Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Oxyfast: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,824 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2007–2021.

2,824
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 149 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
99.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
19.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
554 reports · not verified by FDA

Between August 2007 and September 2021, 2,824 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Oxyfast" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (69) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 149 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug dependence (91.1%), overdose (47.4%) and pain (14.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 462 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 91.1% of these reports, against 0.8% of all reports in the database.

99.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 19.6% record death among the outcomes and 9.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 54.7% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (3.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04998Jul 2021: 11Aug 2021: 98Sep 2021: 20Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

07781,5562007: 420072011: 120112013: 1020132014: 520142017: 120172018: 220182019: 120192020: 1,24420202021: 1,5562021

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Oxyfast reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine91.1%2,572
  2. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount47.4%1,339
  3. Painpain, site not specified14.9%421
  4. Emotional distressemotional distress13.7%388
  5. Developmental delayslower development in a child12.9%365
  6. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine11%311
  7. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine10.9%308
  8. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.7%302
  9. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine8.4%237
  10. Anxietyanxiety7.9%223
  11. Depressionlow mood7.3%207
  12. Disability7.2%202
  13. Congenital anomalya condition present at birth4.6%130
  14. Spina bifida3.8%107
  15. Injurya physical injury3.8%106
  16. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed3.5%98
  17. Road traffic accidenta road accident3.2%89
  18. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances3.1%87
  19. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.8%78
  20. Suicide attempta suicide attempt2.4%68
  21. Suicidal ideationthoughts of suicide2%57
  22. Amnesiamemory loss1.9%55
  23. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health1.9%55
  24. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.9%54

Top 30 of 462 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death19.6%554
Life-threatening0.4%11
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)9.8%277
Disability16.9%476
Congenital anomaly5%140
Other serious98.7%2,786
Not serious0.4%11

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110.1%2
12 to 170.2%7
18 to 443.6%102
45 to 643%86
65 to 740.6%16
75 and over0.2%5
Age not given92.2%2,605

Patient sex

Female37.6%1,063
Male59.1%1,669
Not given3.3%92

Who reported

Physician0.8%24
Pharmacist0%0
Other health professional0.3%8
Lawyer44%1,243
Consumer or non-health professional54.7%1,544
Not given0.2%5

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 98.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain2067.3%
Back pain321.1%
Pain management180.6%
Foetal exposure during pregnancy170.6%
Back injury110.4%
Injury80.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,824 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Oxyfast reports
Oxycodone hydrochloride3,620128.2%
OxyContin2,41485.5%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen1,68459.6%
Oxycodone and acetaminophen1,52954.1%
Dilaudid1,25944.6%
MS Contin1,18942.1%
Oxyir92332.7%
Tramadol83729.6%
Morphine sulfate82529.2%
Hysingla ER67824%

Other products listed in reports where Oxyfast is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOxyfastAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,82420,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious99.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports19691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports98213
Consumer-filed share54.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 91.1%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Oxyfast reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Oxyfast?

2,824 reports list Oxyfast as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 69 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Oxyfast reports?

drug dependence (91.1%), overdose (47.4%), pain (14.9%), learning disability (14.4%) and emotional distress (13.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Oxyfast was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 19.6% of reports include death and 9.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (54.7%), lawyer (44%) and physician (0.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Oxyfast rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Oxyfast was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Oxyfast?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Oxyfast as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (69) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.