Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Vicodin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

11,932 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

11,932
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 530 a year
43
reports, 12 months to June 2026
45 in the 12 months before
78.4%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,079 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 11,932 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Vicodin" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (26,241) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 43 reports listed it, close to the 45 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 530 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug dependence (56%), pain (26.8%) and emotional distress (22.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,127 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 56% of these reports, against 0.8% of all reports in the database.

78.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 9% record death among the outcomes and 13.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 45.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (8.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0431862Jul 2021: 10Aug 2021: 112Sep 2021: 63Oct 2021: 26Nov 2021: 134Dec 2021: 8622022Jan 2022: 831Feb 2022: 26Mar 2022: 114Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 173Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 17Sep 2022: 19Oct 2022: 289Nov 2022: 11Dec 2022: 92023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 93Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 97Nov 2023: 69Dec 2023: 412024Jan 2024: 10Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 12May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 6Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 2Jun 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,6123,2232004: 14720042005: 1372006: 972007: 11520072008: 1652009: 2612010: 34120102011: 3272012: 4392013: 51520132014: 4382015: 2822016: 28520162017: 2272018: 2452019: 23820192020: 2,4842021: 3,2232022: 1,50420222023: 3362024: 592025: 5120252026: 15

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Vicodin reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine56%6,678
  2. Painpain, site not specified26.8%3,198
  3. Emotional distressemotional distress22.4%2,678
  4. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount21.9%2,612
  5. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine19%2,273
  6. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine7.5%891
  7. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine6.9%822
  8. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine6.9%819
  9. Anxietyanxiety6.8%806
  10. Depressionlow mood6%714
  11. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy4.9%580
  12. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.1%492
  13. Nauseafeeling sick3.9%471
  14. Developmental delayslower development in a child3.9%469
  15. Vomitingbeing sick3.9%462
  16. Dependence3.4%407
  17. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.1%373
  18. Constipationconstipation2.4%283
  19. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.3%279
  20. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed2.2%257
  21. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2%236
  22. Headachehead pain1.9%232
  23. Tremorshaking1.9%232
  24. Disability1.9%229
  25. Suicidal ideationthoughts of suicide1.9%226
  26. Falla fall1.8%214

Top 30 of 1,127 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death9%1,079
Life-threatening1.1%128
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)13.5%1,609
Disability12.8%1,523
Congenital anomaly0.7%80
Other serious70.9%8,458
Not serious21.6%2,575

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21%117
2 to 110.1%16
12 to 170.4%52
18 to 446.9%825
45 to 648.5%1,015
65 to 743.2%381
75 and over2.3%272
Age not given77.6%9,254

Patient sex

Female48.9%5,832
Male42.7%5,089
Not given8.5%1,011

Who reported

Physician9%1,077
Pharmacist1%123
Other health professional4.7%560
Lawyer37.5%4,470
Consumer or non-health professional45.1%5,381
Not given2.7%321

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 97.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain1,39111.7%
Back pain2532.1%
Arthralgia800.7%
Procedural pain590.5%
Pain management510.4%
Injury460.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 11,932 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Vicodin reports
OxyContin5,29444.4%
Oxycodone hydrochloride4,51437.8%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen3,17926.6%
Percocet3,06425.7%
Dilaudid2,40820.2%
Norco1,94816.3%
Morphine sulfate1,85315.5%
MS Contin1,68914.2%
Tramadol1,34311.3%
Oxycodone and acetaminophen1,31311%

Other products listed in reports where Vicodin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureVicodinAll reports
Reports as suspect product11,93220,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months431,332,454
Marked serious78.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports9091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports135213
Consumer-filed share45.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 56%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Vicodin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Vicodin?

11,932 reports list Vicodin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 43 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 26,241 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Vicodin reports?

drug dependence (56%), pain (26.8%), emotional distress (22.4%), overdose (21.9%) and drug withdrawal syndrome (19%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Vicodin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

78.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 9% of reports include death and 13.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (45.1%), lawyer (37.5%) and physician (9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Vicodin rising?

43 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 45 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Vicodin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Vicodin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Vicodin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (26,241) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.