Reports received by FDA, by month
April 2018: adverse event reports received by FDA
129,672 drug reports (FAERS) and 87,007 device reports (MAUDE).
- 129,672
- drug reports received
- 103,180 a year earlier
- 108,019
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- 20% against the average
- 87,007
- device reports received
- 80,746 a year earlier
FDA received 129,672 drug adverse event reports in April 2018, against 103,180 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 108,019 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 87,007 reports that month (80,746 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Prevacid (9,075), Prolia (8,427) and Nexium (8,308), and the reactions recorded most often were off label use (9,659), death (8,909) and chronic kidney disease (8,493).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Dexilant (144.3× its average), Prevacid 24 HR (140.1× its average) and Prilosec OTC (86.5× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to April 2018
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Prevacid | 9,075 | 7% |
| Prolia | 8,427 | 6.5% |
| Nexium | 8,308 | 6.4% |
| Prilosec | 8,028 | 6.2% |
| Pantoprazole sodium | 7,890 | 6.1% |
| Dexilant | 7,625 | 5.9% |
| Repatha | 6,087 | 4.7% |
| Nexium 24HR | 5,922 | 4.6% |
| Prilosec OTC | 5,017 | 3.9% |
| Prevacid 24 HR | 4,800 | 3.7% |
| Oxycodone hydrochloride | 4,175 | 3.2% |
| OxyContin | 4,132 | 3.2% |
| Enbrel | 3,998 | 3.1% |
| Dilaudid | 3,874 | 3% |
| Percocet | 3,862 | 3% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Dexilant | 7,625 | 144.3× |
| Prevacid 24 HR | 4,800 | 140.1× |
| Prilosec OTC | 5,017 | 86.5× |
| Prevacid | 9,075 | 82.3× |
| Prilosec | 8,028 | 68.9× |
| Nexium 24HR | 5,922 | 66.2× |
| Pantoprazole sodium | 7,890 | 66.2× |
| Proactiv Solution Daily Protection Plus Sunscreen Spf 30 | 1,222 | 47.3× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 9,659 | 7.4% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 8,909 | 6.9% |
| Chronic kidney diseaselong-term kidney disease | 8,493 | 6.5% |
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 7,521 | 5.8% |
| Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function | 5,691 | 4.4% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 4,587 | 3.5% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 4,158 | 3.2% |
| Headachehead pain | 3,749 | 2.9% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 3,748 | 2.9% |
| Renal failurekidney failure | 3,742 | 2.9% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 3,371 | 2.6% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 2,917 | 2.2% |
| Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell | 2,914 | 2.2% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 2,656 | 2% |
| Vomitingbeing sick | 2,405 | 1.9% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Dexcom G5 Mobile Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 11,909 | 13.7% |
| Capsurefix Novus | 2,214 | 2.5% |
| T Slim G5 System | 1,410 | 1.6% |
| Animas Vibe | 1,361 | 1.6% |
| Pump MMT-1780KPK 670G Pathway Black MG | 1,251 | 1.4% |
| LifeVest WCD 4000 System | 762 | 0.9% |
| Dexcom G4 Platinum Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 729 | 0.8% |
| OmniPod Insulin Pump | 727 | 0.8% |
| Sprint Quattro Secure S | 686 | 0.8% |
| Reveal LINQ | 681 | 0.8% |
Questions about April 2018
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in April 2018?
129,672 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 87,007 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 103,180 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Prevacid (9,075), Prolia (8,427), Nexium (8,308), Prilosec (8,028) and Pantoprazole sodium (7,890).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
off label use (9,659), death (8,909), chronic kidney disease (8,493), drug ineffective (7,521) and acute kidney injury (5,691).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.