Reports received by FDA, by month
September 2020: adverse event reports received by FDA
115,803 drug reports (FAERS) and 135,630 device reports (MAUDE).
- 115,803
- drug reports received
- 108,798 a year earlier
- 119,500
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- -3.1% against the average
- 135,630
- device reports received
- 185,025 a year earlier
FDA received 115,803 drug adverse event reports in September 2020, against 108,798 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 119,500 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 135,630 reports that month (185,025 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Zantac (7,656), Humira (3,384) and Methotrexate (2,744), and the reactions recorded most often were drug ineffective (8,052), off label use (5,866) and pain (5,449).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Qsymia (15.9× its average), Oxyir (13.5× its average) and Vascepa (12.7× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to September 2020
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Zantac | 7,656 | 6.6% |
| Humira | 3,384 | 2.9% |
| Methotrexate | 2,744 | 2.4% |
| Rituximab | 2,693 | 2.3% |
| Revlimid | 2,145 | 1.9% |
| Oxycodone hydrochloride | 2,013 | 1.7% |
| Enbrel | 1,982 | 1.7% |
| Xeljanz | 1,963 | 1.7% |
| OxyContin | 1,916 | 1.7% |
| Dupixent | 1,801 | 1.6% |
| Remicade | 1,640 | 1.4% |
| Prednisone | 1,597 | 1.4% |
| Cosentyx | 1,444 | 1.2% |
| Orencia | 1,430 | 1.2% |
| Trulicity | 1,358 | 1.2% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Qsymia | 191 | 15.9× |
| Oxyir | 333 | 13.5× |
| Vascepa | 480 | 12.7× |
| Oxyfast | 218 | 12.5× |
| Mucinex Maximum Strength | 211 | 12.4× |
| Hydromorphone Tablets | 240 | 11.7× |
| Matulane | 301 | 11× |
| Buprenorphine Transdermal Patch | 392 | 10.5× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 8,052 | 7% |
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 5,866 | 5.1% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 5,449 | 4.7% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 5,302 | 4.6% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 4,735 | 4.1% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 4,711 | 4.1% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 4,110 | 3.5% |
| Headachehead pain | 3,684 | 3.2% |
| Product dose omission issuea dose was missed | 3,639 | 3.1% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 3,460 | 3% |
| Anxietyanxiety | 2,834 | 2.4% |
| Vomitingbeing sick | 2,779 | 2.4% |
| Treatment failurethe treatment did not work | 2,755 | 2.4% |
| Arthralgiajoint pain | 2,723 | 2.4% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 2,646 | 2.3% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Dexcom G6 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 18,624 | 13.7% |
| Pump MMT-1780KPK 670G Pathway Black MG | 4,204 | 3.1% |
| t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Interoperable Technology | 2,828 | 2.1% |
| t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Basal-IQ Technology | 2,504 | 1.8% |
| Alaris Pump Module | 2,291 | 1.7% |
| Alaris System Pc Unit | 2,108 | 1.6% |
| 640G Insulin Pump MMT-1712K | 1,595 | 1.2% |
| 8100 Alaris Pump Module | 1,492 | 1.1% |
| Alaris Pc Unit | 1,265 | 0.9% |
| 630G Insulin PUMP MMT-1715K 630G BLACK MG | 1,261 | 0.9% |
Questions about September 2020
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in September 2020?
115,803 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 135,630 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 108,798 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Zantac (7,656), Humira (3,384), Methotrexate (2,744), Rituximab (2,693) and Revlimid (2,145).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
drug ineffective (8,052), off label use (5,866), pain (5,449), death (5,302) and nausea (4,735).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.