Reported Reactions

Months

Reports received by FDA, by month

September 2023: adverse event reports received by FDA

120,407 drug reports (FAERS) and 180,176 device reports (MAUDE).

120,407
drug reports received
119,502 a year earlier
119,760
monthly average, preceding 12 months
0.5% against the average
180,176
device reports received
189,560 a year earlier

FDA received 120,407 drug adverse event reports in September 2023, against 119,502 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 119,760 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 180,176 reports that month (189,560 a year earlier).

The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Acetaminophen Hydrocodone Bitartrate (15,424), Dupixent (5,563) and Percocet (2,401), and the reactions recorded most often were dependence (17,947), drug ineffective (7,334) and off label use (6,709).

Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Acetaminophen Hydrocodone Bitartrate (46.8× its average), Qsymia (21× its average) and Ferric carboxymaltose (14.5× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.

Drug reports by month, three years to September 2023

081,581163,162Oct 2020: 116,289Nov 2020: 112,313Dec 2020: 126,8962021Jan 2021: 122,144Feb 2021: 137,132Mar 2021: 128,559Apr 2021: 121,578May 2021: 150,094Jun 2021: 125,114Jul 2021: 163,162Aug 2021: 126,960Sep 2021: 131,873Oct 2021: 109,560Nov 2021: 115,526Dec 2021: 134,4462022Jan 2022: 138,347Feb 2022: 120,669Mar 2022: 130,729Apr 2022: 109,709May 2022: 125,594Jun 2022: 130,676Jul 2022: 122,996Aug 2022: 123,821Sep 2022: 119,502Oct 2022: 131,961Nov 2022: 132,348Dec 2022: 137,3122023Jan 2023: 129,228Feb 2023: 112,516Mar 2023: 114,921Apr 2023: 104,713May 2023: 120,862Jun 2023: 110,059Jul 2023: 105,024Aug 2023: 118,671Sep 2023: 120,407

Drugs listed most often as suspect products

DrugReportsShare of the month
Acetaminophen Hydrocodone Bitartrate15,42412.8%
Dupixent5,5634.6%
Percocet2,4012%
Repatha2,1381.8%
Oxervate2,0611.7%
Humira1,8481.5%
Methotrexate1,8451.5%
Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride1,6591.4%
Mounjaro1,6381.4%
Cosentyx1,5911.3%
Entresto1,3871.2%
Revlimid1,3101.1%
Paxlovid1,3031.1%
Prednisone1,2521%
Rituximab1,1441%

FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Largest rises against their own average

DrugReports this monthTimes its 12-month average
Acetaminophen Hydrocodone Bitartrate15,42446.8×
Qsymia68021×
Ferric carboxymaltose16214.5×
Oxervate2,06112.4×
Mucinex17512.1×
Xyzal Allergy 24HR11110.7×
Elahere10610.3×
Mucinex Maximum Strength1388.3×

Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.

Reactions recorded most often

MedDRA termReportsShare of the month
Dependence17,94714.9%
Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7,3346.1%
Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6,7095.6%
Overdosea dose above the recommended amount5,7764.8%
Ill-defined disordera condition that was not clearly described5,6544.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5,3784.5%
Fatiguetiredness4,3473.6%
Nauseafeeling sick3,5583%
Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3,3982.8%
Product dose omission issuea dose was missed3,3502.8%
Headachehead pain2,8702.4%
Dyspnoeashortness of breath2,6812.2%
Covid-19COVID-19 infection2,5652.1%
Painpain, site not specified2,5342.1%
Arthralgiajoint pain2,3461.9%

Devices named most often

BrandReportsShare of device reports
Dexcom G6 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System18,20710.1%
t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Control-IQ Technology13,1827.3%
Alaris System12,1856.8%
Dexcom G7 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System5,0052.8%
Omnipod 5 Pod2,3951.3%
Libre 2 Sensor FreeStyle2,0661.1%
Hamilton Medical Ag1,9001.1%
MiniMed 770G US System BLE Connect 3.0 mg/dL1,6790.9%
CapSureFix Novus Lead MRI SureScan1,6630.9%
Biohorizons Dental Implant1,3890.8%

Questions about September 2023

How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in September 2023?

120,407 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 180,176 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 119,502 drug reports.

Which drugs were listed most often?

Acetaminophen Hydrocodone Bitartrate (15,424), Dupixent (5,563), Percocet (2,401), Repatha (2,138) and Oxervate (2,061).

Which reactions were recorded most often?

dependence (17,947), drug ineffective (7,334), off label use (6,709), overdose (5,776) and ill-defined disorder (5,654).

Can the count for a month still change?

Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.

Does a busy month mean something happened that month?

Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.