Reports received by FDA, by month
September 2022: adverse event reports received by FDA
119,502 drug reports (FAERS) and 189,560 device reports (MAUDE).
- 119,502
- drug reports received
- 131,873 a year earlier
- 124,496
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- -4% against the average
- 189,560
- device reports received
- 155,130 a year earlier
FDA received 119,502 drug adverse event reports in September 2022, against 131,873 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 124,496 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 189,560 reports that month (155,130 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Zantac (6,926), Dupixent (6,206) and Humira (4,065), and the reactions recorded most often were drug ineffective (8,571), off label use (6,411) and covid-19 (4,744).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Oxervate (39.2× its average), Matulane (17.9× its average) and Mounjaro (17.5× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to September 2022
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Zantac | 6,926 | 5.8% |
| Dupixent | 6,206 | 5.2% |
| Humira | 4,065 | 3.4% |
| Revlimid | 2,695 | 2.3% |
| Paxlovid | 2,105 | 1.8% |
| Oxervate | 1,730 | 1.4% |
| Ranitidine hydrochloride | 1,553 | 1.3% |
| Eliquis | 1,546 | 1.3% |
| Cosentyx | 1,429 | 1.2% |
| Entresto | 1,397 | 1.2% |
| Minoxidil | 1,335 | 1.1% |
| Xeljanz | 1,322 | 1.1% |
| Dexamethasone | 1,317 | 1.1% |
| Rituximab | 1,304 | 1.1% |
| Prednisone | 1,264 | 1.1% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Oxervate | 1,730 | 39.2× |
| Matulane | 314 | 17.9× |
| Mounjaro | 755 | 17.5× |
| Qsymia | 300 | 14.5× |
| BESREMi | 99 | 7.9× |
| Fintepla | 192 | 7.7× |
| Lexapro | 116 | 7.6× |
| Praluent | 956 | 7× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 8,571 | 7.2% |
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 6,411 | 5.4% |
| Covid-19COVID-19 infection | 4,744 | 4% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 4,738 | 4% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 4,651 | 3.9% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 3,985 | 3.3% |
| Product dose omission issuea dose was missed | 3,825 | 3.2% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 3,607 | 3% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 3,253 | 2.7% |
| Headachehead pain | 3,193 | 2.7% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 2,843 | 2.4% |
| Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse | 2,589 | 2.2% |
| Arthralgiajoint pain | 2,541 | 2.1% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 2,538 | 2.1% |
| Rashskin rash | 2,467 | 2.1% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Dexcom G6 Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | 20,614 | 10.9% |
| Alaris System | 18,530 | 9.8% |
| t:slim X2 Insulin Pump with Control-IQ Technology | 10,440 | 5.5% |
| DreamStation Auto CPAP | 4,240 | 2.2% |
| MiniMed 770G US System BLE Connect 3.0 mg/dL | 3,723 | 2% |
| 670G Insulin Pump MMT-1780KL | 2,304 | 1.2% |
| Pump MMT-1780KPK 670G Pathway Black MG | 2,170 | 1.1% |
| Libre 2 Sensor FreeStyle | 1,814 | 1% |
| 640G Insulin Pump MMT-1712K | 1,431 | 0.8% |
| Alaris System Pc Unit | 1,378 | 0.7% |
Questions about September 2022
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in September 2022?
119,502 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 189,560 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 131,873 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Zantac (6,926), Dupixent (6,206), Humira (4,065), Revlimid (2,695) and Paxlovid (2,105).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
drug ineffective (8,571), off label use (6,411), covid-19 (4,744), death (4,738) and fatigue (4,651).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.