Reported Reactions

Drugs › Opioid agonist

Brand name · Meperidine hydrochloride

Demerol: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,360 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Opioid agonist.

5,360
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 239 a year
285
reports, 12 months to June 2026
314 in the 12 months before
49.4%
marked serious by the reporter
91.7% across the class
5.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
272 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and June 2026, 5,360 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Demerol (meperidine hydrochloride) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (2,667) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 285 reports listed it, close to the 314 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 239 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.6% of the reports for the opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug hypersensitivity (57.7%), drug ineffective (19.8%) and nausea (16.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 631 different terms appear across these reports. Drug hypersensitivity is recorded in 57.7% of these reports, a larger share than in the median opioid agonist drug (0.8%).

49.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.7% across the class); 5.1% record death among the outcomes and 6.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 32.1% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (30.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02856Jul 2021: 24Aug 2021: 19Sep 2021: 22Oct 2021: 15Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 412022Jan 2022: 49Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 28Apr 2022: 23May 2022: 30Jun 2022: 24Jul 2022: 11Aug 2022: 16Sep 2022: 10Oct 2022: 53Nov 2022: 11Dec 2022: 142023Jan 2023: 9Feb 2023: 17Mar 2023: 26Apr 2023: 21May 2023: 24Jun 2023: 26Jul 2023: 31Aug 2023: 24Sep 2023: 31Oct 2023: 54Nov 2023: 13Dec 2023: 232024Jan 2024: 16Feb 2024: 56Mar 2024: 40Apr 2024: 18May 2024: 31Jun 2024: 26Jul 2024: 34Aug 2024: 16Sep 2024: 26Oct 2024: 38Nov 2024: 47Dec 2024: 372025Jan 2025: 34Feb 2025: 29Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 7May 2025: 7Jun 2025: 27Jul 2025: 22Aug 2025: 19Sep 2025: 26Oct 2025: 28Nov 2025: 25Dec 2025: 162026Jan 2026: 24Feb 2026: 23Mar 2026: 20Apr 2026: 29May 2026: 15Jun 2026: 38

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03987962004: 6920042005: 362006: 412007: 4420072008: 402009: 352010: 2720102011: 352012: 932013: 13020132014: 2322015: 2492016: 38820162017: 3522018: 5212019: 79620192020: 5052021: 4032022: 27920222023: 2992024: 3852025: 25220252026: 149

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Demerol reports recording the termmedian drug in opioid agonist

  1. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine57.7%3,091
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected19.8%1,061
  3. Nauseafeeling sick16.1%863
  4. Hyperhidrosisexcessive sweating14.7%787
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label14.1%755
  6. Painpain, site not specified13.8%740
  7. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated13.4%716
  8. Rashskin rash12%643
  9. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure10.2%548
  10. Upper respiratory tract infectiona cold or similar infection9.5%509
  11. Joint swellinga swollen joint9.3%501
  12. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease9.3%500
  13. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount9.3%497
  14. Vomitingbeing sick9.1%490
  15. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion9%483
  16. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction9%480
  17. Psoriasispsoriasis, a skin condition8.5%457
  18. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work8.5%454
  19. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy8.2%442
  20. Pyrexiafever8.2%441
  21. Thrombocytopenialow platelets7.9%424
  22. Sedationdrowsiness from a medicine7.9%422
  23. Nightmarenightmares7.8%420
  24. Headachehead pain7.5%403
  25. Infectionan infection, type not specified7%375
  26. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used6.4%343
  27. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label6.4%342
  28. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes6.4%341

Top 30 of 631 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 42 drugs in the opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death5.1%272
Life-threatening1.2%66
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)6.9%368
Disability4.2%223
Congenital anomaly0.3%14
Other serious45%2,410
Not serious50.6%2,710

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 965,051 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.4%21
12 to 170.2%13
18 to 447.6%408
45 to 6430.1%1,615
65 to 7412.8%685
75 and over8.6%462
Age not given40.2%2,156

Patient sex

Female64.7%3,467
Male19.9%1,065
Not given15.4%828

Who reported

Physician31.6%1,695
Pharmacist2.6%140
Other health professional32.1%1,720
Lawyer3.7%197
Consumer or non-health professional28.7%1,539
Not given1.3%69

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 68.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain2204.1%
Rheumatoid arthritis1683.1%
Migraine300.6%
Back pain170.3%
Chills150.3%
Procedural pain90.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,360 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Demerol reports
Codeine1,47227.5%
Morphine sulfate1,34925.2%
Humira98918.5%
Gabapentin95917.9%
Tylenol84715.8%
Venlafaxine hydrochloride78214.6%
Hydromorphone74914%
Diclofenac sodium70513.2%
Nortriptyline69412.9%
Remicade64912.1%

Other products listed in reports where Demerol is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureDemerolOpioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,360965,05120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Reports, latest 12 months285—1,332,454
Marked serious49.4%91.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports5135791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports69126213
Consumer-filed share28.7%32.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug hypersensitivity 57.7%median 0.8%0.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
OxyContinbrand146,26358494.6%
Oxycodone hydrochloridegeneric113,2202,59894.7%
Dilaudidbrand64,19117395.7%
Morphine sulfategeneric60,0921,57779.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophengeneric59,05217096.2%
Percocetbrand57,79319895.4%
Fentanylgeneric53,6563,29286.2%
MS Continbrand52,1285598.7%
Oxycodonegeneric35,6712,85391.8%
Hysingla ERbrand30,703692.1%
Morphinegeneric28,4211,42190.5%
Nucyntabrand27,57512790.4%
Tramadol hydrochloridegeneric27,4471,95292.4%
Oxycodone and acetaminophengeneric24,91911294%
Norcobrand24,6614293.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Demerol reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Demerol?

5,360 reports list Demerol as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 285 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,667 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Demerol reports?

drug hypersensitivity (57.7%), drug ineffective (19.8%), nausea (16.1%), hyperhidrosis (14.7%) and off label use (14.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Demerol was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

49.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 5.1% of reports include death and 6.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (32.1%), physician (31.6%) and consumer or non-health professional (28.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Demerol rising?

285 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 314 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Demerol was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Demerol?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Demerol as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,667) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.