,47086.9%
Back pain1160.5%
Breakthrough pain1030.4%
Cancer pain850.3%
Migraine300.1%
Neuralgia140.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 24,713 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Actiq reports
Fentora22,92092.7%
Percocet22,87492.6%
Opana Er22,81692.3%
Opana22,80892.3%
Duragesic22,80692.3%
Percodan22,60091.4%
OxyContin22,57291.3%
Oxycodone hydrochloride22,43090.8%
Dilaudid22,39990.6%
MS Contin22,39890.6%

Other products listed in reports where Actiq is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureActiqAll reports
Reports as suspect product24,71320,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months121,332,454
Marked serious97.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports79491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports106213
Consumer-filed share16.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 46.2%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Actiq reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Actiq?

24,713 reports list Actiq as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 12 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 523 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Actiq reports?

death (46.2%), toxicity to various agents (36.8%), overdose (22.3%), drug dependence (7%) and drug abuse (6.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Actiq was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 79.4% of reports include death and 10.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (79.6%), consumer or non-health professional (16.4%) and physician (1.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Actiq rising?

12 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 14% from 14 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Actiq was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Actiq?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Actiq as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (523) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.