Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Generic name

Methadone: adverse event reports filed with FDA

24,293 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist. Also reported as Methadone 10mg, Methadone Tablet 10mg, Methadone Tablet.

24,293
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,092 a year
909
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,085 in the 12 months before
94.7%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
44%
record death among outcomes, as reported
10,691 reports · not verified by FDA

24,293 adverse event reports received by FDA list methadone, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from April 2004 to June 2026. A further 12,248 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 909 reports listed it, down 16% from 1,085 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,092 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.5% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug dependence (20.8%), drug abuse (17.3%) and toxicity to various agents (17.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,673 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 20.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (5.6%).

94.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 44% record death among the outcomes and 21.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 28% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (32.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0346691Jul 2021: 125Aug 2021: 296Sep 2021: 211Oct 2021: 92Nov 2021: 114Dec 2021: 6912022Jan 2022: 670Feb 2022: 116Mar 2022: 169Apr 2022: 56May 2022: 144Jun 2022: 224Jul 2022: 59Aug 2022: 67Sep 2022: 141Oct 2022: 302Nov 2022: 75Dec 2022: 1422023Jan 2023: 119Feb 2023: 129Mar 2023: 93Apr 2023: 100May 2023: 128Jun 2023: 134Jul 2023: 61Aug 2023: 130Sep 2023: 79Oct 2023: 163Nov 2023: 119Dec 2023: 1522024Jan 2024: 138Feb 2024: 86Mar 2024: 74Apr 2024: 134May 2024: 111Jun 2024: 83Jul 2024: 96Aug 2024: 117Sep 2024: 63Oct 2024: 123Nov 2024: 80Dec 2024: 802025Jan 2025: 120Feb 2025: 87Mar 2025: 50Apr 2025: 77May 2025: 109Jun 2025: 83Jul 2025: 59Aug 2025: 66Sep 2025: 94Oct 2025: 61Nov 2025: 67Dec 2025: 1352026Jan 2026: 77Feb 2026: 57Mar 2026: 82Apr 2026: 59May 2026: 64Jun 2026: 88

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,0494,0972004: 4120042005: 1732006: 472007: 2220072008: 252009: 1562010: 35020102011: 2912012: 3152013: 1,16920132014: 1,4842015: 1,4212016: 94720162017: 1,1952018: 1,9992019: 1,34020192020: 3,0292021: 4,0972022: 2,16520222023: 1,4072024: 1,1852025: 1,00820252026: 427

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Methadone reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine20.8%5,056
  2. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine17.3%4,206
  3. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances17.1%4,144
  4. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount12.5%3,025
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.9%2,660
  6. Painpain, site not specified10.5%2,539
  7. Emotional distressemotional distress8.9%2,159
  8. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine8.2%1,998
  9. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine5.6%1,362
  10. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines4.9%1,196
  11. Completed suicidedeath by suicide4.2%1,030
  12. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped3.8%917
  13. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.5%858
  14. Anxietyanxiety3.1%741
  15. Somnolencedrowsiness3%736
  16. Respiratory depressionslow or shallow breathing3%734
  17. Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped3%728
  18. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped2.8%686
  19. Electrocardiogram QT prolongeda QT prolongation on the ECG2.6%622
  20. Developmental delayslower development in a child2.5%616
  21. Coma2.5%597
  22. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended2.4%578
  23. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy2%497
  24. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.9%471
  25. Poisoning1.9%464

Top 30 of 1,673 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death44%10,691
Life-threatening5.4%1,301
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)21.6%5,240
Disability5.9%1,436
Congenital anomaly1.3%318
Other serious54.9%13,349
Not serious5.3%1,288

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.6%398
2 to 111.1%275
12 to 171.2%287
18 to 4432.8%7,956
45 to 6420.5%4,992
65 to 743.4%818
75 and over1%246
Age not given38.4%9,321

Patient sex

Female35.7%8,669
Male51.3%12,472
Not given13%3,152

Who reported

Physician22.8%5,540
Pharmacist11.9%2,903
Other health professional28%6,799
Lawyer14.5%3,520
Consumer or non-health professional20.4%4,957
Not given2.4%574

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 65% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain1,5906.5%
Drug dependence7343%
Cancer pain5592.3%
Drug use disorder4051.7%
Drug withdrawal maintenance therapy2311%
Drug abuse2090.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 24,293 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Methadone reports
Oxycodone hydrochloride4,80319.8%
OxyContin4,49118.5%
Diazepam2,90612%
Fentanyl2,62610.8%
Alprazolam2,3299.6%
Dilaudid2,1678.9%
Morphine sulfate2,1188.7%
Cocaine1,9468%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen1,9117.9%
Oxycodone1,8557.6%

Other products listed in reports where Methadone is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureMethadoneOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product24,293965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—2.5%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months909—1,332,454
Marked serious94.7%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports44035791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports216126213
Consumer-filed share20.4%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 20.8%median 5.6%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Methadone reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Methadone?

24,293 reports list Methadone as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 909 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 12,248 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Methadone reports?

drug dependence (20.8%), drug abuse (17.3%), toxicity to various agents (17.1%), overdose (12.5%) and death (10.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Methadone was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 44% of reports include death and 21.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (28%), physician (22.8%) and consumer or non-health professional (20.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Methadone rising?

909 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 16% from 1,085 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Methadone was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Methadone?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Methadone as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (12,248) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.