Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Heroin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

13,103 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

13,103
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 585 a year
410
reports, 12 months to June 2026
365 in the 12 months before
97.4%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
58.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
7,705 reports · not verified by FDA

13,103 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Heroin" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2004 to June 2026. A further 535 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 410 reports listed it, up 12% from 365 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 585 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug abuse (45.1%), drug dependence (27.3%) and overdose (20.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 949 different terms appear across these reports. Drug abuse is recorded in 45.1% of these reports, against 0.4% of all reports in the database.

97.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 58.8% record death among the outcomes and 15.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 31.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (43.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0130260Jul 2021: 47Aug 2021: 50Sep 2021: 63Oct 2021: 16Nov 2021: 50Dec 2021: 2602022Jan 2022: 219Feb 2022: 79Mar 2022: 107Apr 2022: 19May 2022: 40Jun 2022: 70Jul 2022: 39Aug 2022: 25Sep 2022: 41Oct 2022: 125Nov 2022: 22Dec 2022: 842023Jan 2023: 92Feb 2023: 37Mar 2023: 33Apr 2023: 38May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 29Jul 2023: 15Aug 2023: 68Sep 2023: 34Oct 2023: 51Nov 2023: 83Dec 2023: 462024Jan 2024: 62Feb 2024: 43Mar 2024: 69Apr 2024: 34May 2024: 18Jun 2024: 26Jul 2024: 24Aug 2024: 25Sep 2024: 27Oct 2024: 41Nov 2024: 26Dec 2024: 312025Jan 2025: 54Feb 2025: 15Mar 2025: 25Apr 2025: 33May 2025: 39Jun 2025: 25Jul 2025: 20Aug 2025: 42Sep 2025: 23Oct 2025: 36Nov 2025: 48Dec 2025: 592026Jan 2026: 29Feb 2026: 28Mar 2026: 43Apr 2026: 23May 2026: 30Jun 2026: 29

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,0672,1332004: 4620042005: 952006: 552007: 6720072008: 742009: 742010: 11520102011: 1302012: 1722013: 35820132014: 1,0142015: 1,3002016: 50820162017: 8522018: 1,1552019: 86520192020: 2,1332021: 1,6572022: 87020222023: 5362024: 4262025: 41920252026: 182

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Heroin reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine45.1%5,906
  2. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine27.3%3,581
  3. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount20.6%2,698
  4. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances18.6%2,433
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term11.8%1,552
  6. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine6.3%822
  7. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped4.6%597
  8. Painpain, site not specified4.5%586
  9. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped4.5%584
  10. Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped4.2%555
  11. Emotional distressemotional distress3.9%514
  12. Depressionlow mood2.9%376
  13. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended2.9%375
  14. Completed suicidedeath by suicide2.8%371
  15. Anxietyanxiety2.8%370
  16. Poisoning2.2%293
  17. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine1.9%251
  18. Coma1.7%229
  19. Vomitingbeing sick1.7%225
  20. Dependence1.7%223
  21. Pulmonary oedemafluid in the lungs1.7%219
  22. Road traffic accidenta road accident1.5%199
  23. Loss of consciousnesspassing out1.5%190
  24. Accidental overdosean accidental overdose1.4%186
  25. Hepatitis Chepatitis C infection1.4%181

Top 30 of 949 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death58.8%7,705
Life-threatening2.2%293
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)15.5%2,028
Disability6%790
Congenital anomaly0.8%103
Other serious54.6%7,148
Not serious2.6%347

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.9%116
2 to 110.2%23
12 to 171.2%155
18 to 4443.9%5,754
45 to 6415.9%2,077
65 to 740.9%116
75 and over0.1%9
Age not given37%4,853

Patient sex

Female26.1%3,417
Male62.6%8,203
Not given11.3%1,483

Who reported

Physician22.9%3,004
Pharmacist15.1%1,984
Other health professional18.2%2,379
Lawyer10.2%1,338
Consumer or non-health professional31.3%4,098
Not given2.3%300

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 81.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Drug abuse4313.3%
Pain2291.7%
Drug dependence1931.5%
Substance abuse490.4%
Foetal exposure during pregnancy350.3%
Drug abuser310.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 13,103 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Heroin reports
OxyContin3,17024.2%
Cocaine2,84721.7%
Oxycodone hydrochloride2,74320.9%
Fentanyl1,86514.2%
Alprazolam1,43511%
Morphine sulfate1,2469.5%
Methadone1,1989.1%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen1,1979.1%
Codeine1,1368.7%
Dilaudid1,0518%

Other products listed in reports where Heroin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureHeroinAll reports
Reports as suspect product13,10320,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months4101,332,454
Marked serious97.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports58891
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports155213
Consumer-filed share31.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug abuse 45.1%0.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Heroin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Heroin?

13,103 reports list Heroin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 410 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 535 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Heroin reports?

drug abuse (45.1%), drug dependence (27.3%), overdose (20.6%), toxicity to various agents (18.6%) and death (11.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Heroin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 58.8% of reports include death and 15.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (31.3%), physician (22.9%) and other health professional (18.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Heroin rising?

410 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 12% from 365 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Heroin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Heroin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Heroin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (535) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.