Reports received by FDA, by month
October 2023: adverse event reports received by FDA
115,632 drug reports (FAERS) and 195,382 device reports (MAUDE).
- 115,632
- drug reports received
- 131,961 a year earlier
- 119,835
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- -3.5% against the average
- 195,382
- device reports received
- 183,142 a year earlier
FDA received 115,632 drug adverse event reports in October 2023, against 131,961 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 119,835 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 195,382 reports that month (183,142 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Dupixent (6,087), Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride (5,191) and Percocet (5,010), and the reactions recorded most often were dependence (10,389), off label use (6,574) and drug ineffective (6,529).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Propoxyphene Hydrochloride (59.3× its average), Promethazine hydrochloride and codeine phosphate (47.1× its average) and Oxymorphone hydrochloride (26.6× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to October 2023
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Dupixent | 6,087 | 5.3% |
| Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride | 5,191 | 4.5% |
| Percocet | 5,010 | 4.3% |
| Acetaminophen Hydrocodone Bitartrate | 4,812 | 4.2% |
| Tramadol hydrochloride | 2,237 | 1.9% |
| Repatha | 2,174 | 1.9% |
| Endocet | 2,038 | 1.8% |
| Humira | 1,941 | 1.7% |
| Mounjaro | 1,674 | 1.4% |
| Methotrexate | 1,605 | 1.4% |
| Prednisone | 1,401 | 1.2% |
| Revlimid | 1,387 | 1.2% |
| Morphine sulfate | 1,381 | 1.2% |
| Rituximab | 1,354 | 1.2% |
| Entresto | 1,288 | 1.1% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Propoxyphene Hydrochloride | 598 | 59.3× |
| Promethazine hydrochloride and codeine phosphate | 745 | 47.1× |
| Oxymorphone hydrochloride | 1,222 | 26.6× |
| Butalbital Acetaminophen and Caffeine with Codeine Phosphate | 251 | 19.2× |
| Hydrocodone Bitartrate Ibuprofen | 708 | 18.3× |
| Advil Dual Action with Acetaminophen | 496 | 16.4× |
| Hydrocodone polistirex and chlorpheniramine polistirex | 214 | 14.5× |
| Xelpros | 165 | 14.2× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Dependence | 10,389 | 9% |
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 6,574 | 5.7% |
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 6,529 | 5.6% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 5,828 | 5% |
| Overdosea dose above the recommended amount | 4,429 | 3.8% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 3,836 | 3.3% |
| Withdrawal syndrome | 3,510 | 3% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 3,411 | 2.9% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 3,379 | 2.9% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 3,129 | 2.7% |
| Product dose omission issuea dose was missed | 3,050 | 2.6% |
| Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine | 3,038 | 2.6% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 2,934 | 2.5% |
| Headachehead pain | 2,738 | 2.4% |
| Drug withdrawal syndrome neonatal | 2,674 | 2.3% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Dexcom G6 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 19,735 | 10.1% |
| t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Control-IQ Technology | 14,686 | 7.5% |
| Alaris System | 6,733 | 3.4% |
| Dexcom G7 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 6,135 | 3.1% |
| Omnipod 5 Pod | 2,071 | 1.1% |
| CapSureFix Novus Lead MRI SureScan | 1,901 | 1% |
| MiniMed 770G US System BLE Connect 3.0 mg/dL | 1,847 | 0.9% |
| Libre 2 Sensor FreeStyle | 1,737 | 0.9% |
| LifeVest WCD 4000 System | 1,368 | 0.7% |
| 670G Insulin Pump MMT-1780KL | 1,368 | 0.7% |
Questions about October 2023
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in October 2023?
115,632 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 195,382 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 131,961 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Dupixent (6,087), Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride (5,191), Percocet (5,010), Acetaminophen Hydrocodone Bitartrate (4,812) and Tramadol hydrochloride (2,237).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
dependence (10,389), off label use (6,574), drug ineffective (6,529), death (5,828) and overdose (4,429).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.