Reported Reactions

Drugs › Anti-epileptic agent

Brand name · Oxcarbazepine

Trileptal: adverse event reports filed with FDA

7,664 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Anti-epileptic agent. Also reported as Trileptal Tablet, Trileptal 300mg.

7,664
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 341 a year
157
reports, 12 months to June 2026
195 in the 12 months before
85.7%
marked serious by the reporter
78.1% across the class
6.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
475 reports · not verified by FDA

7,664 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Trileptal (oxcarbazepine) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 8,779 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 157 reports listed it, down 19% from 195 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 341 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.8% of the reports for the anti-epileptic agent class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are seizure (11.7%), convulsion (8.5%) and drug ineffective (6.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,226 different terms appear across these reports. Seizure is recorded in 11.7% of these reports, a larger share than in the median anti-epileptic agent drug (6.9%).

85.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (78.1% across the class); 6.2% record death among the outcomes and 29.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 46.7% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (17.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02243Jul 2021: 28Aug 2021: 17Sep 2021: 17Oct 2021: 20Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 232022Jan 2022: 10Feb 2022: 25Mar 2022: 22Apr 2022: 33May 2022: 18Jun 2022: 14Jul 2022: 15Aug 2022: 15Sep 2022: 16Oct 2022: 16Nov 2022: 14Dec 2022: 262023Jan 2023: 13Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 17Apr 2023: 20May 2023: 24Jun 2023: 18Jul 2023: 27Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 11Oct 2023: 25Nov 2023: 29Dec 2023: 432024Jan 2024: 36Feb 2024: 27Mar 2024: 25Apr 2024: 21May 2024: 23Jun 2024: 14Jul 2024: 15Aug 2024: 27Sep 2024: 19Oct 2024: 16Nov 2024: 14Dec 2024: 82025Jan 2025: 10Feb 2025: 15Mar 2025: 20Apr 2025: 25May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 10Aug 2025: 10Sep 2025: 15Oct 2025: 14Nov 2025: 15Dec 2025: 162026Jan 2026: 12Feb 2026: 21Mar 2026: 8Apr 2026: 17May 2026: 11Jun 2026: 8

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02915822004: 21820042005: 3742006: 3932007: 37520072008: 3252009: 3192010: 28020102011: 3302012: 5352013: 37020132014: 4092015: 5822016: 44820162017: 3882018: 3952019: 36120192020: 3212021: 2712022: 22420222023: 2482024: 2452025: 17620252026: 77

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Trileptal reports recording the termmedian drug in anti-epileptic agent

  1. Seizurea fit or convulsion11.7%900
  2. Convulsion8.5%651
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6.6%503
  4. Hyponatraemialow blood sodium6.3%484
  5. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness6.1%471
  6. Somnolencedrowsiness5%381
  7. Headachehead pain4.8%367
  8. Epilepsy4.6%353
  9. Vomitingbeing sick4.5%345
  10. Nauseafeeling sick4.3%329
  11. Fatiguetiredness4.1%317
  12. Falla fall4%308
  13. Rashskin rash3.7%281
  14. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.5%265
  15. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines3.4%263
  16. Depressionlow mood3.4%259
  17. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.2%249
  18. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right3%229
  19. Pyrexiafever3%229
  20. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.9%223
  21. Tremorshaking2.7%210
  22. Painpain, site not specified2.7%208
  23. Confusional stateconfusion2.5%192
  24. Memory impairmentmemory problems2.4%184
  25. Loss of consciousnesspassing out2.3%177
  26. Anxietyanxiety2.3%176
  27. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.3%174
  28. Pruritusitching2.3%174
  29. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.3%173
  30. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine2.2%172

Top 30 of 1,226 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 23 drugs in the anti-epileptic agent class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death6.2%475
Life-threatening5.2%399
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)29.7%2,276
Disability2.4%181
Congenital anomaly1.3%101
Other serious59.2%4,535
Not serious14.3%1,099

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 269,757 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.6%119
2 to 117.8%596
12 to 174.8%369
18 to 4417.2%1,316
45 to 6412.7%972
65 to 744.9%377
75 and over3.6%278
Age not given47.5%3,637

Patient sex

Female52.2%3,997
Male40.7%3,118
Not given7.2%549

Who reported

Physician24.9%1,910
Pharmacist5.1%389
Other health professional16.7%1,281
Lawyer0.4%31
Consumer or non-health professional46.7%3,576
Not given6.2%477

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 40.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Epilepsy1,68221.9%
Convulsion5417.1%
Seizure3704.8%
Bipolar disorder2603.4%
Trigeminal neuralgia1401.8%
Partial seizures1211.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 7,664 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Trileptal reports
Keppra6408.4%
Lamictal4626%
Tegretol3114.1%
Rivotril2172.8%
Depakote1872.4%
Topamax1742.3%
Lyrica1732.3%
Seroquel1722.2%
Risperdal1632.1%
Clonazepam1532%

Other products listed in reports where Trileptal is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTrileptalAnti-epileptic agentAll reports
Reports as suspect product7,664269,75720,646,523
Share of that pool—2.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months157—1,332,454
Marked serious85.7%78.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports6212691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports297314213
Consumer-filed share46.7%30.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsSeizure 11.7%median 6.9%0.5%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the anti-epileptic agent class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Gabapentingeneric74,3164,44768.7%
Lamotriginegeneric44,5202,80688%
Lamictalbrand32,36899665.4%
Valproic acidgeneric21,1771,03196.7%
Depakotebrand14,21929765.4%
Phenytoingeneric12,61846492.9%
Valproate sodiumgeneric11,58870897.5%
Sabrilbrand10,90913963.5%
Oxcarbazepinegeneric8,07871587.7%
Dilantinbrand8,0117871.7%
Zonisamidegeneric4,88536387.3%
Divalproex sodiumgeneric4,07139982.4%
Vigabatringeneric3,66426380.6%
Phenytoin sodiumgeneric2,9746884.4%
Primidonegeneric1,76910477.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Trileptal reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Trileptal?

7,664 reports list Trileptal as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 157 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 8,779 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Trileptal reports?

seizure (11.7%), convulsion (8.5%), drug ineffective (6.6%), hyponatraemia (6.3%) and dizziness (6.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Trileptal was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

85.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 6.2% of reports include death and 29.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (46.7%), physician (24.9%) and other health professional (16.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Trileptal rising?

157 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 19% from 195 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Trileptal was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Trileptal?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Trileptal as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (8,779) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.