Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Generic name

Oxycodone hcl: adverse event reports filed with FDA

4,700 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2015. Class: Opioid agonist.

4,700
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 209 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
92.4%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
54.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,573 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and September 2015, 4,700 adverse event reports received by FDA list oxycodone hcl, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (9,645) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 209 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.5% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are respiratory arrest (13.3%), completed suicide (13.1%) and cardiac arrest (12.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 806 different terms appear across these reports. Respiratory arrest is recorded in 13.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (0.4%).

92.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 54.7% record death among the outcomes and 23.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 40.6% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (32.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

No report listing Oxycodone hcl was received in the five years to June 2026; the latest was received in September 2015.

By year received

04128242004: 47920042005: 5172006: 36720062007: 3062008: 45920082009: 3862010: 53420102011: 5912012: 82420122013: 1462014: 4320142015: 48

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Oxycodone hcl reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped13.3%625
  2. Completed suicidedeath by suicide13.1%617
  3. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped12.7%599
  4. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped7.5%351
  5. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine6.9%324
  6. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.3%297
  7. Multiple drug overdose5.8%273
  8. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances5.2%246
  9. Somnolencedrowsiness5.1%238
  10. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount4.9%231
  11. Vomitingbeing sick4.7%220
  12. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.4%208
  13. Nauseafeeling sick4.2%199
  14. Confusional stateconfusion3.9%185
  15. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines3.4%158
  16. Constipationconstipation3.3%157
  17. Painpain, site not specified3.3%157
  18. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine3.3%155
  19. Accidental overdosean accidental overdose3.1%147
  20. Coma2.8%131
  21. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine2.3%110
  22. Headachehead pain2.3%106
  23. Loss of consciousnesspassing out2.1%100
  24. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.9%89
  25. Falla fall1.8%86

Top 30 of 806 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death54.7%2,573
Life-threatening3%142
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)23.2%1,089
Disability2%93
Congenital anomaly0.1%3
Other serious31.1%1,464
Not serious7.6%357

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21%47
2 to 110.8%39
12 to 171.7%82
18 to 4432.3%1,519
45 to 6428.3%1,332
65 to 745.7%269
75 and over5.4%254
Age not given24.6%1,158

Patient sex

Female38.3%1,802
Male48.3%2,268
Not given13.4%630

Who reported

Physician40.6%1,909
Pharmacist7.8%368
Other health professional22.5%1,059
Lawyer0.3%14
Consumer or non-health professional16.7%785
Not given12%565

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 69.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain61613.1%
Cancer pain1533.3%
Back pain1403%
Drug abuse581.2%
Drug abuser491%
Breakthrough pain410.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 4,700 reports.

In context

MeasureOxycodone hclOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product4,700965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Reports, latest 12 months0—1,332,454
Marked serious92.4%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports54735791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports232126213
Consumer-filed share16.7%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsRespiratory arrest 13.3%median 0.4%0.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Oxycodone hcl reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Oxycodone hcl?

4,700 reports list Oxycodone hcl as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 9,645 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Oxycodone hcl reports?

respiratory arrest (13.3%), completed suicide (13.1%), cardiac arrest (12.7%), cardio-respiratory arrest (7.5%) and drug abuse (6.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Oxycodone hcl was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

92.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 54.7% of reports include death and 23.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (40.6%), other health professional (22.5%) and consumer or non-health professional (16.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Oxycodone hcl rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Oxycodone hcl was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Oxycodone hcl?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Oxycodone hcl as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (9,645) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.