Reported Reactions

Drugs › Thrombopoietin receptor agonist

Generic name

Eltrombopag: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,704 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2008–2026. Class: Thrombopoietin receptor agonist. Also reported as Eltrombopag Tablet.

2,704
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 152 a year
359
reports, 12 months to June 2026
242 in the 12 months before
94.2%
marked serious by the reporter
68.8% across the class
16.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
441 reports · not verified by FDA

Between September 2008 and June 2026, 2,704 adverse event reports received by FDA list eltrombopag, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,013) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 359 reports listed it, up 48% from 242 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 152 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 8% of the reports for the thrombopoietin receptor agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug ineffective (14%), platelet count decreased (11.7%) and off label use (9.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 586 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 14% of these reports, about the same share as in the median thrombopoietin receptor agonist drug (11.4%).

94.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (68.8% across the class); 16.3% record death among the outcomes and 37% record hospitalisation, as reported. 43.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (20%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02550Jul 2021: 11Aug 2021: 12Sep 2021: 14Oct 2021: 15Nov 2021: 17Dec 2021: 452022Jan 2022: 22Feb 2022: 9Mar 2022: 12Apr 2022: 26May 2022: 15Jun 2022: 20Jul 2022: 15Aug 2022: 18Sep 2022: 16Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 122023Jan 2023: 7Feb 2023: 14Mar 2023: 12Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 15Jun 2023: 14Jul 2023: 17Aug 2023: 17Sep 2023: 13Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 11Dec 2023: 252024Jan 2024: 19Feb 2024: 18Mar 2024: 20Apr 2024: 26May 2024: 10Jun 2024: 6Jul 2024: 17Aug 2024: 23Sep 2024: 26Oct 2024: 29Nov 2024: 15Dec 2024: 232025Jan 2025: 10Feb 2025: 17Mar 2025: 17Apr 2025: 23May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 30Jul 2025: 19Aug 2025: 19Sep 2025: 30Oct 2025: 30Nov 2025: 50Dec 2025: 292026Jan 2026: 19Feb 2026: 27Mar 2026: 43Apr 2026: 28May 2026: 32Jun 2026: 33

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01432862008: 320082009: 552010: 8820102011: 372012: 3120122013: 802014: 11820142015: 2312016: 11420162017: 1072018: 16820182019: 2152020: 18620202021: 2202022: 18620222023: 1652024: 23220242025: 2862026: 1822026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Eltrombopag reports recording the termmedian drug in thrombopoietin receptor agonist

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected14%378
  2. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count11.7%317
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9.5%257
  4. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label6.8%185
  5. Thrombocytopenialow platelets6.2%167
  6. Therapy non-responderthe treatment did not work5.4%147
  7. Pyrexiafever3.6%98
  8. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.6%97
  9. Headachehead pain3.4%91
  10. Pneumonialung infection3.2%87
  11. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work3.1%85
  12. Immune thrombocytopenia3%81
  13. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3%81
  14. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung2.9%78
  15. Anaemialow red blood cells2.8%77
  16. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.6%71
  17. Haemorrhagebleeding2.5%68
  18. Petechiaetiny bleeding spots in the skin2.5%67
  19. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells2.4%66
  20. Deep vein thrombosisa blood clot in a deep vein2.4%64
  21. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.3%61
  22. Gingival bleedingbleeding gums2.2%60
  23. Infectionan infection, type not specified2.2%59
  24. Epistaxisnosebleed2.1%56
  25. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2%54
  26. Fatiguetiredness1.9%52
  27. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin1.9%51

Top 30 of 586 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the thrombopoietin receptor agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death16.3%441
Life-threatening7.7%208
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)37%1,001
Disability1.4%39
Congenital anomaly0.1%4
Other serious63.1%1,705
Not serious5.8%158

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 33,996 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.6%16
2 to 114.5%121
12 to 173.4%93
18 to 4413.4%362
45 to 6420%540
65 to 7414.9%404
75 and over12.2%331
Age not given31%837

Patient sex

Female43.1%1,166
Male38.2%1,033
Not given18.7%505

Who reported

Physician40.3%1,090
Pharmacist1.7%46
Other health professional43.3%1,170
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional12.2%330
Not given2.5%68

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 21.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Immune thrombocytopenia56320.8%
Thrombocytopenia41315.3%
Immune thrombocytopenic purpura35913.3%
Aplastic anaemia34512.8%
Myelodysplastic syndrome1345%
Idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura552%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,704 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Eltrombopag reports
Rituximab43516.1%
Cyclosporine39814.7%
Prednisone2549.4%
Romiplostim2428.9%
Prednisolone2288.4%
Dexamethasone2218.2%
Mycophenolate mofetil2117.8%
Methylprednisolone1545.7%
Human immunoglobulin g1385.1%
Azathioprine1194.4%

Other products listed in reports where Eltrombopag is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureEltrombopagThrombopoietin receptor agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,70433,99620,646,523
Share of that pool—8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months359—1,332,454
Marked serious94.2%68.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports16319991
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports370234213
Consumer-filed share12.2%38.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 14%median 11.4%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the thrombopoietin receptor agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Promactabrand14,56116150.1%
Nplatebrand11,56531074.3%
Eltrombopag olaminegeneric3,08820698.9%
Romiplostimgeneric2,07826392.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Eltrombopag reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Eltrombopag?

2,704 reports list Eltrombopag as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 359 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,013 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Eltrombopag reports?

drug ineffective (14%), platelet count decreased (11.7%), off label use (9.5%), product use in unapproved indication (6.8%) and thrombocytopenia (6.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Eltrombopag was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 16.3% of reports include death and 37% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (43.3%), physician (40.3%) and consumer or non-health professional (12.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Eltrombopag rising?

359 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 48% from 242 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Eltrombopag was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Eltrombopag?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Eltrombopag as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,013) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.