Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Generic name

Oxymorphone hydrochloride: adverse event reports filed with FDA

11,544 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist. Also reported as Oxymorphone Hydrochloride Er, Oxymorphone Hcl Er.

11,544
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 515 a year
12
reports, 12 months to June 2026
56 in the 12 months before
98.6%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
49.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
5,732 reports · not verified by FDA

11,544 adverse event reports received by FDA list oxymorphone hydrochloride, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2004 to June 2026. A further 149 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 12 reports listed it, down 79% from 56 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 515 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1.2% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are dependence (42.4%), death (28.7%) and toxicity to various agents (24.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 402 different terms appear across these reports. Dependence is recorded in 42.4% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (0.9%).

98.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 49.7% record death among the outcomes and 6.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 49.6% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (1.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01,3662,731Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 10Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 212022Jan 2022: 25Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 21Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 31Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 460Sep 2023: 33Oct 2023: 1,222Nov 2023: 2,731Dec 2023: 3732024Jan 2024: 9Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 14Apr 2024: 99May 2024: 11Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 29Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 22026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,9115,8222004: 820042005: 302006: 32007: 220072009: 52010: 42011: 1020112012: 312013: 152014: 2420142015: 592016: 282017: 12820172018: 5,8222019: 362020: 4620202021: 1432022: 632023: 4,87020232024: 2012025: 132026: 32026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Oxymorphone hydrochloride reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Dependence42.4%4,898
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term28.7%3,317
  3. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances24.1%2,779
  4. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount19.9%2,295
  5. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine5%581
  6. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine4.9%571
  7. Back painback pain3.7%430
  8. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.8%329
  9. Painpain, site not specified2.5%292
  10. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended1.9%222
  11. Ill-defined disordera condition that was not clearly described1.7%202
  12. Depressionlow mood1.7%192
  13. Developmental delayslower development in a child1.5%174
  14. Anxietyanxiety1.4%162
  15. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing1.1%127
  16. Arthralgiajoint pain1.1%126
  17. Accidental overdosean accidental overdose0.9%101
  18. Asthmaasthma0.8%94
  19. Road traffic accidenta road accident0.8%94
  20. Speech disorder developmental0.8%93
  21. Learning disorder0.8%90
  22. Emotional distressemotional distress0.8%87
  23. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy0.6%74

Top 30 of 402 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death49.7%5,732
Life-threatening0.2%26
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)6.3%727
Disability0.4%46
Congenital anomaly0.3%35
Other serious55.3%6,382
Not serious1.4%161

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%6
2 to 110.1%6
12 to 170%3
18 to 441.3%152
45 to 640.9%104
65 to 740.1%7
75 and over0.2%24
Age not given97.4%11,242

Patient sex

Female15.9%1,833
Male20.9%2,408
Not given63.3%7,303

Who reported

Physician0.9%107
Pharmacist0.6%66
Other health professional0.7%84
Lawyer49.6%5,729
Consumer or non-health professional48.1%5,547
Not given0.1%11

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 99.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain5,89251%
Drug diversion110.1%
Breakthrough pain90.1%
Back pain50%
Drug abuse50%
Injury20%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 11,544 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Oxymorphone hydrochloride reports
Percocet7,93568.7%
Opana7,29363.2%
Opana Er7,25862.9%
Oxycodone hydrochloride6,25354.2%
OxyContin6,22053.9%
Percodan5,90551.2%
Hydromorphone5,81550.4%
MS Contin5,47847.5%
Dilaudid5,33546.2%
Nucynta5,23345.3%

Other products listed in reports where Oxymorphone hydrochloride is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOxymorphone hydrochlorideOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product11,544965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—1.2%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months12—1,332,454
Marked serious98.6%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports49735791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports63126213
Consumer-filed share48.1%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDependence 42.4%median 0.9%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Oxymorphone hydrochloride reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Oxymorphone hydrochloride?

11,544 reports list Oxymorphone hydrochloride as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 12 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 149 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Oxymorphone hydrochloride reports?

dependence (42.4%), death (28.7%), toxicity to various agents (24.1%), overdose (19.9%) and drug dependence (5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Oxymorphone hydrochloride was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 49.7% of reports include death and 6.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (49.6%), consumer or non-health professional (48.1%) and physician (0.9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Oxymorphone hydrochloride rising?

12 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 79% from 56 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Oxymorphone hydrochloride was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Oxymorphone hydrochloride?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Oxymorphone hydrochloride as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (149) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.