Reported Reactions

Drugs › Thrombopoietin receptor agonist

Generic name

Eltrombopag olamine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,088 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2009–2026. Class: Thrombopoietin receptor agonist.

3,088
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 184 a year
206
reports, 12 months to June 2026
276 in the 12 months before
98.9%
marked serious by the reporter
68.8% across the class
22.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
681 reports · not verified by FDA

Between October 2009 and June 2026, 3,088 adverse event reports received by FDA list eltrombopag olamine, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (469) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 206 reports listed it, down 25% from 276 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 184 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 9.1% of the reports for the thrombopoietin receptor agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded platelet count decreased (41.9%), death (14.4%) and drug ineffective (11.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 780 different terms appear across these reports. Platelet count decreased is recorded in 41.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median thrombopoietin receptor agonist drug (12.4%).

98.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (68.8% across the class); 22.1% record death among the outcomes and 39.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 59.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (19.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

073146Jul 2021: 22Aug 2021: 22Sep 2021: 35Oct 2021: 65Nov 2021: 73Dec 2021: 952022Jan 2022: 61Feb 2022: 81Mar 2022: 87Apr 2022: 81May 2022: 70Jun 2022: 146Jul 2022: 97Aug 2022: 64Sep 2022: 81Oct 2022: 54Nov 2022: 71Dec 2022: 702023Jan 2023: 48Feb 2023: 93Mar 2023: 96Apr 2023: 77May 2023: 81Jun 2023: 68Jul 2023: 68Aug 2023: 56Sep 2023: 100Oct 2023: 62Nov 2023: 52Dec 2023: 342024Jan 2024: 30Feb 2024: 24Mar 2024: 49Apr 2024: 35May 2024: 23Jun 2024: 24Jul 2024: 29Aug 2024: 24Sep 2024: 24Oct 2024: 49Nov 2024: 29Dec 2024: 142025Jan 2025: 29Feb 2025: 24Mar 2025: 17Apr 2025: 12May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 13Jul 2025: 22Aug 2025: 17Sep 2025: 16Oct 2025: 30Nov 2025: 17Dec 2025: 152026Jan 2026: 9Feb 2026: 21Mar 2026: 14Apr 2026: 19May 2026: 15Jun 2026: 11

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04829632009: 320092011: 12012: 120122013: 22014: 220142015: 22016: 1020162017: 202018: 2020182019: 452020: 11420202021: 4032022: 96320222023: 8352024: 35420242025: 2242026: 892026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Eltrombopag olamine reports recording the termmedian drug in thrombopoietin receptor agonist

  1. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count41.9%1,295
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term14.4%444
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected11.4%352
  4. Fatiguetiredness8.7%268
  5. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin8.3%256
  6. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.2%254
  7. Headachehead pain8.1%250
  8. Contusiona bruise7.2%221
  9. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell6.8%209
  10. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label6.7%207
  11. Haemorrhagebleeding6.6%203
  12. Petechiaetiny bleeding spots in the skin5.7%177
  13. Pyrexiafever5.7%175
  14. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy4.9%151
  15. Incorrect dose administeredthe wrong dose was given4.8%148
  16. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.5%138
  17. Thrombocytopenialow platelets4.4%136
  18. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.3%134
  19. Nauseafeeling sick4.2%131
  20. Epistaxisnosebleed4.2%129
  21. Arthralgiajoint pain4%123
  22. Painpain, site not specified4%123
  23. Influenzaflu3.9%119
  24. Immune thrombocytopenia3.8%118
  25. Illness3.8%117
  26. Disease recurrencethe disease came back3.6%112
  27. Covid-19COVID-19 infection3.6%110
  28. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times3.6%110

Top 30 of 780 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the thrombopoietin receptor agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death22.1%681
Life-threatening10.3%319
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)39.8%1,228
Disability0.9%27
Congenital anomaly0.1%2
Other serious59.7%1,843
Not serious1.1%35

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 33,996 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%10
2 to 113.4%106
12 to 172.9%91
18 to 4413.6%419
45 to 6419.7%609
65 to 7411.2%347
75 and over13.2%407
Age not given35.6%1,099

Patient sex

Female50.9%1,572
Male41.7%1,289
Not given7.4%227

Who reported

Physician22.5%694
Pharmacist7.4%229
Other health professional10.8%332
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional59.3%1,832
Not given0%1

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 0.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Immune thrombocytopenia1,64853.4%
Aplastic anaemia70122.7%
Thrombocytopenia1625.2%
Platelet count decreased421.4%
Bone marrow failure401.3%
Thrombocytopenic purpura351.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,088 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Eltrombopag olamine reports
Cyclosporine31210.1%
Rituximab2789%
Prednisone2457.9%
Dexamethasone2026.5%
Prednisolone1474.8%
Folic acid1203.9%
Acetaminophen1013.3%
Levothyroxine872.8%
Mycophenolate mofetil762.5%
Omeprazole762.5%

Other products listed in reports where Eltrombopag olamine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureEltrombopag olamineThrombopoietin receptor agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,08833,99620,646,523
Share of that pool—9.1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months206—1,332,454
Marked serious98.9%68.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports22119991
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports398234213
Consumer-filed share59.3%38.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPlatelet count decreased 41.9%median 12.4%0.5%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the thrombopoietin receptor agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Promactabrand14,56116150.1%
Nplatebrand11,56531074.3%
Eltrombopaggeneric2,70435994.2%
Romiplostimgeneric2,07826392.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Eltrombopag olamine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Eltrombopag olamine?

3,088 reports list Eltrombopag olamine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 206 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 469 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Eltrombopag olamine reports?

platelet count decreased (41.9%), death (14.4%), drug ineffective (11.4%), platelet count increased (11.3%) and fatigue (8.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Eltrombopag olamine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 22.1% of reports include death and 39.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (59.3%), physician (22.5%) and other health professional (10.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Eltrombopag olamine rising?

206 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 25% from 276 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Eltrombopag olamine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Eltrombopag olamine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Eltrombopag olamine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (469) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.