Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Amitriptyline: adverse event reports filed with FDA

16,734 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Amitriptyline /00002202/, Amitriptyline 10mg Tablets, Amitriptyline 25mg.

16,734
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 747 a year
1,208
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,358 in the 12 months before
90.9%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
29.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,878 reports · not verified by FDA

16,734 adverse event reports received by FDA list amitriptyline, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2004 to June 2026. A further 43,445 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,208 reports listed it, down 11% from 1,358 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 747 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded toxicity to various agents (16%), drug ineffective (12.8%) and completed suicide (9.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,884 different terms appear across these reports. Toxicity to various agents is recorded in 16% of these reports, against 0.8% of all reports in the database.

90.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 29.2% record death among the outcomes and 32.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 36.9% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (33%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

086172Jul 2021: 135Aug 2021: 100Sep 2021: 123Oct 2021: 109Nov 2021: 100Dec 2021: 1102022Jan 2022: 129Feb 2022: 113Mar 2022: 116Apr 2022: 93May 2022: 106Jun 2022: 105Jul 2022: 100Aug 2022: 91Sep 2022: 96Oct 2022: 118Nov 2022: 126Dec 2022: 862023Jan 2023: 97Feb 2023: 123Mar 2023: 91Apr 2023: 99May 2023: 80Jun 2023: 107Jul 2023: 89Aug 2023: 81Sep 2023: 110Oct 2023: 89Nov 2023: 64Dec 2023: 1042024Jan 2024: 112Feb 2024: 89Mar 2024: 136Apr 2024: 119May 2024: 102Jun 2024: 88Jul 2024: 150Aug 2024: 98Sep 2024: 172Oct 2024: 123Nov 2024: 94Dec 2024: 1412025Jan 2025: 139Feb 2025: 76Mar 2025: 70Apr 2025: 101May 2025: 96Jun 2025: 98Jul 2025: 88Aug 2025: 74Sep 2025: 93Oct 2025: 94Nov 2025: 110Dec 2025: 952026Jan 2026: 121Feb 2026: 107Mar 2026: 92Apr 2026: 99May 2026: 84Jun 2026: 151

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09381,8752004: 2920042005: 382006: 212007: 620072008: 162009: 1292010: 12620102011: 1962012: 1602013: 74620132014: 8592015: 9282016: 82320162017: 1,0012018: 1,2282019: 1,87520192020: 1,4472021: 1,4812022: 1,27920222023: 1,1342024: 1,4242025: 1,13420252026: 654

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Amitriptyline reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances16%2,675
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected12.8%2,143
  3. Completed suicidedeath by suicide9.8%1,633
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.5%1,420
  5. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines7.9%1,321
  6. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine5.9%988
  7. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount5.7%947
  8. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness5.4%912
  9. Nauseafeeling sick5.3%888
  10. Painpain, site not specified5.2%862
  11. Hyperhidrosisexcessive sweating5%834
  12. Fatiguetiredness5%832
  13. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label4.6%778
  14. Hypotensionlow blood pressure4.6%763
  15. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.4%744
  16. Sedationdrowsiness from a medicine4.4%743
  17. Falla fall4.3%727
  18. Somnolencedrowsiness4.1%686
  19. Depressionlow mood4.1%685
  20. Constipationconstipation4%661
  21. Headachehead pain3.6%607
  22. Serotonin syndrometoo much serotonin activity, with agitation, fever and tremor3.6%605
  23. Intentional overdosea deliberate overdose3.5%594
  24. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.4%569
  25. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped3.2%543
  26. Vomitingbeing sick3.2%541
  27. Confusional stateconfusion3.2%532
  28. Nightmarenightmares3.2%530
  29. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.1%518
  30. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.1%511

Top 30 of 1,884 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death29.2%4,878
Life-threatening9.3%1,558
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)32.1%5,364
Disability3.7%612
Congenital anomaly1%168
Other serious56.1%9,389
Not serious9.1%1,525

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.6%103
2 to 110.6%108
12 to 171.2%208
18 to 4427.4%4,578
45 to 6433%5,516
65 to 748.6%1,442
75 and over7.3%1,216
Age not given21.3%3,563

Patient sex

Female57.7%9,657
Male29.6%4,951
Not given12.7%2,126

Who reported

Physician29.6%4,949
Pharmacist11.2%1,878
Other health professional36.9%6,175
Lawyer0.2%26
Consumer or non-health professional20%3,342
Not given2.2%364

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 37.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Depression8995.4%
Migraine4963%
Pain4322.6%
Neuralgia4162.5%
Insomnia3101.9%
Headache1070.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 16,734 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Amitriptyline reports
Gabapentin3,08818.5%
Pregabalin1,86211.1%
Diazepam1,6269.7%
Acetaminophen1,6249.7%
Tramadol1,2787.6%
Topiramate1,2107.2%
Codeine1,1296.7%
Duloxetine1,1246.7%
Nortriptyline1,0606.3%
Omeprazole1,0556.3%

Other products listed in reports where Amitriptyline is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAmitriptylineAll reports
Reports as suspect product16,73420,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,2081,332,454
Marked serious90.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports29291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports321213
Consumer-filed share20%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsToxicity to various agents 16%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Amitriptyline reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Amitriptyline?

16,734 reports list Amitriptyline as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,208 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 43,445 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Amitriptyline reports?

toxicity to various agents (16%), drug ineffective (12.8%), completed suicide (9.8%), off label use (8.5%) and drug interaction (7.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Amitriptyline was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

90.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 29.2% of reports include death and 32.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (36.9%), physician (29.6%) and consumer or non-health professional (20%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Amitriptyline rising?

1,208 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 11% from 1,358 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Amitriptyline was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Amitriptyline?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Amitriptyline as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (43,445) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.