Reported Reactions

Drugs › Partial opioid agonist

Generic name

Buprenorphine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

19,240 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Partial opioid agonist. Also reported as Buprenorphine Unspecified, Buprenorphine Patch, Buprenorphine Tablet.

19,240
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 855 a year
1,749
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,668 in the 12 months before
79.3%
marked serious by the reporter
60.2% across the class
23.9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,601 reports · not verified by FDA

19,240 adverse event reports received by FDA list buprenorphine, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 5,122 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,749 reports listed it, close to the 1,668 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 855 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 20.3% of the reports for the partial opioid agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug dependence (22.9%), overdose (11.4%) and drug abuse (10.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,616 different terms appear across these reports. Drug dependence is recorded in 22.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median partial opioid agonist drug (2.8%).

79.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (60.2% across the class); 23.9% record death among the outcomes and 20.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 30.5% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (24.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0451902Jul 2021: 280Aug 2021: 230Sep 2021: 132Oct 2021: 176Nov 2021: 108Dec 2021: 9022022Jan 2022: 513Feb 2022: 113Mar 2022: 538Apr 2022: 151May 2022: 465Jun 2022: 215Jul 2022: 136Aug 2022: 89Sep 2022: 132Oct 2022: 397Nov 2022: 60Dec 2022: 1902023Jan 2023: 170Feb 2023: 229Mar 2023: 116Apr 2023: 99May 2023: 118Jun 2023: 92Jul 2023: 81Aug 2023: 170Sep 2023: 146Oct 2023: 167Nov 2023: 123Dec 2023: 1042024Jan 2024: 157Feb 2024: 139Mar 2024: 176Apr 2024: 122May 2024: 105Jun 2024: 113Jul 2024: 148Aug 2024: 91Sep 2024: 151Oct 2024: 172Nov 2024: 137Dec 2024: 1642025Jan 2025: 132Feb 2025: 85Mar 2025: 123Apr 2025: 100May 2025: 120Jun 2025: 245Jul 2025: 194Aug 2025: 185Sep 2025: 158Oct 2025: 198Nov 2025: 100Dec 2025: 1362026Jan 2026: 137Feb 2026: 121Mar 2026: 151Apr 2026: 125May 2026: 115Jun 2026: 129

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,5663,1322004: 420042005: 202007: 22009: 520092010: 412011: 1592012: 22920122013: 2252014: 2832015: 40320152016: 3572017: 6332018: 1,11220182019: 1,8092020: 1,9832021: 3,13220212022: 2,9992023: 1,6152024: 1,67520242025: 1,7762026: 778

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Buprenorphine reports recording the termmedian drug in partial opioid agonist

  1. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine22.9%4,406
  2. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount11.4%2,196
  3. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine10.5%2,022
  4. Painpain, site not specified9.4%1,817
  5. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances7.9%1,522
  6. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.5%1,443
  7. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine7%1,356
  8. Emotional distressemotional distress6.9%1,320
  9. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6.8%1,313
  10. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy4.8%933
  11. Nauseafeeling sick4.6%881
  12. Vomitingbeing sick4.2%805
  13. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine4.1%783
  14. Anxietyanxiety4%770
  15. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.9%753
  16. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines3.8%731
  17. Somnolencedrowsiness3.8%722
  18. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.5%673
  19. Headachehead pain3.1%598
  20. Depressionlow mood3%579
  21. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.9%561
  22. Wrong technique in product usage processthe product was used in the wrong way2.9%559
  23. Confusional stateconfusion2.8%535
  24. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.7%511
  25. Fatiguetiredness2.6%492
  26. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain2.5%473
  27. Falla fall2.4%467
  28. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended2.4%464

Top 30 of 1,616 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the partial opioid agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death23.9%4,601
Life-threatening4.3%830
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)20.5%3,937
Disability5.5%1,067
Congenital anomaly2.1%404
Other serious56.2%10,812
Not serious20.7%3,981

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 94,902 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21%185
2 to 110.4%76
12 to 170.5%98
18 to 4424.1%4,629
45 to 6414.4%2,770
65 to 744%765
75 and over3.7%715
Age not given52%10,002

Patient sex

Female39%7,505
Male45.7%8,793
Not given15.3%2,942

Who reported

Physician20.4%3,925
Pharmacist10.2%1,959
Other health professional24.1%4,646
Lawyer13.6%2,620
Consumer or non-health professional30.5%5,877
Not given1.1%213

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 54.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain2,14511.1%
Drug dependence9254.8%
Drug use disorder6843.6%
Back pain2711.4%
Pain management1500.8%
Drug withdrawal maintenance therapy990.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 19,240 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Buprenorphine reports
Oxycodone hydrochloride3,35117.4%
OxyContin2,99115.5%
Acetaminophen Oxycodone Hydrochloride2,37512.3%
Dilaudid2,25311.7%
Morphine sulfate2,25111.7%
Tramadol2,13111.1%
Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen2,07110.8%
Hydromorphone1,93410.1%
MS Contin1,8399.6%
Oxycodone1,5137.9%

Other products listed in reports where Buprenorphine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBuprenorphinePartial opioid agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product19,24094,90220,646,523
Share of that pool—20.3%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,749—1,332,454
Marked serious79.3%60.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports23928691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports20599213
Consumer-filed share30.5%46.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug dependence 22.9%median 2.8%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the partial opioid agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Butransbrand60,02959057.3%
Sublocadebrand5,02843420.3%
Buprenorphine hydrochloridegeneric4,06921094.1%
Belbucabrand3,03928460.4%
Brixadibrand1,9736807.3%
Buprenorphine Transdermal Systembrand95516911.7%
Buprenorphine hclgeneric569092.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Buprenorphine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Buprenorphine?

19,240 reports list Buprenorphine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,749 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 5,122 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Buprenorphine reports?

drug dependence (22.9%), overdose (11.4%), drug abuse (10.5%), pain (9.4%) and toxicity to various agents (7.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Buprenorphine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

79.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 23.9% of reports include death and 20.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (30.5%), other health professional (24.1%) and physician (20.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Buprenorphine rising?

1,749 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 1,668 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Buprenorphine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Buprenorphine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Buprenorphine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (5,122) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.